Of Complaints and Such

“When he had come, the Jews who had come down from Jerusalem stood about and laid many serious complaints against Paul, which they could not prove . . .” Acts 25:7

The enemy lays out some serious complaints against me each day.

Lord, I am so thankful that Satan’s accusations have all been forgiven me and washed away by Your blood. And here’s a simple poem . . .

Back At Ya

Much is said
as accusations

attempts to take
each believer out

tossed like hand grenades
that Jesus catches

diffusing bombs
of fear and doubt.

23 Comments

  1. Amen! That old accuser of the brethren…

    Thank you so much for these great words of encouragement. They are so true! 🙂

    “31What shall we then say to these things? If God be for us, who can be against us?

    32He that spared not his own Son, but delivered him up for us all, how shall he not with him also freely give us all things?

    33Who shall lay any thing to the charge of God’s elect? It is God that justifieth.

    34Who is he that condemneth? It is Christ that died, yea rather, that is risen again, who is even at the right hand of God, who also maketh intercession for us.

    35Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? shall tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or peril, or sword?

    36As it is written, For thy sake we are killed all the day long; we are accounted as sheep for the slaughter.

    “37Nay, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him that loved us.

    38For I am persuaded, that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor powers, nor things present, nor things to come,

    39Nor height, nor depth, nor any other creature, shall be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” Romans 8:31-39

    I just couldn’t resist. 🙂

    Love,
    Theresa

  2. Thanks Deb

    This is lovely!!

    Something about this poem makes me want to go ‘YAY!’ :-).

    ( Gotta get my dancing shoes on! I hear a whole bunch of songs from His Word running through my head. )

    He that the son has set free is free indeed!
    I can stand in His presence for He stood in my place!
    No weapon that is formed against me shall prosper!
    I am redeemed!

    And all I have to do is let Jesus take care of what is thrown at me… He went to the cross to pay the price for me….”that’s love”!

    Do check out Paulette’s latest post when you have a moment 😉
    http://pbus1.wordpress.com/2011/08/12/what-a-debt-i-owe/

    Thankful,
    Ann

  3. No weapon that is formed against you will prosper; And every tongue that *accuses you in judgment you will condemn. This is the heritage of the servants of the LORD, And their vindication is from Me,” declares the LORD. (Isa 54:17)

    This is my catch-all scripture for accusations against me.

  4. Catching handgrenades!!
    wow
    I do like this,such a great illustration.

  5. Thank you, thank you, thank you wonderful woman of the Word! I’m so glad you couldn’t resist! 🙂
    God bless you and all you are in Him!

  6. Ann full of Jesus grace . . .you have me smiling so big! Love you and your dancing shoes and heart of joy and songs that sing out about Jesus! 🙂
    Thank you for Paulette’s link! I did read that one and loved it. Maybe someone else here will now too!
    God bless you and the song you are for Him!

  7. Yep, that does cover it really well! 🙂 Thank you for sharing Isaiah with us and God bless you as He covers you this day!

  8. I’ll keep reading you to get more of that imagery into my writing! 🙂 God bless you, hero, and block anything that comes against you for harm today!

  9. Deb, Jesus is my righteousness and I am so thankful that Satan cannot prove any of the accusations against me because I have been justified – declared just – in God’s courtroom. All because of my Jesus! 🙂 It’s so simple, just like your wonderful poems, but it is sad that so many cannot grasp this wonderful truth. Peace, Linda

  10. I love that we can say that, “I have been justified”, because of Jesus! 🙂 What peace and joy He brings into what would be chaos and condemnation.
    God bless you as you help others grasp onto the truth today!

  11. Hi Debbie

    “The enemy lays out some serious complaints against me each day.”

    I’m glad you know it is the enemy. Lots of our bros & sis think it’s them, and it keeps them down. Whatever the enemy tells me, I meditate on the exact opposite … the Lord expects me to. Praise God for Romans 8:1.

    Love the poem.

    Roger

  12. So blessed to have you here, Roger. 🙂 I just love that, to meditate on the exact opposite . . .you have given me a tool to start using! Thank you!
    God bless you, Roger, as you continue to put Him first!

  13. Debbie, I’m not going to link you to my latest because I’m afraid it might offend some of your readers. I just wonder… does God really take sides? What about in war? The God of Abraham is worshiped by Jews, Muslims, and Christians, and yet we have drifted so far from God as brothers and sisters… just a thought, and a prayer for peace, Amy

  14. Amy, thank you for being so thoughtful. I would hope no one would be offended and that they go check out your poem anyway. 🙂 I love that you make me think about my faith and what I believe. And that He brought me to you, to grow and stretch me. I am thinking about your wonder . . .does God really take sides? Something about that term “taking sides” sounds petty and we know God isn’t that. But is He truth and justice? Yes. Will and does He judge us? Yes. Is He also love, mercy and grace? Yes. Thinking about when the children of Israel were led out of Egypt . . .it would appear He took sides there. And when they inhabited the land and had to drive out the people there? God was on their side. His word says that He is for us. But also that He so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son . . .that none may perish. I guess God is on His own side, and we can be on His side too, if we choose. 🙂
    I read a wonderful quote today by Rachel DiPaolo . . .
    “The promises of God are His to give , and not yours to create”
    Rachel is at http://stirringthedeep.com
    Rachel makes me think too!
    God bless you, Amy, and all that He leads you to wonder and discover in Him!
    love you!

  15. Debbie, you are above all things kind. Actually someone from your commenters looked me up and also had interesting things to say. There’s a book called, “Who Speaks For God?” And the answer is, God, as well as Jesus, in the Gospels. But I also think God speaks through us when we are at our very best…

    I truly appreciate your love and support. I’m what you might call an “uncomfortable Christian,” in other words, I don’t take the calling lightly or assume anything. I’m just as at home with a loving atheist as I am with Jews, Muslims, anyone, really. And that is my witness to the world, I suppose! Love, Amy

  16. Amy . . .you were on my heart today and I thank you for coming back! 🙂 I do think you have a special witness and unique calling. I really do. Not many can do what you do, the way you do it, and to me it shows a confidence in who you are in Christ. You are not threatened by what others believe. You are not alarmed. In that way, you ARE a comfortable Christian . . .comfortable for others to be around! 🙂
    Thank you for your understanding and the grace that you extend to everyone! love you and your big heart . . .and Jesus loves that too!

  17. What an amazing Saviour!
    I like the way you put it – catching hand grenades.
    Because of Him we are MORE than conquerors and satan is a defeated foe.
    What a Saviour!

  18. Thank you, Angela for the “more than conquerors”! I love that and it certainly fits!
    God bless you and your love of Jesus!

  19. “Hand grenades” is perfect!! Thank goodness Jesus has been deflecting the bombs because I have been dodging them lately. (My trip was difficult and challenging and I’ve come home feeling I’m off my “game”)
    Oh, to be sharing thoughts again with my deb just calms my spirit…I thought of you every single day 🙂
    Praying you and your family are enjoying the summer.
    Missed you!
    love & hugs,
    bee

  20. Oh my beautiful Bee . . .I had no idea about the bombs. 😦 I’m so sorry that it was like this. Having bombs lobbed at you can definitely throw one off their game!!!
    I feel so blessed and am boohooing that you would think of me. And I want to make sure we can stay in touch better, okay, if it will help in anyway?
    You were missed too! And thank you for your prayers . . .we do enjoy the summer and are trying to cram in as much as we can. ha!
    God bless you and love on you today! I love you too!

  21. You read my mind…I’ve been thinking of emailing you for quite some time; maybe that way we can stay in touch and “talk” a little more.
    You are special to me! Now I am boohooing 🙂

  22. E-mail it is! 🙂 Let me grab the tissues first though . . .

  23. Yea!! 🙂
    BTW, I shared this poem and the message it contained to a friend that lives in my apartment complex….we were enjoying lunch by the pool…a perfect 75 degree sunny southern california day. She loved the grenade reference! Thanks again for your inspiration, my deb 🙂


Comments are closed.

SAND DOLLAR SEASON

PENNY POEMS and OTHER WORDS...

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Broken Believers

For Rascals, Failures, Clumsy Disciples, the Addicted, and the Physically and Mentally Ill Believer

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

