Who Are You?

“And the Angel of the Lord appeared to him and said to him, ‘The Lord is with you, you mighty man of valor’.” Judges 6:12

The true reality about who we are is in how God sees us.

Oh Lord, I desire to listen to who You say I am today and to do what You want me to do. And here’s a simple poem . . .

You Are More

Gideon was called
a mighty man of valor
while he hid and threshed wheat
on a winepress floor.

We may all be the least
in our fathers’ houses
until He comes in
and we’re made into more.

20 Comments

  1. Deb, what a wonderful, solid way to remind us of the truth about the seemingly ordinary lives of so many of us. In Christ, they are all special-we are all special. We may not be special to very many humans, but we are each special to Him, and how He manages to know about us intimately, down to the hairs on our head and our tears just baffles me!

  2. and I thought this was going to be something to do with Roger Daltrey.
    πŸ™‚

    salt and light -thats what this is

  3. Hi Debbie, you are God’s servant in whom He is being glorified Isaiah 49:3.

    Bless you heaps
    Roger

  4. Thank you Dearest Delightful Deb!

    A beautiful poem, a wonderful prayer and a lovely song!!! Thank you for the wonderful start to my day πŸ™‚

    “Oh Lord, I desire to listen to who You say I am today and to do what You want me to do.”
    Amen πŸ™‚

    “We may all be the least
    in our fathers’ houses
    until He comes in
    and we’re made into more.”
    Gideon is the person I refer to whenever matters of faith arise. He wasn’t Abraham and He wasn’t Thomas… He was just Gideon who needed to be convinced that God was really speaking to him. God met Him at the point of HIs need and ‘made Him into more’… πŸ˜‰

    I don’t always feel like I can handle life situations well but I am thankful that He meets me at the point of my need. I like being defined by Him. Would be nice if we allowed the same for others.

    Lovely song!! I am “More than the choices I have made… I have been remade! ” I like the idea of being / doing more simply because of the change He has made in me!

    Thank you, Deb. I think this one has my name on it!

    More in Him,
    ann

  5. Deb, WOW, you added a video! I had never heard this band before, though I’ve heard of them. Thank you for sharing the song – I really like it. πŸ™‚ And it fit perfectly with the verse and your poem. We have been made new by Jesus and are so much more than what we could ever be without Him. We don’t need to hide on the threshing floor, but by His power can get out and do His work. Peace, Linda

  6. “…The true reality about who we are is in how God sees us…”

    God sees us as the finished product of His longsuffering works within us. That’s why He could look at Gideon and say that He was a mighty man of valor because He proclaimed what Gideon would become.

    Thank God, this is how He sees each one of us believers. Otherwise, we’d have to be nailed to the cross every second of the day.

  7. Thank you, Angel A, for being the very special person that He has made you to be! I loved how you shared about Him knowing us intimately, because we often think when that happens, then someone won’t really like us. Not if they knew everything. But He isn’t just someone . . .He’s our God and Creator!
    God bless you as you live for Him, pleasing Him, today!

  8. Sorry to disappoint . . .:) Oh no, now I have Roger’s song going on in my head. haha!
    God bless you, hero, and the salt and light you are for Jesus!

  9. As are you, Roger! Thank you for that beautiful reminder!
    God bless you and move in you mightily today!

  10. Oh Ann full of more and more grace . . . thank you for your comment, full of joy and excitement too! I think Jesus has His name all over you. πŸ™‚
    God bless you as He defines you by His love today!

  11. We had kind of talked about this earlier, on one of your posts about seeing God and here I had been thinking about how God sees us. And I loved the part about how we don’t need to hide. What He has made is good! πŸ™‚
    God bless you as you go out in His power each day!
    p.s. Glad you liked the song. πŸ™‚ It’s one they play on the radio, where I hear most of the music I listen to . . .except when you have music Mondays! πŸ˜‰ And Ann and Theresa leave grace print songs in the comments!

  12. What a powerful comment, Larry. There is something about Him seeing us as the finished product and proclaiming what Gideon would become that really gets my attention. Thank you!
    God bless you and how He sees you today!

  13. Thanks Debbie! I am so grateful He has made me more than I understand of myself. I love the song πŸ™‚

  14. God bless you, Pastor J, and all He has made you to be! πŸ™‚ You are more than you can imagine!

  15. I am weak at times and wish my deeds would go noticed, but I know being a mom and wife should be enough; it is so easy to desire more, knowing God loves us no matter what.

  16. Debbie, I believe in living every day as though Jesus might come back today, and as though He might not come back for a thousand years. Keeps my mind focused both on doing right in the NOW, and taking care of our planet for the next generations, doing things I think Jesus would do were He walking the earth. Thanks so much for this humbling reminder, and blessings, Amy

  17. Oh Elizabeth . . .I know that feeling all too well. I think it’s hard for us to see all He is doing through us . . .we may not know here and now. But I do know that God notices you and all that you do, and you are a delight to Him! πŸ™‚
    God bless you, sweet and amazing lady!

  18. Amy, I love your ability to do both . . to live like this is your last day and like you have a thousand years. πŸ™‚ That is another of your special gifts that He gives you as you do what He asks you to!
    God bless you as you serve in His name!
    love you!

  19. Sometimes we not only see ourselves as ‘too small’ but ‘too great’ as well. False humility and false pride can blind us as to who we really are in God’s eyes — better than our ‘great’ selves πŸ˜‰

  20. So true, sweet Rea . . .I forgot about that! πŸ™‚ Reality check time.
    God bless you and who you really are in Jesus! love and prayers!


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

