Made To Stand

“Who are you to judge another’s servant? To his own master he stands or falls. Indeed, he will be made to stand, for God is able to make him stand.” Romans 14:4

I love how Paul puts this. Indeed, who am I?

Lord, please stop me whenever I start to slip into judge mode. Thank You, thank You, thank You that we will be made to stand . . .because You will “able” us to. And here’s a simple poem . . .

The Master’s Servant

I don’t have a leg to stand on
though You gave me two
as I mess up at every turn
in this life with You.

But You don’t let another judge
the work You’ve put me to
instead You cover it with grace
and say, “This will surely do!”

17 Comments

  1. Deb – Really lovely poem – I don’t have a leg to stand on either! Great reminder!

  2. Have been concerned about a friend I see slipping slightly. I’ve wondered what I should do. Yesterday I decided to just pray that the Lord would stir him; so this morning that is what I did.

    Your post is very fitting for me today.

  3. I just came from a committal service. Much was said by the family about how grace is the overarching need of every life… how only grace can make the grave a victory. The great division between Christians and Unbelievers at the finish line is grace and not our works! Thanks for this very powerful reminder!

  4. >> “I don’t have a leg to stand on”

    How true! I’m looking at those words in a slightly different way, but I’m thinking of how God has provided all the resources of heaven for me to live a victorious, Christ-honouring life – and how I too often ignore them. I don’t have a leg to stand on! No excuses hold water!

    but then
    >> “You cover it with grace”
    Oh what grace! You love me; You guide me; You draw me back to Yourself; You cover it with grace and You continue to work in me, growing me into the person You desire me to be.

    What an exceptionally amazing God!

  5. If only we would remember that the Judge also lives inside the believer we are judging. Maybe this would slow down our tongues.

  6. I’m so thankful that your friend has a friend like you, who will pray and seek Jesus on what is best.
    God bless you, Mike, as you stand for Him.

  7. “Much was said about how grace is the overarching need of every life . . .” Thanks for sharing that Pastor J! I was thinking about you when I came to this scripture.
    God bless you as you stand in His grace!

  8. I understand what you are saying, dear mentor Angela. We want to be growing and dying to ourselves and not abuse His grace. 🙂
    God bless you as you live for your amazing God!

  9. Larry, thank you so much for this comment. Remembering that the Judge lives inside the believer I’m judging is going to stick with me!
    God bless you and how you stand for Him!

  10. Funny how yesterday I finally decided to pray. The Lord confirmed that I was right to be concerned in my reading this morning. It was time for me to read 2 Cor 6 One of the verses is ‘What fellowship can light have with darkness’. There’s a few others that are good and one’s I was familiar with. But I had never connected 7:1; ‘let us purify ourselves from everything that contaminates body and spirit . . .’. I liked that.

    Anyway, the Lord used that to confirm that I was right to be concerned, but He used your post to let me know that I was right also to just pray. And after a few hours to think about it, I still think it was all right.

  11. So glad He helps us who have leg problems! 🙂 God bless you, Debbie, and cover you as you keep standing for Him! Thank you for taking the time to stop by today and comment. What a sweet blessing!

  12. Thank you for such a powerful message and reminder! I truly, “don’t have a leg to stand on.”

    God bless!

  13. So thankful that He helps us! You are a wonder and I love how He makes you stand! God bless you as you lean on Him today!

  14. Literally, though I have my two legs I could possibly not stand because of my scoliosis but He did make me stand because of the strength and balance He injected in me.

    How could I not offer the same to others? If I can’t, then the least I can do is to not make them fall with my judgment 🙂

  15. Friday my friend brought up the thing that had concerned me. It led to a very good conversation.

  16. Sweet Spoon . . .there is so much about you that I keep learning. Thank you for sharing about your scoliosis and how God made you stand…and for encouraging others to stand too. Like me! 🙂
    God bless you and all that you have gone through, to stand for Him.
    love you!

  17. MIke! I love hearing that! It’s so encouraging to see how this all came about. You wondering if you should say something. Then praying and feeling God wanted you to pray instead of saying anything. Then, he says something and you can both talk about it! God in action!
    Thank you for coming back to let us know! 🙂 God bless you and your ministry!


Comments are closed.

SAND DOLLAR SEASON

PENNY POEMS and OTHER WORDS...

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Broken Believers

For Rascals, Failures, Clumsy Disciples, the Addicted, and the Physically and Mentally Ill Believer

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

