Please Stay and Be Content

“Then it came to pass on the fourth day that they arose early in the morning, and he stood to depart; but the young woman’s father said to his son-in-law, ‘Refresh your heart with a morsel of bread, and afterward go your way’.” Judges 19:5
“So they sat down, and the two of them ate and drank together. Then the young woman’s father said to the man, ‘Please be content to stay all night, and let your heart be merry’.” Judges 19:6

God invites us to stay with Him, glad to know us . . .enjoying our company.

Oh Lord, let me not be anxious to depart from Your presence, but stay and be refreshed as You know I have need of. And here’s a simple poem . . .

Spending Time

I desperately need
what I can only have

by spending
time with You

being refreshed
in Your presence

so You can permeate
all I do.

22 Comments

  1. Psalm 16:11 says, “Thou wilt show me the path of life: in thy presence is fullness of joy; at thy right hand there are pleasures for evermore.”

    Every so often the Holy Spirit drops this one on me as a reminder, Debbie, and although outward circumstances may not change, it’s grand to know He’s in all of them with us, at all times.

    With a prayer-poem such as this one, He’s sure to permeate all you do … can’t possibly be otherwise.

    Bless your day & family.

    Roger

  2. ‘…being refreshed
    in Your presence..”

    The goal of my whole Christian journey has been seeking His presence, without which I’d rather be dead.

  3. Super like this one Deb! I love it, it captures our deep yearning to be satisfied in His presence. May you be in His presence continually. May you be in the central flow of the living waters and not just on the banks of the river. May you be immersed and soaked in Him 🙂 Blessings, Rita!

  4. Wow Deb

    This week has been rough with a bunch of reading assignments I have to complete. I woke up thinking of Israel Houghtons’ “To Worship You I live” which starts out by saying how he wants to be away from the noise and spend some time with God and now I find this!!

    “Oh Lord, let me not be anxious to depart from Your presence, but stay and be refreshed as You know I have need of.”
    Praying alongside you 🙂 Thanks for the reminder that time with Him counts more than time with any other thing, person, pet ….

    “Away away from the noise alone with you away away to hear your voice and meet with you nothing else matters. My one desire is
    To worship you I live to worship you I live I live to worship you oh oh
    …It’s been a while yet my heart cries again” – Israel Houghton

    Blessings, 🙂
    ann

  5. I desperately need
    what I can only have

    by spending
    time with You

    I know this but too often I say to Him–later. And today I needed the reminder so I do not become desperate before I come to Him.

  6. What a beautiful comment, Roger. Thank you! I really appreciated about how though our outward circumstances may not change, it doesn’t mean He isn’t in all of them with us. 🙂 And thank you for adding Psalm 16:11!
    God bless you and all you and He are up to today!

  7. Once we know that being in His presence is possible there is no where else to be. Nothing compares, does it? And yes, to not be there does make us feel dead or like we are dying!
    God bless you and refresh you today!

  8. Oh I am loving your “may you’s” and pray the same for you! Thank you for this wonderful prayer comment. God bless you as you stay with Him, always satisfied!

  9. Thank you, Ann full of grace, for blessing us with the perfect song (again!) to go with this. Praying for you as you do all that is before you today, with Him. God bless you as you are stayed on Him, content and at peace knowing He is with you!

  10. God bless you, Patricia, and your time with Him. I know He is with you always! love and prayers for your day!

  11. You’ve really hit the nail on the head with this one ~

    >>”what I can _ONLY_ have by spending time with You”

    Real, deep-seated peace and satisfaction can ONLY be found when we spend time with Him. No matter what troubles us, spending time with Him pares away the source of the problem and we have perfect peace, knowing that He cares and that He is in control, working everything for our good.

    What an amazing Father God!

  12. Thank you, dear sister/mentor Angela! I loved how you said that, that spending time with Him pares away the source of the problem. 🙂 You are always full of His nuggets of truth.
    God bless you as you spend time praising Him today!

  13. Deb, This was wonderful! I love this prayer: “Oh Lord, let me not be anxious to depart from Your presence.” Your post reminded me of a song by Revive called “Sit with Me.”

    Have a blessed day in His presence. 🙂 Peace, Linda

  14. Thank you so much for that song , Linda. I loved it. It has me thinking about this . .”You fill your lives with so much more than you were made for”. wow.
    And Linda . . .God bless you for your prayer that I have a blessed day in His presence! He answered that and I have. It was a different kind of day, with some difficult things thrown in, but He had me.
    love you!

  15. This was beautiful. It reminded me of a song. Back in the 80’s there was a gospel group called “The Archers” Most of the songs were sung by a man, but there was one that was sung by a woman…probably his wife or sister. I loved it so much that I learned it and never forgot it. It is one I like to sing in the shower or when doing the dishes. The melody was like a slow dramatic and beautiful love song, but it was about the Holy Spirit. Here it is:

    “Moments With You”

    Moments I spend with you
    Satisfy like nothing else can do.
    And since I am yours by choice
    My heart my heart welcomes the touch of your voice

    [I love these moments
    O sweet times
    I love these moments
    Moments with you
    because I love you]

    I need this special time
    Holy Spirit saying you are mine
    When I merely speak the name
    Your love comes down like soft pouring rain!

    [I love these moments
    O sweet times
    I love these moments
    Moments with you
    because I love you]

    {Soon I will fly away to be with you for every day.
    Until then these moments I treasure!}

    [I love these moments
    O sweet times
    I love these moments
    Moments with you
    because I love you]

    Love,
    Theresa

  16. Thank you, wonderful woman of the word, for the words to that song! Oh I love it! “the touch of Your voice . . ” Isn’t that just the best?
    God bless you and your special moments with your Lord! 🙂
    love and prayers for your day!

  17. […] I was reading the poem below and the post that inspired it and a real living lady came to my mind that I would describe in the same glowing terms. She is an anointed poet named Deb. She committed herself to reading a chapter a day from each book in the bible and writing a poem and short devotion from each daily reading. Does the thought of reading through the Bible seem daunting. Why don’t you visit her blog.  Here is a link to one of her heart-stirring posts:  https://iftodaywehear.wordpress.com/2011/09/10/please-stay-and-be-content/ […]

  18. Thank you for thinking of me, even as I fade away from blogging!
    Love you and God bless you, friend!

  19. Breathtaking poem…it serenades my spirit and so reminds me of the great importance of His genuine and pure love in our life. Thanks Theresa for steering me to this poem this morning and Deb you are in my heart and prayers…hugs and blessings always!

  20. Dear Wendell, thank you for praying for me, for living in His presence and pouring out onto us from that sweet place! God bless you bunches!

  21. […] I was reading the poem below and the post that inspired it and a real living lady came to my mind that I would describe in the same glowing terms. She is an anointed poet named Deb. She committed herself to reading a chapter a day from each book in the Holy Bible and writing a poem and short devotion from each daily reading. Does the thought of reading through the Bible seem daunting? Why don’t you visit her blog.  Here is a link to one of her heart-stirring posts:  https://iftodaywehear.wordpress.com/2011/09/10/please-stay-and-be-content/ […]

  22. Thank you, sweet friend, for still thinking of me and these little posts. You are a blessing! love and prayers!


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

