Let Jesus Speak

“For Christ did not send me to baptize, but to preach the gospel, not with wisdom of words, lest the cross of Christ should be made of no effect.” 1 Corinthians 1:17

It’s okay when I can’t find the right words to say. Jesus said it all on the cross.

Oh Lord, we pray for the wisdom and the power of You crucified to be known more than our words. And here’s a simple poem . . .

Christ’s Cross Effect

There is a power and wisdom
only He can possess

though we try to describe it
our words fall short at best

the message of the cross
of Christ crucified

does what we cannot do
leaving Him alone glorified.

12 Comments

  1. Deb, I am so excited you are going through Corinthians! I love this book. And I love your poem. It isn’t about human wisdom and we aren’t called to be eloquent with our words. It’s all about Christ and Him crucified! It’s all about His love and His glory. ๐Ÿ™‚ Peace, Linda

  2. “For Christ did not send me to baptize, but to preach the gospel…”

    Man doesn’t really ever change. In Paul’s day, believers liked to say they listened and followed Paul’s teachings, others liked Apollos and others liked Peter and others. They held to the preacher and his personality rather than to Jesus and His revelations.

    Aren’t we all guilty of that today? I think so.

  3. Your excitement is helping me again! Thank you! I’m reminded that it’s not so much what I say, but what He says that will make the difference. So thankful for that!
    God bless you and your love of Him!

  4. I think so too, Larry. I remember what a hard time a church (and I) had when the pastor we loved moved on. And another time when the pastor felt called to the inner city, and who would go with him and who would stay. We all wanted to be mature and have it be all about Jesus, but we got attached to our pastors.
    God bless you as you keep following Jesus!

  5. Amen! My heart rejoices in this truth!

    Love,
    Theresa

  6. And my heart rejoices with yours! love you and thank you for stopping by. But, like I tell Ann . . . you are forbidden until things let up for you! ๐Ÿ™‚ God bless you!

  7. Wonderfully expressed.
    “Christ and Him crucified” – the answer to our every need.

    What a wonderful Saviour!

  8. God bless you, dear Angela, and how His truth just comes out of you! Joining you in your praise . . .what a wonderful Saviour, yes indeed!

  9. Oh YES… the wisdom and power of the CROSS!
    The death to struggling “self”.”Not my will but yours be done”
    How easily we / I ? can feel totaly inadequate to our tasks and even the boring daily duties.Some days I am just too tired to bother.The “spirit is willing but the flesh is weak”… The law of sin and death is working in us still… but Praise God, another law… the law of Life is also working in us IF we chose to yeild ourselves to Him who overcame death. It’s Yeshua Himself living in us through the power of the Holy Spirit. If we bow down in humility and confess our sins we will rise up like eagles in His wisdom and power!

    For me this post is an amazing confirmation of an old note I wrote a while ago on a tiny piece off paper and just found today… I had said… “I don’t have to ‘perfect’ flamenco guitar or anything others do, only share what I get”. What God gives us is good and worth sharing with others. We shouldn’t put ourselves or Him down! It doesn’t have to be fancy or compared to what others do at all. Just give what we “get”… and He does the rest. God gives the increase.He moves upon the words or songs we give and uses them for His glory.

    And Deb…I also want to thank you again for your faithful ministry, lovingly and patiently encouraging people here day after day. It’s not just what you write and post… it’s those follow up comments you make to each soul too! You are very faithful and thorough. I know that must take up many hours of your days as well as your own time seeking the Lord and studying His Word. You are able to see the best in each one who comes and work to build them up in their faith by pointing that out.
    God bless your ministry.. I’m praying He will increase you in it! Don’t be locked into any set format… just give what you get!!!!
    You’re AMAZING… Love from me…

  10. Oh I just got to this . . .and what a blessing and help you are! ๐Ÿ™‚ That is so amazing what you said about not getting locked into any set format. . .because I kind of am. ahhaha! But, He talked to me about changes and that it won’t always be like this . . .and it helped me with what is right now. ๐Ÿ™‚
    God bless you as you give what you get so well!!!

  11. “Itโ€™s okay when I canโ€™t find the right words to say. Jesus said it all on the cross.”

    Someone once said that we are called to be “witnesses” for Christ, not “attorneys.” Our job is not to persuade, argue, or convince people of what God has done; our calling is to just tell people what God has done. Praise God that the Holy Spirit is the One Who does the persuading and the convincing ๐Ÿ™‚

    I thank God that it is not our own eloquence or skill with language and rhetoric that changes hearts, but God Himself Who speaks to the heart in ways that we cannot.

    Great post, Deb, God bless you ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. I’m thankful too, that it’s Him who speaks and changes. phew! ๐Ÿ™‚ Just reading your comment here, helps me and encourages me. I am not good at verbalizing. It can make me feel like a fake in a way, because I can write things better than I can say them in person. But it also comes down to trusting Him and knowing that if something I say to someone reaches them on some level, it’s HIM!
    God bless you, Loren, and the way He speaks through you.


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/โ€˜Religionโ€™sโ€™ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soulโ€™s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

