With You In Weakness

“I was with you in weakness, in fear and in much trembling.” 1 Corinthians 2:3

My flesh doesn’t want anyone to see me like this. But God does.

Lord, please bring to nothing what I attempt in my human strength, so that only Your power and wisdom can be seen. And here’s a simple poem . . .

Vulnerably Covered

We learn quickly not to show weakness
not to tremble in our fear

“never let them see you sweat”
rings in our ears

but God encourages vulnerability
and says it is okay

for it’s in these very moments
His glory and power are displayed.

15 Comments

  1. ..after a hectic week, just what I needed to hear! Thank you Deb.

  2. I’m so glad you made it through this hectic week, planaquarium! God bless you and give you rest this weekend. πŸ™‚

  3. “My flesh doesn’t want anyone to see me like this. But God does.” How true this is! Unfortunately, in my current state, there isn’t much I can do about it. However, there are times when I completely give in and give out, and only God sees me in that state. Just leaving Ann’s place, where she reminded me that I have a hiding place, in Jesus! I’m so glad to have that place in Him!

    Thank you for reminding me today, that it is during those times when I am most vulnerable, that His mighty power is displayed!

    May you be encouraged and strengthened today! God bless you, Debbie!

    Paulette

  4. I am so glad this is true! πŸ™‚

    Love,
    Theresa

  5. Oh Paulette, thank you for this truth. Some of us can’t even hide it if we try. So all the more He is seen in you, dear one. All the more. You have such a precious ministry and His power is so evident through you. And you’ve helped me see something about this that happened just today.
    My youngest has seizures. She doesn’t know when they are going to happen. Sometimes I’m right with her . . .sometimes not. She fell in the bathroom early today and I ran in to find her face first into the floor vent. But, miraculously . . .no injuries. Nothing. And this isn’t the first time that He has protected her like this, showing His power in her weakness. πŸ™‚
    God bless you and hold you close today, in His mighty power and love!

  6. Oh me too, wonderful woman of the Word! God bless you with His strength today!
    love and prayers!

  7. Hi Debbie,

    I’m so glad the Lord is protecting your daughter, and showing His awesome power, during the times when she is most vulnerable! What a mighty God we serve! She also has you, and angel, to watch over her! God bless you both!

    Paulette

  8. This is a very brave, “Lord, please bring to nothing what I attempt in my human strength, so that only Your power and wisdom can be seen.” I don’t think I’d be brave enough to make it. I should be – but I don’t think I’d be – oh me of little faith. Debbie, I’ve always been inspired by you, and your NOT simple poems. God bless and keep you my friend!

  9. Good point. Not many of us want to be seen in our weaknesses, but even worse yet, how many of else want to boast about them? Paul did…in 2 Cor. 12:9.

  10. Oh, you’re brave all right, Craig. And, you’ve let your weaknesses be seen! πŸ™‚ I find He helps me pray things like this without always thinking about how He might answer . . .just trusting Him to answer and that it will be good. Thinking that all we attempt on our own comes to nothing anyway, so why not just jump on board right away? haha!
    God bless you and give you rest in Him.

  11. I’m not there yet, to boasting about them! Maybe I should be though, in order for Him to work through them more, be seen in me more. Thank you for getting me to think about this even more!
    God bless you and show Himself strong in your life!

  12. Weakness can be such a blessing!
    I sometimes tend to rush into something in my own strength and ability . . . and then God has to bring me to a halt and gently chastise me, teaching me (again) that my ability is HIS ability working through me and without Him I can do nothing.

    What a great blessing it is when we accomplish something which we _KNOW_ we could not have done in our own strength and ability. Thank You, Lord, for weakness. Thank You for using it to Your glory!

  13. Angela . . .you put that perfectly! Those times when we KNOW it’s not us, that we had no strength or ability to make something happen . . .but God comes through where we fall down. I love those times and can rejoice with you for my weaknesses then! Thank you so much for all the time and care you put into these comments! God bless you and keep showing Himself strong through you!

  14. Deb, I’m way behind in my reading of your blog! So glad I found my way back to read this one. Don’t have time to comment on them all, but I’ll defitely be reading to see where you let His power and glory shine through. Peace, Linda

  15. Don’t you worry about reading and commenting here all the time, sweet Linda! I think He leads you to where you need to be at any given time. You bless me how He shines through you and on your posting at Broken Believers now too!
    love and prayers!


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

