A Void

“And the people grieved for Benjamin, because the Lord had made a void in the tribes of Israel.” Judges 21:15

Yes, the people mourned and wept. But they also didn’t rest until they saw Benjamin restored.

Lord, what void have You created for us to fill in Your name today? And here’s a simple poem . . .

As A Whole

Why would You seek to destroy
the tribe of Benjamin

when it was You who created
and established them

if not to stir the hearts
of the brethren

to act as a whole
Your body filled with compassion.

This is the last post from Judges. Boy, that went fast. πŸ™‚ I’m returning to the New Testament book – Romans – next! Thank you for your help and prayers and comments. God bless you!

17 Comments

  1. Thanks, Deb

    “Lord, what void have You created for us to fill in Your name today? ”
    Hmmm… thanks kindly πŸ˜‰ I think He’s trying to tell me something. πŸ™‚

    I have enjoyed the journey, as always. I get so excited to read your posts. Your ‘simple’ poetry makes the Word come alive. Thank you!

    May God continue to reward your faithfulness as you share His word in simple, bite sized pieces. πŸ˜‰

    Blessings,
    ann

    P.S.

    Over the next 2 months I will be zoning in on assignments and projects that will be eating away at my availability. I may not comment as often but know that I will be reading, learning and praying.

  2. Thanks Deb! There are a few relationships I am eagerly praying for restoration in. Your post gave me a push to keep believing!

  3. “…Yes, the people mourned and wept. But they also didn’t rest until they saw Benjamin restored…”

    Like Israel, we believers need to put actions to our prayers.

    Great article.

  4. wow
    what a mind blowing challenge/encouragement.
    this is so good Debbie!

  5. wow, what a perspective, and yes, it is making me think about what view I need to be taking…and what action…in my own circumstances. thank you, Deb!

  6. Praying for you, Ann full of Jesus grace, as you work and concentrate on what is before you. πŸ™‚ I love thinking about you being in the zone. . .the Jesus zone! I appreciate you being here so much, and all that you add, but totally understand when you can’t be! It just means we’ll rejoice all the more when you can be. πŸ™‚
    God bless you and all that He is doing in and through you today!

  7. Pastor J . . .thank you! I write this, but sometimes it takes awhile for Him to apply it. For some reason, I wasn’t thinking about voids in relationships, so now you have given me inspiration for those too! πŸ™‚ God bless you as He restores others to you and to Himself.

  8. Great comment, Larry! Thank you for noticing that and bringing it to the forefront. This gives me even more fuel as I pray.
    God bless you as you pray and act today!

  9. So thankful that it spoke to you, hero! I never know what He is going to bring us, but somehow that’s better . . .so I don’t be too cautious and careful in my prayers. πŸ™‚
    God bless you and encourage you today as you meet the challenges around you!

  10. Well, the more people comment, the more it is making me think and pray too!!!! God bless you, Angel A, right where you are and how He is moving you to fill the voids in others around you.

  11. Sometimes we wonder at what God does, or what He allows to happen in our lives, but later, with hindsight we realise He had everything under His control.

    Romans! It was the first book I studied after becoming a Christian and my favourite book of the Bible. The young people in my groups over the years know very well that “the answer to everything is found in Romans”

    I’ll be looking forward to hearing of your journey through Romans and your perspective of what the Lord reveals to you.

  12. God bless you, dear Angela! You are so right about that hindsight and seeing His control all along. πŸ™‚
    I have to confess that Romans intimidates me and challenges my simple devotions and poems. Must be more of His plans and control, eh? I will look forward to your comments and help as I go along!!! and prayers! πŸ™‚

  13. I believe every new Christian should be guided through Romans right at the start of their new lives. There is no better foundation for their faith. There is no clearer explanation of salvation and no clearer instruction for the believer. To me, it is the simplest of all Scripture to understand and I have delighted, over the years, to see the spiritual understanding of young people come to life and show in their growth, attitude and behaviour.

    I know you will be greatly blessed in your journey through Romans.

  14. And God answered my earlier thoughts in here. Hint: I know Benjamin. Thank you for being God’s messenger. You are so beautiful Deb πŸ™‚

  15. Deb I do not find it surprising that you have selected Romans as your next book. I see the book of Romans all through this poem. πŸ˜‰

    “18For I reckon that the sufferings of this present time are not worthy to be compared with the glory which shall be revealed in us.

    19For the earnest expectation of the creature waiteth for the manifestation of the sons of God.

    20For the creature was made subject to vanity, not willingly, but by reason of him who hath subjected the same in hope,

    21Because the creature itself also shall be delivered from the bondage of corruption into the glorious liberty of the children of God.” Romans 8:18-21

    “1I say then, Hath God cast away his people? God forbid. For I also am an Israelite, of the seed of Abraham, of the tribe of Benjamin.

    2God hath not cast away his people which he foreknew. Wot ye not what the scripture saith of Elias? how he maketh intercession to God against Israel saying,

    3Lord, they have killed thy prophets, and digged down thine altars; and I am left alone, and they seek my life.

    4But what saith the answer of God unto him? I have reserved to myself seven thousand men, who have not bowed the knee to the image of Baal.

    5Even so then at this present time also there is a remnant according to the election of grace.

    6And if by grace, then is it no more of works: otherwise grace is no more grace. But if it be of works, then it is no more grace: otherwise work is no more work.

    7What then? Israel hath not obtained that which he seeketh for; but the election hath obtained it, and the rest were blinded.” Romans 11:1-7

    ” 23 And they also, if they abide not still in unbelief, shall be grafted in: for God is able to graft them in again.

    24For if thou wert cut out of the olive tree which is wild by nature, and wert grafted contrary to nature into a good olive tree: how much more shall these, which be the natural branches, be grafted into their own olive tree?

    25For I would not, brethren, that ye should be ignorant of this mystery, lest ye should be wise in your own conceits; that blindness in part is happened to Israel, until the fulness of the Gentiles be come in.

    26And so all Israel shall be saved: as it is written, There shall come out of Sion the Deliverer, and shall turn away ungodliness from Jacob:

    27For this is my covenant unto them, when I shall take away their sins.

    28As concerning the gospel, they are enemies for your sakes: but as touching the election, they are beloved for the father’s sakes.” Romans 11:23-28

    “29For the gifts and calling of God are without repentance.

    30For as ye in times past have not believed God, yet have now obtained mercy through their unbelief:

    31Even so have these also now not believed, that through your mercy they also may obtain mercy.

    32For God hath concluded them all in unbelief, that he might have mercy upon all.

    33O the depth of the riches both of the wisdom and knowledge of God! how unsearchable are his judgments, and his ways past finding out!

    34For who hath known the mind of the Lord? or who hath been his counsellor?

    35Or who hath first given to him, and it shall be recompensed unto him again?

    36For of him, and through him, and to him, are all things: to whom be glory for ever. Amen.” Romans 11:29-36

    Deb, I know this was an awful lot of scripture I shared, but I am just so excited about your selection of Romans as your next book. All of the Bible is good, but I must confess that Romans is a favorite of mine. I can’t wait to read your poems as the Lord grants you that precious insight that He has been granting you thus far!

    Love,
    Theresa

  16. God bless you and pour His love out upon you, surround you and lift you up into His arms! You are precious, Princess Rea! (using Ann’s title for you . . .it’s a good one!)
    love you.

  17. I think the scripture was PERFECT! πŸ™‚ Thank you so much for seeing all of that, for sharing it here, for taking the time to sit with Him for our benefit. And that is exactly why you are called our wonderful woman of the Word!
    Confession . . .I did not exactly choose Romans. So your comment bolstered me all the more. I go back and forth between old and new, in the order that they come. Romans is everyone’s favorite. There is so much in each chapter and once again I find myself really quiet and long before Him. What can I say or share? It’s good for me though, to spend all day thinking and praying through His word as I go about life things, eh?
    love and prayers for His comfort, love and peace in abundance to you today!


Comments are closed.

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/β€˜Religion’s’ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soul’s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

