Will You Go Too?

” . . .Has not the Lord God of Israel commanded, saying, ‘Go and deploy troops at mount Tabor; take with you ten thousand men of the sons of Naphtali and of the sons of Zebulun;” Judges 4:6
“and against you I will deploy Sisera, the commander of Jabin’s army, with his chariots and his multitude at the River Kishon; and I will deliver them into you hand’?” Judges 4:7
“And Barak said to her, ‘If you will go with me, then I will go, but if you will not go with me, I will not go’.” Judges 4:8
“‘I will surely go with you; nevertheless there will be no glory for you in the journey you are taking, for the Lord will sell Sisera into the hand of a woman.’ Then Deborah arose and went with Barak to Kedesh.” Judges 4:9

Barak was more concerned with who he’d have with him than who would get the credit.

Oh Lord, we desire to go where You go today, for the sake of Your glory. And here’s a simple poem . . .

To God

Don’t want to be afraid, Lord
to go out on my own

nor do I want to hog the work
for fear of being lesser known

so let me always defer to others
and applaud their talents and gifts

giving You all the glory
Your name to forever lift.

20 Comments

  1. oh I knew you couldn’t leave this one alone ha ha

    Deborah was one tough lady but Barak did kind of force her hand (
    pun intended) .

    I like the way you handled both sides of the coin here.
    Church folk(some of them Christians even) get pretty crossed up with it ,that includes me.

    ps

    I am having a problem with some clients paying up.
    Could you come along πŸ™‚

  2. Deb, you are a wonderful example of what it means to be an encourager.

    Love,
    Theresa

  3. Thanks Deb!
    “Oh Lord, we desire to go where You go today, for the sake of Your glory. ”
    I so pray !

    Where He sends me may not be where I want to be , but ” I will go in Jesus’ name”!

    What Theresa said πŸ˜‰

    Blessings
    ann

  4. Deb… you’re an “armour bearer” if that means anything to you? Armour gets heavy and tiring… the one who carries it in between someone else’s battles get’s no glory or recognition… it might seem like thankless work… but our LORD and FATHER knows what you do for others.
    Thanks you and blessings on your “simple” life from Susan…
    (though I’m sure it’s not THAT simple LOL!)

  5. Hero, you make me smile! πŸ™‚ You knew I’d get to this, eh? haha! I wish I was like that Deborah, but in truth, you’d be better off taking one of the dogs with you to convince those clients. I’d end up paying for them. haha!
    God bless you and the work of your hands, as you go in and out today. And please Lord . . .make them pay. πŸ˜‰

  6. Thank you, wonderful woman of the Word. God bless you as you bring us His comfort and love. . .THAT is so encouraging!!!!
    love you and am thinking of you!

  7. Ann full of Jesus grace, you do go in Jesus’ name and it is such a testimony and witness to Him. Maybe why we see so much of His grace in you?
    God bless you and way you shine for Him!

  8. Susan . . .that was a beautiful encouragement to me! Thank you! Knowing He sees us doing whatever He’s called us to do, and so doing it to please Him, brings much joy. πŸ™‚ Believe me . . .my life is pretty simple!!!! ha!
    God bless you as you work for Him and for His glory and honor!

  9. Deb, what an encouragement! Thanks! πŸ™‚

  10. God bless you, Ted, and the way you encourage us and worship Him through your photography! There are so many ways to be encouraging, aren’t there? πŸ™‚

  11. Deb, I love how you end the poem with giving all the glory to God, to whom it rightly belongs. πŸ™‚ Peace, Linda

  12. You are sooo right about that. He is the one who gets the credit! And you are so good about giving Him the glory all the time! Thank you for your example and leading in that! πŸ™‚
    God bless you as you point us to Him today! I’ll be going with you!

  13. Deb, I love the fact that the man said he would not go without the woman at his side, and that she knew some truths that he didn’t quite “get” at the moment. There are so few times in the Bible where men defer in any way to women, and this is one. Deferring to others and applauding their gifts is a true sign of humility and giving credit to God, not to oneself. A lovely poem and Scripture, Deb. Thank you. Love, Amy (and these poems are NOT bummers at all!!)
    http://sharplittlepencil.wordpress.com/2011/08/25/twofer-haiku-heaven-sent/

  14. Amy . . .I know what you are saying about this. πŸ™‚ God bless you and how you do this deferring so routinely, asking us to go check out other poets and their work! And I can attest that these poems are definitely NOT BUMMERS. So go on and see what Amy’s been writing. πŸ™‚
    God bless you and the call He has put on your life!
    love and prayers!

  15. O Lord, let my will be lost in Thine! Amen!

    Another great message! Thank you Debbie! God bless you!

    Paulette

  16. God bless you, Paulette, as you praise His name and live within the shadow of His wing!

  17. >> “giving You all the glory
    Your name to forever lift”

    “And I, when I am lifted up, will draw all men unto Me” [John 12:32] Yes, I know this was said in reference to His death, but it is also true in other ways. When we show forth His glory, He will draw men to Himself.

    We give HIM all the glory simply because of ourselves, we have none. We are nothing and can do nothing, but He is everything and can do everything and He chooses to work in and through us.
    What an amazing God!

  18. I love that verse with this post, Angela! Thank you for that and for reminding how amazing He is and how He is everything and can do everything!
    God bless you as you love and trust Him to be your everything today!

  19. You are God’s angel Deb. God’s love comes out in what you do πŸ™‚

  20. That is how I see you! πŸ™‚ God bless you and give you a hug for me today!


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/β€˜Religion’s’ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soul’s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

