What If They Don’t Believe?

“For what if some did not believe?” Will their unbelief make the faithfulness of God without effect?” Romans 3:3
“Certainly not! Indeed, let God be true and every man a liar.” Romans 3:4

Those who don’t believe can mock us, belittle us and persecute us. But it doesn’t ever make God less real or believable.

Lord, as I pray for unbelievers may it not come from wanting to prove I’m right about You, but from a true longing for their salvation. And here’s a simple poem . . .

Solid Effects

But what if they
do not believe
are my beliefs
then invalid?
Is the God of all
any less?
No, He remains true
and ever solid.

Published in: on September 16, 2011 at 5:47 am  Comments (14)  
Tags: , , , , , ,

14 Comments

  1. Debs, thanks for this one… I really needed it, because with all honesty when I’m surrounded by unbelief or unbelieving people it effects me. Almost demoralises me. But this post here is really motivating… Thank you for hearing God’s voice today and sharing it with all. I have especially been meditating on:
    Mark 16:17 And these signs will follow those who believe: In My name they will cast out demons; they will speak with new tongues; 18 they[b] will take up serpents; and if they drink anything deadly, it will by no means hurt them; they will lay hands on the sick, and they will recover.”
    If you believe irrespective of who is around or what the circumstance, the signs STILL follow!
    Blessings and love to you and your loved ones, Rita

  2. “For what if some did not believe?…”

    Good timing on this post.

    This morning I was bugged by the thought that many of the people I work with or have met at various times of my life are in danger of spending an eternity in Hell. And except for a few prayers which I have tossed in their directions, I have done little to help them.

    Hopefully, I will continue to bugged by this until I get up and do something to help them.

  3. Rita . . you are so right about it affecting us. Thank you for sharing Mark 16:17 . . .what a wonderful verse that is to coincide with this post! God bless you and all the ways He shows through you that He is real! love and prayers!

  4. Larry, the same thoughts bug me too. There must be something more I can do then shrug my shoulders and say “oh well”. ! I’m with ya.
    God bless you as He affects others through you!

  5. Hi Deb,
    Great post, and great timing, as I have recently been trying to minister to an atheist. This is a hard thing for us to sometimes wrap our mind around, and we are forced (if we do it right) to wear more than one hat. When we are ministering to those who don’t believe, we “MUST” try to look at things from their perspective.

    From their perspective, we are trying to sell them somthing that they don’t want, from ours, they are driving head on into a speeding semi and we are trying to warn them lovingly of the danger. In the end, God is, and everyone will answer to Him, even atheists. Not believing in God will not make him go away. But they must see our love before they will even begin to listen to us. Thanks, great poem. God Bless-Jim

  6. Deb, It is comforting to know that just because others don’t believe in Jesus and His saving grace doesn’t make it untrue. Peace, Linda

  7. Thanks Jim! I appreciate the comment so much, and the part about looking at it from their perspective is valuable to us who talk with unbelievers everyday. I forget sometimes!
    God bless you as you continue to minister to others who are adamant about not believing. I think this is a special gift that He has given you. πŸ™‚

  8. It may sound crazy, but when I am around unbelievers so much . . .it does wear on me. Like I’m wrong about all of this. Reading His word and spending time with Him and with all of you is so important to my faith and witness! πŸ™‚
    God bless you and comfort you in His grace and love today!

  9. Deb, I loved this. God is God, the one God. The God of Abraham, worshiped by Jews, Christians, and Muslims alike. Whether you call the Creator Allah, Jehovah, Abba… we are all worthy in God’s sight. Amy

  10. Dear Amy . . .you bless me. Thank you for your graciousness always. Glad you are back and praying that the editing time was good to you! πŸ™‚ God bless you as you bless others in His name.

  11. If people told me my husband was a figment of my imagine, would I believe them? Of course not!
    Why not? Because I have an on-going relationship with him. I communicate with him and do things together with him. I rejoice in the REALITY of his being.

    If other people do not believe in God and in the Lord Jesus, does that affect my belief? Of course not!
    Why not? Because I have an on-going relationship with Him. I communicate with Him and do things together with Him. I rejoice in the REALITY of His being.

    >> “No, He remains true
    and ever solid”

    What a faithful, dependable God!

  12. Oh I love your comments, Angela! πŸ™‚ You are a no nonsense gal and this one is a beauty. The reality is He’s real, faithful and dependable! God bless you and your relationship with your amazing God!

  13. “Lord, as I pray for unbelievers may it not come from wanting to prove I’m right about You, but from a true longing for their salvation”

    Amen to that! All of us who seek to witness to the lost and misled need to always keep this in mind.

    There was a time when I took a special interest in witnessing specifically to members of the LDS Church. I had studied up on their beliefs and the disparity between Mormon doctrine and true Christianity. So, armed with all of this “superior knowledge”, I set out to witness to Mormons, one-on-one, wherever I could find them. My strategy and plan was that I would simply “out-debate” them by demonstrating from their own literature the contradictions and illogical teachings of the LDS Church.

    My first attempts were rather dismal, at best, but, eventually, I got a little more skillful. I engaged a few individuals over the Internet in a “friendly religious discussion” and was overjoyed when I “backed them into a corner” theologically. I smugly waited for their “surrender” and heart-felt thanks for making them see the light. You know what? It never came. They would either stick to the “party line” and repeat their confidence in the false doctrines of Mormonism or they would simply break off communications with me entirely.

    There is a saying concerning evangelism that “we can win the battle but lose the war.” Winning an argument and proving ourselves right is not what God calls us to do, I learned that lesson later. What do we gain if we “out-debate” someone only to further harden their hearts against the Gospel? I firmly believe that our calling is to shine the Light of the Word of God and let the Holy Spirit do the convicting.

    Excellent post, Deb, thanks πŸ™‚

  14. Thank you, Loren , for that wonderful lesson for us all to learn. I think of this the most with family members who just can’t listen to me. I don’t want to slip into the “just you wait and see who’s right” attitude. ! I want to see them come to Jesus, for their own sakes.
    God bless you as you shine the Light of the Word today!


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

