A New Lump

“Therefore purge out the old leaven, that you may be a new lump, since you truly are unleavened. For indeed Christ, our Passover, was crucified for us.” 1 Corinthians 5:7
“Therefore let us keep the feast, not with old leaven, nor with the leaven of malice and wickedness, but with the unleavened bread of sincerity and truth.” 1 Corinthians 5:8

The leaven is what makes the bread puff up and rise.

Lord, thank You for being our Passover sacrifice, our way out of bondage, pride and sin. And here’s a simple poem . . .

Keeping The Feast

Let us keep the feast
with unleavened bread

a new lump now
the old leavens dead

what once puffed us
with rising pride

has no place in those
for whom Christ died.

22 Comments

  1. Praise God for the Bread of Life, Debbie. The more we eat of Him the less room there is for the other. Your poem is a blessing … and bless you too!

    Roger

  2. Deb, you are so talented and creative! Thank you for these daily words of wisdom and encouragement – they brighten my morning.

  3. Roger, I was just thinking of you! I love that, the more of Him the less room there is for anything other. Praying to let Him rise in me and fill me up.
    God bless you and your desire for the Bread of Life.

  4. And you are extra gracious . . .you who create the most beautiful poems, who use words in ways I never thought of! God bless you and shine bright onto you and your days!

  5. “…For indeed Christ, our Passover, was crucified for us.” 1 Corinthians 5:7…”

    Christ fulfilled the Law and Prophets, and feasts, too. Thank You Lord.

  6. What wonderful encouragement! 🙂

  7. Larry, I am blessed by you and thinking that He fulfilled the feasts too! Yes! God bless you and the new creation you are in Him!

  8. I’m so glad you were encouraged! I wondered at that title though . . . God bless you and yours this day!

  9. Debbie, your comparison to leavening and pride is spot on. I can’t think of a better way to enter Advent than with this in mind. Bless you! Amy

  10. Amy, thank you for that thought, of keeping this in mind entering the advent! 🙂 Thinking of you, with love and prayers. God bless you as you stay unleavened for Him!

  11. Deb,
    Thanks Sis, Yesterday, as Larry was encouraging me on the phone, he talked to me about how he dies to himself over and over again, and when I read this, I though about that, how although we die to ourselves over and over again, becoming dead to self, but the great thing comes after that. We then get to become reborn anew with Christ, each and every time we die to ourselves. This poem reminded me of that. God bless sis. Jim

  12. That is a truly great thing, to be reborn with Christ! And that He gifts us with this each time we die to us . . .so great is our God!
    God bless you, Jim, as you live for Him and more of Him. Praying for you and believing Jesus is in control.

  13. This reminded me of a couple of verses of a song by Bryson Smith & Philip Percival

    Nothing can I boast in:
    My life is scarred with sin.
    My works are filthy rags:
    No merit can I bring.
    Yet mercy filled Christ’s heart.
    Love took Him to the tree.
    It’s grace alone which saves me:
    Christ’s blood that sets me free.

    So if I am to boast,
    I’ll speak of my disgrace,
    For my weak self displays
    The power of God’s grace.
    Christ’s Spirit works within me:
    In weakness He is strong,
    So I look to my Saviour
    To safely bring me home.

  14. Thank you, Angela, for those verses. I loved:
    “Yet mercy filled Christ’s heart
    love took Him to the tree.”
    and well, all of it! 🙂
    God bless you as you live for Him!

  15. I had an authentic Israeli meal last night at a Feast of Tabernacles meeting and there was white bread on the pleate…unleavened so flat and rather cake like… but frankly I liked it better than the “normal” bread most eat.

    The sin free life isn’t as “puffed up” with hot air… but IS better!

    Yeshua said to keep away from the “leaven” of the Pharisees.
    He is the real “bread of life”… unleavened and sinless.
    Love Susan.

  16. And Susan, I was just thinking of you tonight! Wow, and here you are! I am so blessed to hear about your meeting last night. That sounds like a wonderful experience, in Him. 🙂 So thankful for our Savior who is the Bread we need!
    God bless you and watch over you this day!

  17. Those who hunger and thirst after righteousness shall be filled. I’m so glad to be filled with the Bread of Life!

    God bless you, and may heaven smile upon you!

    Paulette

  18. Thank you, dear Paulette, for the great scriptural comment! You made me smile with a joyful heart knowing we are filled with Him!
    God bless you and the special ministering you do on His behalf for us!

  19. Another awesome poem! Now I see what I’ve missed the past week. Peace, Linda

  20. You are so sweet and encouraging! 🙂 No pressure to be here, commenting when you have so much to do!!! But, I love it when you do. 🙂
    God bless you as you feast on Him today!

  21. I never really noticed this before I read this post, but the expression “puffed up” occurs 4 times leading up to these verses (1 Cor. 4:6, 18, 19, and 5:2) and it refers to vain pride each time.

    I have understood “leaven” to represent sin and evil in our lives, but never really thought about it’s action as the thing that also “puffs up”. Funny how it is the very sin that separates man from God that also causes man’s pride.

    Thanks for the wonderful post; I love it when you point something out like this that sends me back to the Word 🙂

  22. God bless you, Loren, as you take the time to not only read and comment today . . .but go back into the Word to help us all understand and see Him better. And see about this puffing business too. 🙂


Comments are closed.

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/‘Religion’s’ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soul’s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

