Delivered to Drive Out

“Who shall be first to go up for us against the Canaanites to fight against them?” Judges 1:1
“And the Lord said, ‘Judah shall go up. Indeed I have delivered the land into his hand’.” Judges 1:2
“And it came to pass, when Israel was strong, that they put the Canaanites under tribute, but did not completely drive them out.” Judges 1:28

The land was delivered, but the people in the land would need convincing.

Lord, I desire to drive out everything in my life that You have already delivered me from. And here’s a simple poem . . .

Of Deliverance

All You desire
for us is good

and You know
our human frailties

leading us not
into temptation’s hands

but out of sin’s
destructibilities.

Hey wonderful readers! Thank you for joining me and teaching me through your comments! I forgot to mention yesterday that it was my last post from Acts and we’ve moved back to the Old Testament, The Book of Judges. God bless you and your journey with Him!

15 Comments

  1. This blessed me so much Deb. I learned that when the Lord directed us to move we must move. Resistance only makes it more painful. Most of the times we not only remain stuck but struck as well.

    Thank you for another blessing you share to so many 🙂

  2. Hi Deb,
    How awesome it would be to have God tell you that you will conquer, you will win. What a great way to go into battle, knowing the outcome before the beginning. Even after all of this, disobedience. I hear God through the Spirit, (when I am listening), and it too is great. More subtle, but I get the nudge, and the assurance that I am doing what He wills.
    Three small scriptures, but a powerhouse of inspiration packed in, Thanks Deb, and God Bless-Jim

  3. I’m still learning, sweet Rea! One thing I noticed is that it helps me to not wait and ponder too long . .. even though that kind of goes against what we humanly think is smart. I need to “do it” when He says to.
    God bless you and the blessing you are! 🙂

  4. “I hear God through the Spirit and it too is great.” Thank you, Jim, for coming at this from a perspective that says we can do it . . .we can listen and have His assurance that we are moving within His will. Love that!
    God bless you and the inspiration you bring us!

  5. Debbie, I believe our frailties are what makes us human. Lower than the angels, helped by the Holy Spirit – but there’s that niggling free will, tempting us to do the wrong thing.

    Evil shouts in one ear; God whispers in the other. We need only turn to silent prayer to plug evil out! Blessings, Amy

  6. Beautiful, Amy. Your comments are like poetry! 🙂 I think the thing about frailties is that they keep us humble. And that’s always a good thing. Just hard to see my own humanness (human mess) sometimes.
    God bless you as you lean into the whispers!
    love and prayers!

  7. I heart – “for leaving us not into temptation –but out of sin’s distructibility.” Oh how he does lead – oh how we don’t follow enough. I heart the book of Judges – the only book of the Bible that ends on a sour note. And of course I hearted your whole poem – always simple like you say – but always deeper than you think :). God bless and keep you Debbie.

  8. It kind of sounds like the prayer you pray . . .see how you rub off on me? 🙂 Trusting Him to show me how to encourage throughout the book of Judges. Some chapters have to be read and reread and prayed about awhile, in books like this!
    God bless you as you continually seek your Deliverer!

  9. This was a great poem and post. Thank you.

    Love,
    Theresa

  10. Thank you, wonderful woman of the word, for your support and encouragement, your love and friendship! God bless you and your family as you lift Him up today!
    love you!

  11. >> “out of sin’s destructibilities”
    Satan is a master at camouflaging sin and making it seem attractive, but you have pinned the truth here.
    Sin is ALWAYS destructive. It can be nothing but destructive.

    Praise God for His promise that sin shall not have dominion over us and that when we submit to God and resist the devil he will flee from us.

    What an amazing God!

  12. Beautiful, Deb! God does want only good, but it often isn’t easy!!

  13. Thank you, Ted! Our version of “good” is a little different than His! God bless you as He does good to you today!

  14. I love that too, Angela, that He always makes a way for us. 🙂
    God bless you as you praise and worship Him today!


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/‘Religion’s’ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soul’s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

