What Does This Mean?

“Now when the Philistines heard the noise of the shout, they said, ‘What does the sound of this great shout in the camp of the Hebrews mean?'” 1 Samuel 4:6
“When Eli heard the noise of the outcry, he said, ‘What does the sound of this tumult mean?'” 1 Samuel 4:14

Our youngest daughter is very sensitive to sound. She regularly asks, “What’s that?”

Lord, we thank You that when we hear a great noise and a tumult arising, we can come to You and ask, “What does this mean?” You are faithful to answer. And here’s a simple poem . . .

Bigger Battles

One moment, loud rejoicing
the next, cries of pain

as the ark that was with them
is suddenly taken away

and in the ups and downs
we ask, “what does this mean?”

That bigger battles are being waged
for the glory of My name.

16 Comments

  1. Yes! For we wrestle not against flesh and blood…So glad that God is bigger than all of our problems

  2. Yes, me too!!!! God bless you, dear faith-filled fisherlady, as you rely on His faithfulness today!

  3. Amen! Though He won’t always calm the storm, He will always calm His child.

  4. I was just thinking along those lines. The Lord is so faithful to give us glimpses of His hand at work in both the pleasant and the unpleasant scenarios of our lives. A lot of times we fail to ask that question because of the hectic pace our lives can take, and also because of the fears and worries that come along with so many issues of our earthly lives, but the Lord knows exactly what His children need to get our attention…sometimes it is a crisis, sometimes it is a quiet and still moment, and sometimes it is a quiet and still “moment” in the midst of the crisis…

    If the moment were measured by the clock it might seem to some too brief to have any significance…but like the meager loaves and fishes the little boy shared…the Lord can take that meager moment we set aside to be still and pose that question, and perform a miracle both in us and in our situations.

    It is so important to pause and ask that question:

    “and in the ups and downs
    we ask, β€œwhat does this mean?”

    He loves to answer those questions that when answered reveal His Glory. He is the Great Redeemer of Time!

    Thank you Deb for this wonderful post!

    Love,
    Theresa

  5. “…That bigger battles are being waged
    for the glory of My name…”

    I’m glad we know how the ending turns out because the in-between seems to be tough at times.

  6. I love to remember that, planaquarium, that either way, we are covered! God bless you and cover you today! πŸ™‚

  7. Thank YOU, wonderful woman of the Word, for such a beautiful comment. πŸ™‚ You captured something really true and important here, as I think of those small glimpses into what He is doing and how much of a difference that can make to me at that time. The Great Redeemer of Time . . .I really like that and need that!
    God bless you, dear Theresa, and He answers your questions and performs miracles in and around you today!
    love and prayers!

  8. Larry, you help us see Him better during the in-betweens, increasing our faith and hope in all that lies ahead.
    God bless you in the now and in the tomorrows of His glory.

  9. Deb – I think I usually hear Him in the tumult – but I want to grow up to be like your daughter – so sensitive to sound that I hear Him in the silence, too. πŸ˜€
    Debbie

  10. Debbie, you are so, so kind. I love that you hear Him in the noise. We really need to hear Him then! I’m going to tell Aubrey that you want to be like her, sensitive to sound. πŸ™‚ It will help her see this as a good thing!
    God bless you, as you spread His lovingkindness wherever you go.

  11. Thank you, Deb πŸ™‚
    “Lord, we thank You that when we hear a great noise and a tumult arising, we can come to You and ask, β€œWhat does this mean?” You are faithful to answer”
    Amen! Our God is indeed greater!
    Blessings,
    ann

  12. how beautiful – from your daughter – to us. How when there is tumult I can run to him and ask him what the deal is. Sometimes it’s your prose that gets me – sometimes it’s the poetry – sometimes it’s the combination of the two. I’m so glad – SO glad that I blog know you. Maybe you should go to blissdom this year! Just sayin. πŸ™‚

  13. Oh our Ann-full-of-Jesus-grace . . .thank you! Aubrey came and sat right in the chair in front of the computer, to hear the song and see the words and pictures with it. She and I both get blessed by you and the songs you send! So, now we are humming and singing, and making a joyful noise of our own. πŸ™‚
    God bless you and stand with you, in the noise and in the stillness.
    love and prayers, for your Sunday and upcoming week.

  14. We know things are going to get noisy and there will be more tumult, because He has told us so! What a God, who even answers before we need to ask. πŸ™‚ God bless you as you ask Him the hard questions and He answers you! Me thinks I will not be going to blissdom . . .but I will be cheering those who do!!!

  15. Sometimes I don’t hear Him during the cries of pain, but I am so glad that He hears me, because when I think I am at my breaking point, I cry out unto Him, and He is ALWAYS faithful, to answer my cries of pain! Bless His holy name!

    Thank you Debbie! God bless!

    Paulette

  16. Dear Paulette . . .your words make me cry and think. How powerful and important for us to know that even if we can’t hear Him, He still hears us and answers. He is faithful, always. Praying for His sustaining love and mercy to comfort you today, as you praise in your pain. You help and bless us. God bless you!


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/β€˜Religion’s’ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soul’s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

