Formed For Him

“Will the thing formed say to him who formed it, ‘Why have you made me like this’?” Romans 9:20

I tried making a bowl on a little pottery wheel of my daughter’s. It looked so easy to do, but wasn’t. My piece had every reason to ask, “Why have you made me like this?”

Lord, I am trusting that You have made me like I am, and continue to mold me, for Your purpose and glory. Please help me to remember this when I am pressured to be different from the way You designed me. And here’s a simple prayer . . .

Made By God

There is nothing wrong
with what You’ve made

no fault lies
in Your hand

as You create us
in Your image

according to
Your purpose and plan.

Published in: on September 23, 2011 at 6:31 am  Comments (20)  
Tags: , , , , , , ,

20 Comments

  1. “…Why have you made me like this?…”

    I’ve certainly asked this more than once in my walk with Jesus.

  2. There’s got to be a good reason, right? ๐Ÿ™‚ God bless you and all that He is doing with you!

  3. “There is nothing wrong
    with what Youโ€™ve made”

    Why do I find this so easy to agree with when it applies to something/someone other than myself?

  4. I’m with ya, Patricia! Praying for us the same measure of grace we use on others, on ourselves. God bless wonderful, beautiful you!

  5. Debbie, I wrote a song called, “Work of Art” last year. If I get around to recording it, I’ll post it along with the words, but it’s so true. Creation is glorious!

    Please join me in praying for my friend Carolyn, who just had a hysterectomy, thanks. “Blessings always, Amy

  6. Thank you so much Amy, for letting us know about Carolyn and yes, I’m going to pray!
    God bless you as you worship Him today and enjoy all that He does.

  7. I love what you have written here because I know your heart. We can truly praise God for His re-creation. We are indeed a new creation. Old things have gone and all things have become new – and His work is perfect.

    On the other hand, it saddens me greatly to hear people use this as an excuse for sin: “Well, this is the way God made me so I have to accept it and so do you!” How it must grieve God.

    Eph 4:13 tells us that God is “growing” us into Christlikeness: that this is His goal for us. We are also told that one day He will present us “blameless and without spot” because of His work in us.

    What an amazing God!

  8. Yes, even if it’s different than the way he made us, he is Growing us. I love that.

  9. Thank you so much, mentor Angela . . .for understanding my heart! I didn’t think about it being taken as in “how I am I stay”. eekk! ha! This reminds me of that saying, He loves us too much to leave us the way we are.
    So thankful that we keep being made each day, into what He desires us to be. And what we truly desire to be too.
    God bless you and your beautiful heart for Jesus!

  10. I love that too! ๐Ÿ™‚ God is a good grower. You are one of His masterpieces! God bless you and your family, Tammy.

  11. Sometimes I kind of wonder why I suffer so much pain, but I know God made me as I am, so I try hard not to complain! There is purpose behind this pain!

    Love,

    Paulette

  12. Oh Paulette . . .that is a hard one. Praising Him with you, for His purpose and plan for your life. I know He works in these things, but I hate to see you suffer.
    God bless you and give you strength as He makes you shine for Him.

  13. Deb, I agree with Larry – I’ve asked that question many times before. But I think I’m finally to the point where even if I ask why it’s not because I think He made a mistake. It’s more just a wondering if I’m being all He made me to be. The “why” has become “what was Your purpose” in creating me like this so that I might fulfill that purpose. Peace, Linda

  14. Oh Linda, that is a wonderful way of looking at it . . .asking about it. Love that! We know He is good and loves us and has something in mind concerning us and the way He’s made us.
    God bless you and that special purpose you were designed for in Him!

  15. I love it! Your comment about your own attempts at pottery made me laugh out loud ๐Ÿ™‚

    Praise God that He is a better Potter than we are!

  16. So glad I could make you laugh! Doesn’t it look easy though? You just hold your hands around the clay and stick your thumb into the center and . . .well, what happened after that wasn’t pretty. Gave me a whole new appreciation for the Master Potter! ๐Ÿ™‚
    God bless you, Loren , and all that He has made you to be!

  17. Deb, what is perfect in my eyes is oftentimes not perfect in the eyes of others. I see perfection in ‘imperfections’ that I intentionally create it in the vase that I form or the wood that I paint or the crafts I make. I intentionally seek for it in the furniture thus I appreciate so much the ones made out of tree roots or trunk cut as is. The perceived imperfection is what made something precious and without an exact replica.

    Whenever I wonder if I am precious, I envision my Creator purposely forming me ๐Ÿ™‚

  18. What a wonderful insight , sweet spoon! Oh yes you are precious and perfect to Him! And me too! God bless you and the one of a kind ministry He has given you.
    love and prayers!

  19. Oh Deb, this was beautiful, too! We nedto remember this.

    Love,
    Theresa

  20. I’m so glad that He made you! ๐Ÿ™‚ God bless you, wonderful woman of the Word!
    love and prayers!


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/โ€˜Religionโ€™sโ€™ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soulโ€™s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

