Who Shall Rule?

“Then the men of Israel said to Gideon, ‘Rule over us, both you and your son, and your grandson also; for you have delivered us from the hand of Midian’.” Judges 8:22
“But Gideon said to them, ‘I will not rule over you, nor shall my son rule over you; the Lord shall rule over you’.” Judges 8:23

Even though they might forget, rulers have a Ruler too.

Lord, while we may be governed by a variety of people, it is You who we desire to rule over our hearts and minds and lives. And here’s a simple poem . . .

Mindful Of

The Lord shall
rule over us

by His truth
and love

no iron fist
is needed but

His Holy Spirit
to be mindful of.

17 Comments

  1. The mighty ones may come to mind when we mention about rulers but each of us are trying to rule ourselves and others in more ways imaginable. May we always remember and declare who is rightful and best to rule — none but the Lord. Deb I am saying this to myself 😉

  2. ‘I will not rule over you, nor shall my son rule over you; the Lord shall rule over you’.

    After a few thousand years, we’re still hoping to see this come true in our churches, as well as in our nation. O Lord, how long?

  3. Thanks, Deb

    Someone once told me that if the Lord has redeemed me, He has a right to rule me. I shall not argue with that!

    Praying as you have prayed.

    Blessings,
    ann

  4. I am echoing you to myself too! I love your honesty before Him and us! God bless you as you stay humble and real and ruled by your Jesus! love you!

  5. We seem to have a bad case of ruler-syndrome. But not forever, right? 🙂 God bless you, Larry, as you submit and look to Him each day!

  6. Redeemed and ruled by Jesus . . .it sounds like a good tag to put on my forehead, so I remember it! 🙂
    God bless you as you pray and stay with your Ruler, Jesus!

  7. I am thankful God rules over me, for without His Loving Hand I would be forever lost…
    May He bless my darlin’ Deb over and over today, for sharing His Word with all of us!
    Love you 🙂

  8. Oh Bee . . .you are so right! I was not doing a good job ruling over myself and doubt I would be here yet if not for His rule and loving Hand on my life! 🙂 I love seeing Him through you!
    God bless you, beautiful Bee, and be with you today in strong and loving ways.
    love you too! 🙂

  9. Deb, This reminded me of the Campus Crusade for Christ illustration of who is sitting on the throne of our lives. Is it Christ, or is it us. Sometimes, as the Israelites show, we want to have an earthly ruler that we can easily see (and perhaps blame when things don’t go right). But truly we must allow Christ to reign as He rightly does! Peace, Linda

  10. I could see that, Linda . . .wanting to have someone to blame when things go wrong. Praying that He reigns for we can’t go wrong with Him ruling us!
    God bless you as you lift His name today!

  11. I love this, Deb! When I was in my no church season, and still kind of am, but getting better…I was so grateful that it isn’t meant to be that the ‘leaders’ in the church are needed to lead us. God still does, and they are simply mentors in my view. God never intended for His people to be led by any other than Himself. I am glad we get to go to Him directly even while we learn from others.

  12. I am glad for that too! I can be such a follower, such a sheep, that I wonder if He fully intended for me to be outside the regular church setting so that I could lean more on Him instead of others.
    God bless you, Angel A and all the ways you look to Him to reign over your life!

  13. […] of the Bible from beginning to end, and is currently in Judges. Her Monday post was titled “Who Shall Rule?” It’s a great question. In the Bible passage Deb was working from, the Israelites […]

  14. “as unto the Lord”…that is the phrase that came to mind as I read this post. I f I can just keep it in the front of my mind obedience will come much more easily. 🙂

    That poem was powerful…I liked it! 🙂

    Love,
    Theresa

  15. Oh wonderful woman of the Word . . .that is a perfect phrase to have come to mind where this is concerned. 🙂 See how you got your name? Love it and you! God bless you as you stay mindful of Him always!

  16. Reign, Jesus reign! Thanks Debbie! God bless!

    Paulette

  17. God bless you, Paulette, as you bring a praise party with you wherever you go! 🙂


Comments are closed.

SAND DOLLAR SEASON

PENNY POEMS and OTHER WORDS...

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Broken Believers

For Rascals, Failures, Clumsy Disciples, the Addicted, and the Physically and Mentally Ill Believer

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

