Tongue Utterings

“For if the trumpet makes an uncertain sound, who will prepare himself for battle?” 1 Corinthians 14:8
“So likewise you, unless you utter by the tongue words easy to understand, how will it be known what is spoken? For you will be speaking into the air.” 1 Corinthians 14:9

When my youngest gets upset, she makes up words or puts words together in ways that don’t make sense. I have to wait for her to calm down in order to understand her.

Lord, please help me share You today with others in a way they understand. And here’s a simple poem . . .

Words That Edify

Whatever is on my mind
I can speak into the air

and though it feels good to me
there’s no use for it there

so I’ll submit to You, Lord
and ask for the words on my tongue

to be ones that edify
Your work being done.

12 Comments

  1. Great one Deb – so true! I always have to remind myself to wait before responding; once words are out, there is no retrieving them.

  2. Our idle (non working, blameworthy) words will be judged.

  3. Learning to rein in the tongue was a terrible struggle…now it is pretty much a habit. The Spirit is an awesome Helper!

  4. No we can’t rewind us, can we? Praying for the right words at the right time, ones that are easily understood! God bless you and the beautiful words you share! 🙂

  5. I know this is about speaking in tongues, and how that has its place. Now, may His spirit speak through me as clearly as it does when speaking in tongues, all the time!
    And that is a very sobering truth about our idle words being judged.. .so may my words be few!
    God bless you and the words He gives you to speak.

  6. This is one of the wonderful things about maturity, eh? Even if we do need clocks and watches with big easy to see numbers. 🙂
    God bless you and your wonderful word habit!

  7. Very true, and said with rhythm 🙂 God bless!

  8. I knew it was about tongues, too. But I was playing it safe. So, now, I know more about you.

  9. awesome lesson… I love these… they would fit so perfectly into a book and I would buy them for friends 🙂

  10. haha!

  11. Do I get extra points for that? 🙂 God bless you, sweet Eden, and how you use photos as words. “A picture speaks a thousand words.”

  12. You are so kind! I don’t think they are book material exactly. Loren, from anwersfromthebook and I were talking and there is something special about blogging these little devotional poems. The special part lies in all of YOU commenting and what is discovered and the connections there. Couldn’t get that with a book! 🙂 God bless you as you write and speak for Him!


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

