Open Doors and Adversaries

“But I will tarry in Ephesus until Pentecost.
For a great and effective door has opened to me, and there are many adversaries.” 1 Corinthians 16:8-9

Beginning to see how open doors and adversaries go hand-in-hand.

Lord, please show us how to stand and not be afraid of the attacks and the tactics that come against us this day. And here is a simple poem . . .

Woe Is Not Me

Beginning to see more and more
just what’s going on
and I’m not about to crumble
into some sad sob song.

Woe, woe is not me
no, I’m not giving in
ready to fight today
standing strong in Him.

20 Comments

  1. Good on you, Debbie. You’re in grand company! Wherever the Lord ministered, the devil was never far behind Him. That’s been my experience too. What a compliment! Thanks for the poem. Be blessed with Proverbs 18:10.

    Roger

  2. Amen! Have a great day Debbie 🙂

  3. There is no neutral ground in the universe; every square inch, every split second, is claimed by God and counterclaimed by Satan. (C.S. Lewis)

  4. Thank you, Deb

    This is beautiful. 🙂 I am loving the fact that “Woe is NOT me!!”
    I can’t manage on my own anyway, so I will rest on Him and watch His name be glorified in and through this.
    Praying He will be strong in us today as we face our life challenges.

    Blessings,
    ann

  5. love this post Deb… perfect!

  6. Thank you for the encouragement, Roger! I think for my beginning years I mistakenly thought that if there was opposition, then it wasn’t something I should be doing, that God was saying “no” to it. So glad He keeps teaching us and leading us and correcting us. 🙂
    God bless you as you move through the doors He’s opened.

  7. God bless you, Eden, and bring you great shots today!

  8. Thank you for some CS Lewis! 🙂 God bless you as you do as He asks today!

  9. So thankful that He is the Rock we stand on. God bless you, Ann full of grace, as He moves strongly in you today.

  10. God bless you, Faith filled fisherlady! Praying for you today, as you go forth in His name.

  11. “Woe is NOT me” – a great truth.

    “IN ALL THINGS we are more than conquerors”
    The two go hand in hand: it is IN trouble – in the midst of trouble – that we experience victory.

  12. Thank you, mentor Angela, for that wonderful comment. “In the midst of trouble . . .we experience victory.” I’m keeping that in mind! 🙂 God bless you and all that His truth is doing through you today!

  13. “Beginning to see how open doors and adversaries go hand-in-hand.”

    Isn’t that the truth. I think at any time, there is good and bad going on. It’s just about to be expected. It doesn’t take me by surprise any more.

  14. I think I didn’t want to see it at first. It helps to just expect it, to not get blindsided after something good happens. Knowing this is constantly happening, not just to me, helps me be able to pray for others, when maybe they can’t see. To still rejoice, but with His armor on.
    God bless you, Mike, as you go on through the doors anyway.

  15. Deb, I’ve been getting a lot of reminders lately to not forget our greatest adversary and to stand firm on the truth when he is near. I love the connection to open doors. The doors are opened by God and the adversary seeks to keep us from walking through them. May God give us the wisdom and strength to get to the other side. Peace, Linda

  16. Linda, I have been getting reminded of the same thing and it’s not something I’m real strong at, so will trust Him to lead me on in it. When I read what Paul wrote, it really opened up my eyes. He didn’t see it as a stopping point when that happened, but wanted to stay longer. Praying for that kind of faith and trust!
    God bless you as you go through all the doors that He has planned and opened for you!

  17. “Beginning to see how open doors and adversaries go hand-in-hand.”

    Amen to that. Sometimes we get discouraged when there is great opposition and wonder if we are even going through the “right door” at all. But it seems, in my experience, the greater the opposition, the more likely it is that I am right where he wants me to be 🙂

    “He never promised that the cross would not get heavy
    And the hill would not be hard to climb
    He never offered our victories without fighting
    But He said help would always come in time
    Just remember when your standing in the valley of decision
    And the adversary says give in
    Just hold on, our Lord will show up
    And He will take you through the fire again” (“Through The Fire” – Crabb Family)

    God bless you and your work, Deb, what a joy it has been to go through First Corinthians with you this morning!

    Your friend,

    Loren

  18. What a joy it has been today, having you here! Thank you for that poem above . . .so perfect for this. I kind of always like . . .easy and quick. But have found that the hard things with adversity that take a long time are very worthwhile with Him.
    God bless you and yours this week leading up to Christmas, Loren!

  19. Deb, you have me shaking my head! I thank God for you! Blessings to you!

  20. Love what you are doing Sebastian, and the doors He is opening for you. Praying for you too! God bless you and yours and your ministry.


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

