Why Have You Done This?

“I led you up from Egypt and brought you to the land of which I swore to your fathers; and I said, ‘I will never break my covenant with you’.” Judges 2:1
“And you shall make no covenant with the inhabitants of this land; you shall tear down their altars. But you have not obeyed My voice. Why have you done this’?” Judges 2:2

Why indeed? I have nothing – no good reasons or excuses – as I come before Him.

Lord, please forgive me for not always walking in obedience to You. I desire to not compromise You in anyway nor accept anything into my life that You don’t want there. And here’s a simple poem . . .

No Other

I remember what You said to me
then doubt I rightly heard

and it’s a dangerous game I play
with such a Holy word

not that You won’t forgive me
not that mercy doesn’t abound

but the thought that I have grieved You
brings me face down on the ground.

19 Comments

  1. This poem really touched me.

    >>”but the thought that I have grieved You
    brings me face down on the ground”

    Among the saddest words in the Bible are “they limited the Holy One of Israel” (Ps 78:41) To think that we – His created beings – can limit Him! What a tragedy! O how we must grieve Him. He has given us everything we need to live victorious Christian lives, honouring Him, and yet we fail to reach the potential He has for us.

  2. Deb

    This is beautiful. Thank you for sharing. Wonderful way to start my Monday and my week.

    Reading your poem made me want to “fall face-down on the ground” and seek His forgiveness for walking away from what He spoke to me.

    “Lord, please forgive me for not always walking in obedience to You. I desire to not compromise You in anyway nor accept anything into my life that You don’t want there.”
    Praying alongside you.

    Blessings,
    ann

    Hillsong – Change My Heart Oh God.

  3. How often have I disappointed the Savior who gave Himself for me? “Yet His stubborn love never lets go of me”, as Kathy troccoli once sang. I am so thankful as I bow in confession and repentance. Thanks for this post Deb!

  4. Deb, you’ve touched on something that I have been meditating on for some time. God doesn’t ask us, He tells us. Our choice is to obey or not.

  5. Thank you, Angela, for being so sensitive to His Spirit and His voice. In doing so, you help us to live that way too! God bless you as you press on with Him!

  6. Obedience is difficult for me…sadly, I too often must repent of this rebelious nature. Your poem hit this heart that has been blessed with His mercy.

  7. Thank you, Ann full of grace, for that beautiful song to go with this . . .for being my co-writer. πŸ™‚
    So thankful for His forgiveness, for Him listening to our desires to increase in our love and obedience to Him.
    God bless you and the song you are for Him!

  8. That is so beautiful, Pastor J . . .that we can bow in confession and repentance, that He doesn’t let us go. Praying to see more and more my sin and disobedience so that I can run to Him with it.
    God bless you and your heart for Him!

  9. Oh Ted . .. you did it again. He doesn’t ask, does He? He makes it as plain as possible for us. It’s we who complicate it to accommodate our disobedience.
    God bless you and your choice to believe, obey and follow Jesus!

  10. Dear Patricia . . .I love your honesty and I love that blessing of His mercy too. Need it each day!!! God bless you as you turn to Him today and receive all that He has for you!

  11. Deb, This is a wonderfully convicting poem. “I remember what You said to me.” I do remember what He has said, but sometimes I don’t do it. I don’t necessarily doubt, I just don’t always obey. I am thankful that He forgives, that mercy abounds, but the thought of grieving Him does humble me. As I write this, the ways in which I struggle to obey come to mind. I am a work in progress and am glad He won’t give up on me. Peace, Linda

  12. I’m so thankful He doesn’t give up on us , too, Linda. Praying that the thought of grieving Him helps me to stop and consider long and hard before I decide to not do something He wants me to. . . and helps me to obey quicker and quieter.
    God bless you and the work you are for Him!

  13. Even your powerfully convicting poems, like this one, are saturated in His grace and mercy, yet no less convicting. I love seeing Him here, in your words!

  14. Angel A, you show us His grace and mercy with your comments and encouragements! πŸ™‚ I’m so blessed to have you here, cheering me on. Praying that your week is full of His grace and mercy too, that He cover and surround you, keep you and lift you up! πŸ™‚ Just like you do me each time you are here! πŸ™‚
    love and prayers!

  15. Hi Debbie,

    Such a powerful message of conviction, of grace and mercy, of forgiveness, and the love of our Lord and Savior for His people! I’m so grateful, that the Lord loves me in spite of my failures to walk in obedience to His perfect will. I praise Him, for loving me enough to afford me the privilege of going boldly to the throne of grace, that I might obtain mercy and find grace to help in time of need!!

    Thank you, Debbie! May the Lord continue to bless you, and may His face ever shine upon you!

    Paulette

  16. God bless you, dear Paulette, and your heart of worship for Him. I love how you highlight that no matter what, He loves us and we can come to Him. That is a privilege indeed!
    Thank you for shining His light here!

  17. I understand. I feel that way, too…yet I “I” still have some bad habits. Thank you for this post.

    Love,
    Theresa

  18. Me too, dear Theresa, me too. Thank you for understanding! That’s the Jesus in you!
    God bless you this day, as you go out on a new time in your life (one that would make me quake in my boots) and be your everything! love and prayers!

  19. Thank you Deb! It was such a wonderful day!

    Love,
    Theresa


Comments are closed.

SAND DOLLAR SEASON

PENNY POEMS and OTHER WORDS...

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Broken Believers

For Rascals, Failures, Clumsy Disciples, the Addicted, and the Physically and Mentally Ill Believer

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

