No Provisions Given

“But put on the Lord Jesus Christ and make no provisions for the flesh, to fulfill its lusts.” Romans 13:14

This may sound harsh, but it is so true. If I give my flesh an inch, it takes 10,000 miles.

Lord, thank You for being one size fits all, covering each of us so completely when we step into Your will. And here’s a simple poem . . .

Immersion

Although I may not like
the truth to be
my flesh lusts after
all it sees
continuing along
destroying me
so I’ll immerse
myself in Thee.

16 Comments

  1. Thank you, Deb ๐Ÿ™‚

    Great start to my day! As sister Pat would say, “thanks for breakfast”. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I like the idea of being immersed in Him. Not just splashed or dampened but totally and fully covered in and by Him. Nice ๐Ÿ™‚

    Blessings,
    ann

  2. Dear Ann full of Jesus grace . . .so thankful to be the plate He served you breakfast on! ๐Ÿ™‚ I love that sister Pat phrase!
    God bless you as you go today, fully covered in your Jesus!
    love and prayers!

  3. Beautiful!! Thanks.

  4. “…my flesh lusts after
    all it sees
    continuing along
    destroying me…”

    Bernard Baruch, a wealthy investor, was once asked when he would have enough money. He answered, “After just a little more.”

    This is the same with my lusts of the flesh.

  5. Thanks for reminding me today to “immerse” myself in Him. This trusting work is ours to do! Good word Deb!

  6. God bless you and cover you today!

  7. Mine too, Larry. It helps me understand that “make no provision” statement.
    God bless you as you put on Christ today!

  8. Thank you for your Gotta Stand series, which kind of turns up in Romans too! Trusting Him with you. God bless you, Pastor J, as He fully covers and keeps you today.

  9. Debbie, this is the best yet – all praise to the One who inspires you.

    You have stated the problem and given the ONLY remedy.

    The battle we face is with ourselves – our own wills – and when we look to the Lord He gives us the victory. The more we immerse ourselves in Him, the quicker is our response to look to Him; the less trouble we endure and the more praise He receives.

    What an amazing God!

  10. I love how you described what happens when we immerse ourselves in Him. It’s like a domino affect. ๐Ÿ™‚ And more praise to Jesus is what I want to be giving.
    God bless you, Angela, as you sink yourself deeper and deeper into Him.

  11. Thank you, Debbie! So, so true! We must leave no place, not even a foothold to our flesh! Otherwise, it’s like a snowball that starts very small at the top of a hill, picks up speed on the way down, and grows continually, until it hits rock bottom! I thank God for indwelling my soul through the Holy Spirit, my only keeper from myself!

    May the Lord bless you, and make His face to shine upon you!

    Paulette

  12. Deb, I should have read this the day you posted it, but I’ve found myself getting behind. So many blogs I want to read, and I waste my time on online games instead. I’ve given the flesh an inch in that area and it has tried hard to take 10,000 miles. I needed this reminder to immerse myself in His will. Wonderful poem – very well said. Peace, Linda

  13. God bless you, Paulette! I loved the image you gave us of that snowball. That is just what it’s like!!! I get this false sense of thinking I can control it, but that’s not what happens!
    love and prayers!
    p.s. I’m away this weekend, running back and forth to home, so hope to get caught up and read you soon!!!

  14. Oh Linda, I know what you mean. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ That is not my area, but I have others and whenever I give them an inch . . .I don’t have as much of His peace either. Praying for us to immerse in Him today!
    God bless you, sweet friend!

  15. “If I give my flesh an inch, it takes 10,000 miles.”

    If I give my flesh 10,000 things that it craves, it expands to inches ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. I was definitely thinking that when I wrote it! ha! How did you know? God bless you and your desire for more and more of Him! And maybe just one more little bite of . . . ๐Ÿ™‚


Comments are closed.

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/โ€˜Religionโ€™sโ€™ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soulโ€™s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

