In The Shelter Of

“When we had put to sea from there, we sailed under the shelter of Cyprus, because the winds were contrary.” Acts 27:4

A good shelter must be large enough to cover us and stronger than what we seek shelter from.

Lord, we thank You for being our Shelter and Tower of Refuge – big enough to cover all Your children and stronger than any adversity that we might face. And here’s a simple poem . . .

Port of Salvation

Waves of doubt overwhelm us
the sea is far too vast

yet we’ve set sail and our ship
is speeding forward fast.

How can we reach our destination
who could possibly survive

without the salvation of our Jesus
and the shelter He provides.

15 Comments

  1. “A good shelter must be large enough to cover us and stronger than what we seek shelter from.” I like that Deb! I am so thankful we serve a bigger God!

  2. God bless you, Pastor J, as you seek the One who shelters and also sends out!

  3. I have been feeling a little overwhelmed the past few days. Yesterday and this morning was even a little more intense.

    it is just magical how the Lord can take us from a place of fear to a place of comfort and calm in just a matter of seconds. He did that for me just now as I read your post.

    Love you, Deb.

    Theresa

  4. What a beautiful devotion!! Jesus is always there to shelter us, if we will just allow Him to. Unfortunately, to often I don’t “have enough sense to come in out of the rain”. Thanks for the reminder that I must seek the shelter of Him!

  5. Thanks Deb,

    Thank you for this, Deb.

    His timing is perfection. Your obedience is appreciated.

    “How can we reach our destination
    who could possibly survive

    without the salvation of our Jesus
    and the shelter He provides.”

    We can’t …. not one of us can survive without Him.

    Psalm 91 is one of my favourite passages…. I like the idea of dwelling “under the shadow of the Almighty” … Any other shelter will surely crash and burn – or sink…

    Lately He’s been teaching me the importance of sticking to His agenda. If I step out from under His covering, I have to deal with the consequences. I am intent on living under His shelter!

    Blessings,
    ann

  6. Deb, I love the rhythm of this poem, and the message, too! We can’t spend our whole lives in port – we must set sail to wherever He leads us. But thankfully He is big enough to be our shelter and refuge in any storm. ๐Ÿ™‚ Peace, Linda

  7. Love you too, Theresa. Thinking of you and praying too, that He shelter you from the stress and be your constant guide and help as you go each day!
    God bless you, wonderful woman of the word. You are brave and strong in Jesus!

  8. I can forget that too, Ted . . .to in fact take shelter. He’s there waiting, but where am I? ๐Ÿ™‚
    God bless you as you seek Him today!

  9. Oh my, Ann full of grace and song . . .what a beautiful song to add here. Thank you! ๐Ÿ™‚ I hadn’t heard it before either, so I’m newly blessed!
    Psalm 91 is one of my favorites too. Thank you for adding that as well!
    You are kind of like my co-writer! ๐Ÿ™‚ I love that!
    God bless you and keep you under the shelter of His will!

  10. Thank you for pointing that out, Linda. We can’t stay docked forever! haha! With Jesus, we have a mobile shelter. ๐Ÿ™‚
    God bless you and be your shelter today!

  11. Hi Debbie,

    I missed this post. I’m glad I found it, because it was a blessing to me! Thank you so much for a needed reminder, that God is a strong shelter, in the midst of every storm I face, no matter the severity of it! I know He can handle it! I’m thankful for the privilege to call on the name of Jesus in times of trouble, because the name of the Lord is a strong tower, the righteous runneth in, and are safe! Praise God!

    Thank you for this encouraging word today, and every day!

    Paulette

  12. Dear Paulette, thank you for commenting . . . you who know about His strong shelter in the storms. You lead us to Him and His protection by example!
    God bless you and encourage you today, as you encourage others in Jesus!

  13. No matter where we are or what problems and dangers we face, the SAFEST place for us is in the centre of God’s will and when we are there, there is ALWAYS the shelter that we need – always sufficient and never insufficient.
    And the best part is coming out of the shelter a renewed person, a stronger person, because He has used the experience to “grow” us.
    What an amazing God!

  14. Every time I read something from you, Angela, be it post or comments, I learn. Thank you for sharing in such a thoughtful way, that we might see Him more. This time you have added about growing in the shelter of Jesus to come back out stronger and better.
    God bless you and your ministry to us all! You are such an amazing lady for Christ!

  15. Thank you Debbie, but the truth is that my Father God is so amazing and His work in me has changed me from a most unlikeable person to an instrument He can use.
    What an amazing God!


Comments are closed.

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/โ€˜Religionโ€™sโ€™ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soulโ€™s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

