Overcome Evil

“Do not be overcome by evil, but overcome evil with good.” Romans 12:21

I always get a little shaky when confronting evil. There is instantly the temptation to overcome it with anger or submit to it in fear.

Lord, we thank You for Your goodness in us that can overcome all evil, whether it be our own or from an outside source. And here’s a simple poem . . .

Dissolved

Evil drops in like a bomb
ready to explode

so we tend to tiptoe around it
and put our lives on hold

but we can stand in His righteousness
and let His goodness flow

watching what happens to evil
when the Holy Spirit flows.

Published in: on September 27, 2011 at 7:12 am  Comments (16)  
Tags: , , , , , ,

16 Comments

  1. I really like what your poem says.
    Not our fight really and I think we embrace evil when we assume it is.
    Strength in weakness or something like that .

  2. Thanks, Deb.

    Your poem today reminds me of Pastor J`s series. Standing is so important in the Christian walk!

    I am thankful for His goodness too. I need Him so much.

    Blessing,
    ann

  3. Lord, help us to hate, abhor and detest evil – in all of its various shades and colors – as much as You do.

  4. Thank you, hero . . .I like that understanding. I think that was what He was trying to show me about being simple concerning evil. That otherwise, we embrace it . . .become part of it.
    God bless you and be strong in you today!

  5. Ann full of Jesus grace . . .you are so right. We can’t walk if we don’t stand up first. πŸ™‚ Pastor J’s posts are influencing me and that’s a good thing. There is another coming up about being made to stand, and that made me think of his series too.
    God bless you and all His goodness you possess!

  6. Thank you, Larry, for pointing that out too. This being simple concerning evil doesn’t mean to like it, does it? Just not to fight it with more evil of our own . . .or to become too focused on it.
    God bless you as you seek to do as He does.

  7. Deb, I love the poem. “Evil drops in like a bomb ready to explode.” That is so true, and it shows up when we least expect it. But God is always there to help us overcome it, to diffuse it like the best bomb squad in the world! But I think sometimes we forget to call in the Bomb Squad in time and the bomb explodes, but even then He is there to shield us from the impact or to clean up the debris in the aftermath. So why do we so often try to take care of it all ourselves? We’d never do that with a real bomb. May we always call on our heavenly Bomb Squad at the first sign of evil. Peace, Linda

  8. Wonderful, Deb! In order to not be overcome by evil, we first need to recognize it. There is only good (God) or evil (ANYTHING in opposition to God) with nothing in between. I know I am ‘overcome’ at times by things that I see as ‘harmless’. I keep finding out that nothing is harmless.

    Lord, give me eyes to see what is from You and to overcome, through You, those things that aren’t.

  9. Linda . . .you did it again! πŸ™‚ I loved how you went further along with that bomb analogy and how we have a Bomb Squad! yes! What a wonderful way to show us what we need to do . .. to call on Jesus to diffuse the evil that we encounter each day.
    God bless you as His goodness in you overcomes all else!

  10. Wow, Ted! This is a powerful message for us. Thank you so much! I can see myself in what you said. There aren’t any gray spots, are there?
    God bless you as He keeps showing you what is from Him and what is not!

  11. “when the Holy Spirit flows” dontcha just love it when that happens!

  12. Oh yes I do! πŸ™‚ God bless you, Patricia, and flow through you today!

  13. Ps 91:10 No evil shall befall you

    Ps112:8 He will not be afraid of evil tidings

    Satan says, “So what?” to us, but he says, “I dare not” to Christ in us. On the streets it was indeed a privilege to watch what happened to evil when the Holy Spirit flowed.

    From time to time I have dreams where I’m facing evil and I use the word of God on the person. Guess what? They obey that word immediately. I don’t know if it’s preparation for something but if it is I know evil doesn’t win.

    Bless you, Debbie.

  14. Roger, I love it when you come and comment. Thank you! Christ in us . . .that is what we need.
    I have had dreams like that too and could barely speak the name of Jesus. But . . .evil still didn’t win. It retreated.
    God bless you, dear friend in Christ, full of His Spirit and life!

  15. >> “watching what happens to evil
    when the Holy Spirit flows”

    What a joy that is.
    It reminds me of the boy who was asked what he did when he was tempted. He replied, “Well, when satan knocks at my door, I send the Lord Jesus to answer it and satan flees.”

    “Out of the mouth of babes” – we would do well to copy and “watch what happens to evil when the Holy Spirit flows”

    Thanks again Debbie

  16. Angela, I love the sending Jesus to answer the door when satan knocks! πŸ™‚ Thank you for sharing that! You have such a wonderful wealth of experiences for us to learn from. I truly appreciate you and the time you take here in blog land.
    God bless you as you allow the Holy Spirit to show and flow today!


Comments are closed.

SAND DOLLAR SEASON

PENNY POEMS and OTHER WORDS...

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Broken Believers

For Rascals, Failures, Clumsy Disciples, the Addicted, and the Physically and Mentally Ill Believer

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

