“And Not Only That . . .”

“And not only that, but we also glory in tribulations, knowing that tribulation produces perseverance;
and perseverance, character; and character, hope. ” Romans 5:3-4
“And not only that, but we also rejoice in God through our Lord Jesus Christ, through whom we have now received the reconciliation.” Romans 5:11

Paul sounds like a great ad man for Jesus, as he excitedly tells us what all we have in Christ.

Lord, we thank You for giving us now and eternity to discover all that we truly have in You. And here’s a simple poem . . .

Batteries Included

Not only do we have salvation
but, oh, we have His love

not only reconciliation
but the peace we’ve dreamed of

then there’s the grace of His glory
hope that will not let us down

the Holy Spirit’s indwelling
mercy and new life that abounds.

Loren has done a wonderful series on what we have in Christ. You might like to go and check it out!

http://answersfromthebook.wordpress.com

10 Comments

  1. Thank you, Deb

    “Lord, we thank You for giving us now and eternity to discover all that we truly have in You”
    Amen πŸ™‚

    Wonderful post! I like the security of knowing who I am and what I have in Him.

    Reading your poem gives me the feeling that I can slow down and enjoy the here and now instead of rushing around trying to get everything done this instant. Feels good to chill and fall back on Him knowing He’s taken care of the details and that “mercy and new life that abounds” – even for the undeserving me. πŸ˜‰

    Loren’s series has me falling in love with Him all over again. Enjoying it much!

    Blessings,
    ann

  2. So thankful that with all that is before you right now, God used this poem to let you know He has you covered. Discovering more and more of Him each day makes life a joy!
    God bless you as you fall in love with Him over and over again!
    love and prayers for your week!

  3. Deb, Terrific post and poem! We do have so much more than just eternity from our dear Savior! There is a guy that walks up and down the sidewalks by my son’s school. They call him “the Jesus guy.” He wears a sandwich board that says something like “Avoid Hell, Accept Jesus.” It kind of bothers me because he doesn’t share all the other blessings that come from knowing Christ. It’s not just about avoiding Hell, but is about having a relationship with our Creator. It’s about having peace and hope and the indwelling Holy Spirit that you mentioned in your poem. It’s about living an abundant spiritual life here and now.

    I’m reminded of John 17:3 – “Now this is eternal life: that they may know you, the only true God, and Jesus Christ, whom you have sent.” Eternal life starts the moment you believe in Jesus as Savior and Lord! I am so thankful for all that He gives us, including the wonderful Christian friends He has given me here in blogland. πŸ™‚ Peace, Linda

  4. “And not only that, but we also glory in tribulations…”

    I wonder how many of us jump out of bed each morning, rejoicing because of our trials and tribulations. Probably, not many of us, right?

    Yet, Paul, who wrote 2 Corinthians 12:9-10 approximately a year earlier than his letter to the Romans, did mean exactly that.

  5. Yes, I totally believe Paul gloried in his tribulations . . .because of what he had in Christ. He says “we”, so I guess that means its possible for us too. ? πŸ™‚ We’re getting there, Larry! You have had more than a fair share of tribulations. I know for myself, I don’t always like them, but I have grown to love what Jesus does in them.
    God bless you and all you have in Him!

  6. When I was reading Loren’s series, that’s what struck me too, Linda. There is so much more than just salvation and forgiveness of sins, although that alone is wowing! Wondering if people knew more about what He is about, what He imparts to us just for believing, if they would take a second look, give Him a chance to be all He wants to be in their lives.
    God bless you, Linda, and the abundant life He has given you here and now! Your comment stirs me up for Him!

  7. Love the title of your poem.

  8. haha! Thanks Tammy . . .a little out there, I know. πŸ™‚ God bless you and all you have in Him . . .and in your pantry!

  9. And there’s more . . . and more . . . and more . . .

    The longer we live in Christ, the more we discover. There is always more! He adds blessing upon blessing upon blessing. No matter how many times we read a Scripture and how thoroughly we memorise it, there is ALWAYS something new.

    Re tribulation. Yes, it might be difficult when we encounter it, but the thing that makes it easier is hindsight. We can look back on past tribulations and see that in effect, these were the times in our life that God used to GROW us, and so we can be THANKFUL for tribulations, knowing they will help to grow Christlikeness in us.

    PS Deb I was looking forward to your “simple poem” on my favourite words in Scripture but in your journey through Romans you have skipped two of them. The word “but” makes such a difference!

    Romans 3:21 – BUT NOW – (now what a difference that makes!)
    Romans 5:8 – BUT GOD

    I am so thankful for the BUT GODs in my life!
    The BUT GOD turns us from utter despair to utter bliss!

  10. Oh mentor Angela . . .another thought provoking and heart touching comment. Thank you!
    I loved what you said about tribulations. Yes . .. each one gives us more and more confidence in Him. More trust!
    I love your But Now and But God! Sorry I missed some of your favorites. But, who knows how many times He might cycle me through the books of the Bible, asking me to write a simple poem. πŸ˜‰
    God bless you as He turns your heart always toward Him!


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

