Known By Him

“Knowledge puffs up, but love edifies.” 1 Corinthians 8:1
“But if anyone loves God, that one is known by Him.” 1 Corinthians 8:3

One of my main concerns about blogging was not knowing enough.

Lord, in my quest to know You and understand You more, let me not forget the most important thing . . .to love You. And here’s a simple poem . . .

Called To Love You

Oh how I long to know You
to understand You better
to read Your word and feel Your strength
beyond the syllables and letters.

There’s nothing wrong with any of this
but, Lord, most of all
I want to love You more and more
and let that be my first call.

14 Comments

  1. “Knowledge puffs up, but love edifies…โ€

    I ready a story about a simple person who couldn’t read or talk well, but he loved Jesus and wanted to tell everyone about Him. So he stood in the middle of a New York City sidewalk and said, “I’m just bananas about Jesus.”

    His message touched hundreds of people for Jesus. So much for knowledge.

  2. Faith can become so academic, I know. It was once my goal to know more verses than to love Him. I’m glad God wants our love more than high grades in a gradebook.

    I think I’ll grab a banana and go to New York like Larry’s friend. ; )

  3. Thank you, Larry, for sharing that story. What a blessing and a lesson it is!
    God bless you and your love for Him!

  4. Linda . . .I’m awful about memorizing verses. I love it when people can quote and know His word like it was their ABC’s. sigh. But that’s not me. So thankful that loving Him counts too!
    God bless you as you go bananas for Jesus!

  5. Deb, you have so much wisdom! Much more than you realize, I think.

  6. God bless you, planaquarium, as you love Him through your poems. They are an amazing gift for Him and for us! ๐Ÿ™‚
    p.s. So planaquarium isn’t a word? So much for spell-check knowledge. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  7. My mind went to Paul, who had much to boast of. Yet, the things that were gain to him, were the things he counted loss for Christ. He said, “That I may know Him, and the power of His resurrection, and the fellowship of His sufferings.” I want to know Him. To know Him, is to love Him! Our God is love!

    God bless you, Debbie!

    Paulette

  8. “To know Him is to love Him! Our God is love!”
    Wow, dear Paulette! That puts it in a good way! ๐Ÿ™‚
    God bless you and your love for Jesus!

  9. Paulette we are the same wave length here. When I read the post my immediate thought went to Paul’s “That I may know Him”. Surely Paul already knew Him! Those few words have challenged me for many years. “That I may know Him” . . . no matter how long I live, there will ALWAYS be so much more to learn. Roll on that day when we will truly know Him, when we see Him as He is and we will (at long last) be LIKE Him.
    Angela

  10. >> “One of my main concerns about blogging was not knowing enough”
    Deb, you say this and I know you mean it, but the fact is that God has used you to bless us – and I for one, praise Him for you and your “simple poems”

  11. That is the wonder of our amazing God! Praising Him with you, for all the ways He works and loves us. God bless you, dear mentor Angela!

  12. I shared with a sweet sister in Christ, about how having a child with special needs taught me more about Jesus. She was very sober and said, “There is always more to learn.” So true . . .but I see this as a good thing, not something to be discouraged by. ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. There’s a vast difference between someone who knows a lot about Him and someone who really knows Him. I know that I would much rather listen to a few words from someone who has spent time with the Lord than many words from someone who has only learned about Him second-hand.

  14. Thank you for putting it this way, Loren. ๐Ÿ™‚ Its the authenticity of our relationship with Him. Some may be more knowledgeable . . .others more simple, but both know Him as Lord and that’s what comes across. God bless you as you spend time with others and share Him in the ways He equips you to!


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/โ€˜Religionโ€™sโ€™ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soulโ€™s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

