Bitten

“But when Paul had gathered a bundle of sticks and laid them on the fire, a viper came out because of the heat, and fastened on his hand.” Acts 28:3
“So when the natives saw the creature hanging from his hand, they said to one another, ‘No doubt this man is a murderer, whom, though he has escaped the sea, yet justice does not allow to live’.” Acts 28:4
“But he shook off the creature into the fire and suffered no harm.” Acts 28:5

We all get bitten in life. Others watch to see what will happen next.

No matter how much venom we get struck with, Lord, we desire to shake off anything the enemy tries to hang on us that would harm our relationship with You. And here’s a simple poem . . .

Bind Us

The pain is so intense
beyond what we’ve felt before

we begin to go numb
not able to pray any more

we want to escape this
but just can’t find the door

Oh Jesus, come bind our hearts with Yours
show us how to walk this patch of floor.

22 Comments

  1. Deb,

    Thanks much … this is deep, way, way deep!!

    “No matter how much venom we get struck with, Lord, we desire to shake off anything the enemy tries to hang on us that would harm our relationship with You”
    Praying alongside you.

    We get bitten – not because of anything we did wrong but sometimes “life happens”, sometimes it’s so He can be glorified. Either way, He is still in control and there is nothing that can harm us without HIs permission.

    Blessings to you, Dearest Delightful Deb. Your ministry has taught me much but this week is off the chain!!. I thank you for sharing these gems with us. May God continue to speak through you as you bring words of healing and encouragement.

    Blessings,
    ann

  2. Beautiful, Deb! Thank you. šŸ™‚ And through it all, we must remember that others are watching! Out actions are our testimony to an unbelieving world.

  3. Thank YOU so much, Ann full of grace, for being here and encouraging us with your faith and love. Thank you for reminding us that no matter what we get bitten by, He is still in control. Nothing separates us from His love.
    God bless you and your ministry of His grace and truth.

  4. I know that is kind of hard to think about, right when something happens. But we don’t have to think about it, or put on an act, because He is with us and will sustain us and show us what to do. šŸ™‚
    God bless you, Ted, and the testimony you are!

  5. Deb, Your poem may be short, but it is far from simple. Once again you have captured so much in so few words. There will always be periods in our lives when we just can’t seem to see the light of day and struggle to pray and find it hard to hold onto Jesus. It is then that He holds onto us, binding our heart with His. He will either show us how to walk “this patch of floor” or carry us across it to the other side. Sometimes the patch is long and other times it is short, but no matter He is there. It is good to remember, as you have pointed out, that others are watching to see what will happen and how we will come through. If we come through a trial with faith and point to Jesus as our source of strength, others will be blessed. Peace, Linda

  6. I love that . . .that others will be blessed if we come through a trial with faith and are able to point to Jesus as our strength. We experience the blessing of getting through with Him and then it is multiplied to others.
    God bless you, as you take these simple truths and poems, and multiply them into more, for Jesus!

  7. “…not able to pray anymore.”

    I always remember the time you told me that a short prayer like “God help me!” was a good prayer, and good enough.

    Yes, it gets hard sometimes, but it’s nice that we’re all hanging onto Him together.

    Great poem, comforting thoughts. Hugs to you… : )

  8. P.S. I like being the last one to check in… less of a daily devotion, but always a great bedtime story!

  9. Hugs to you too, as you keep praying, long or short! šŸ™‚ I love that we are together in this and no one gets left behind.
    God bless you and comfort you, lift you and shine upon you!
    love you!

  10. I like to be the last to check in too! I always learn from others comments and they help me know what to say. ha!
    God bless you and sweet dreams! šŸ™‚

  11. WHen the trudge across a certain surface seems hard, I meditate on the way Jesus walked with that cross. It gives me courage and strength to remember all he did for us. This was lovely, Debbie, thanks and blessings, Amy
    http://sharplittlepencil.wordpress.com/2011/08/19/three-prompts-three-poems/

  12. Amy, you are so wise and wonderful and have walked many tough patches of floor, so share from experience. Thank you! Now each time I find myself wondering how to walk, I’ll think of Jesus” walk with the cross! šŸ™‚
    God bless you and your walk with Him today!

  13. Your poem were my thoughts for so many moments of my life. It’s painful not to bite the enemy back with my own venom but in the end it is more painful to have spread that venom — more painful to hurt the Lord. Huggggs šŸ™‚

  14. Oh I so know what you mean. . .and others may even counsel us to do so! So thankful that He does take care of us even when it hurts. God bless you, sweet Rea, as you please Him today!

  15. Thanks Deb.
    I especially like the last line – “show us how to walk this patch of floor” – because we know that there isn’t a single patch that He doesn’t know and understand. There are patches that ONLY He can navigate and He is ALWAYS ready to show us the way.

  16. Thank you for understanding about those patches of floor that only He knows how we should get across. šŸ™‚
    God bless you as you walk with Him and talk with Him each day!

  17. “No matter how much venom we get struck with, Lord, we desire to shake off anything the enemy tries to hang on us that would harm our relationship with You.” I love what the Lord causes you to see!

    We do need our hearts bound…they are prone to wander. He longs for our hearts to be bound to him, so we know that this is a petition according to His will. šŸ™‚

    I am so glad the Lord has bound your heart and shares his comfort and riches with you…so glad you share it with us. šŸ™‚

    Love,
    Theresa

  18. Thank you so much, Theresa! You added a dimension that I wasn’t fully considering. I love that! You speak of our hearts being bound to keep them from wandering and how that is according to His will, those kind of prayers that He answers. šŸ™‚ I was thinking about our pain being bound, as in wrapped up, by His heart that heals, that knows of wounds and pain.
    God bless you, wonderful woman of the word, as your heart stays close to His!
    love you!

  19. “But he…..and suffered no harm.”
    I’m sobbing…in the past two months I have been “bitten” but rather than stand up, I crawled in my shell and waited.
    Waited until I could get home and figure it all out.
    God has a wonderful way of getting my attention, and reading your poems has got my attention in a good way!
    I missed you, my darling deb.
    Thank you for being a constant source of inspiration…and peace.
    love you!
    bee

  20. Beautiful Bee! I’m so glad you are home, but not glad you’ve been bitten. You’ve had too many bites in your life already. There is nothing wrong with waiting until you can figure it out! I need lots of time to wait before Him and hear what He wants me to know. And when you’re hurting I think it’s harder to hear sometimes.
    God bless you, precious Bee, as He ministers to you today and binds you with His love.
    love and prayers!

  21. Amen.

  22. Amen-ing your amen, Greg! Thanks for being here tonight. It was good for me to read through these comments again. I love what each person brings that adds to the little I write. God bless you and your walk with Him!


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

