A Convenient Time

“Now as he [Paul] reasoned about righteousness, self-control, and the judgment to come, Felix was afraid and answered, ‘Go away for now; when I have a convenient time I will call for you’.” Acts 24:25

There will never be a more convenient time than right now to believe Jesus.

Lord, please help those who hear of You today make a decision to follow You and not wait a minute longer. And here’s a simple poem . . .

How About Now?

Now is
the right time

this moment
is the best

to welcome Jesus
into our hearts

to accept His love
and rest.

22 Comments

  1. Check out these extracts from my collection –

    http://grimke.wordpress.com/2011/06/15/fr/

  2. Deb, I like the way you mention accepting His love and rest. Typically, we are encouraged to ‘accept his salvation’ or ‘what He did for us on the cross,’ which is so true. Yet, I like the way you point out that what we get with that salvation is His love and rest-both very relational, personal, refreshing, soothing gifts-true gifts of life. The focus ‘just’ on salvation from sins can sometimes make it seem like it ends there-we have the stamp on our wrist, and are then just shuffled into some kind of holding mode until ‘heaven’ or whatever. Instead, He gives us salvation which ushers us into the availability of His love and rest and restoration, etc., etc. I love the ‘wholistic-ness’ of that!

  3. Thanks, Deb 🙂

    “There will never be a more convenient time than right now to believe Jesus.”

    Running about trying to get this and that done. Lining up plans to our suit… is time in our hands?

    I am reminded of the rich man in St Luke 12 who decided to tear down his barn and build bigger ones to store his yield. He wasn’t aware that his soul was ‘required of him’ that very night.

    Now may be the only option … “today is the day of salvation”. 2 Corinthians 6 2

    Praying alongside you that the responses will be now. We don’t know when the last tomorrow will be but I have a feeling it won’t be long.

    Blessings,
    ann

    My all time favourite group – The Winans – Tomorrow.

  4. Oh Deb…

    I just finished typing a reply to your comment on my most recent post, and decided to come over here and read your post for today. Oh my…

    I thank the Lord. This post was sooo appropriate. 🙂

    Love,
    Theresa

  5. Thank you, Bill, for letting us know about your book and your work! God bless you as you write!

  6. Angel A . . you bless me so much. I looked at that after I wrote it and thought, “is that right? is it strong enough?”. There is so much to Jesus that salvation brings. Thank you for helping us see that it can get a little stiff if we just focus on the word salvation instead of thinking of what all He saves us from and gives us in place of what is taken away. Love and rest must have been some of the things I had on my heart when I wrote this! 🙂
    God bless you and the holistic way He covers you today.

  7. Oh Ann full of Jesus grace and songs . . .thank you! As I read your comment, I feel a nudge that even though I believe Him, now is the best time to listen and follow through on what He wants me to do, as well. It’s a very good time to do that!
    God bless you as you pray and seek and know Him more!

  8. I went back to read and I see what you mean. ! haha! He is soooo good and faithful, loving and kind. 🙂
    God bless you, wonderful woman of the word, and all the days and times that lie ahead!
    love and prayers!

  9. If you’ve ever heard R.W. Schambach tell his salvation testimony, it really agrees with your “now is the time” message today.

    Schambach, a Texan, was in the navy and walking down the streets of New York City by himself on shore leave. He passed a small crowd that was listening to a street preacher. Schambach intended on walking past the group when the street preached proclaimed in a loud voice, “Sinner!”

    Schambach always says, “Someone knew my name.” He then dropped to his knees and gave his life to Jesus. When he finished, he got back up and continued walking down the street. He never knew the street preacher’s name or talked with anyone in the group.

    Schambach went on to be one of America’s top evangelists.

  10. I love it when you share stories, Larry! Thank you! This is a great one and we are all blessed that he didn’t wait, but knelt right then and there to Jesus. 🙂
    God bless you and yours!

  11. Wonderful! I am one of those that heard the call and turned away over and over again. It amazes me the patience of Jesus with people like me. And saddens me that one day will be the last day and those who hesitate will remain forever lost. Sorta scares me that but for the grace of God it could have been me…

  12. I love His patience too, Patricia. And He still remains patient with me. wow! I think that a lot . . .but for the grace of God. I think He is using that time, the way you came to Him, to help others, because you understand about waiting and turning away. Okay, now you have me doing the “I think” thing here. 🙂
    God bless you and your heart for those who are waiting for a better time.

  13. Evangelism can be a tough one. While I’m so happy to be a believer, I think about (obsessively) those who I love who don’t know Him.

    It’s not that He’s being rejected, but I am with my attempts. It’s a challenge I don’t know how to solve. Great topic and poem! : )

    Any ideas?

    P.S. I finally replied to your comment at “Shoes…” A typical Linda oversight, I swear… Just wanted to tell ya.

  14. God bless you, lovely Linda, and your love of Him and your desire to see your loved ones love Him too.
    I will share something, but it might not apply to you, okay? It’s about it not being Him that’s rejected, but you. I understand this, as I haven’t seen much happen with my attempts here. And it’s just so easy to think it’s gotta be me doing stuff wrong. And maybe it is. ha! But here is something that He shared with me. He said that it IS Him who is being rejected. And that I can expect to be rejected too, because of Him. I don’t know if that makes it any easier or not though! Except to know that you are most likely doing fine in your witness. And I will keep praying for you and yours!
    love and prayers!

  15. “Now” is the only time we have. Yesterday is gone and tomorrow might not come – for the unsaved. How I pray that we will use our every “now” to witness, and that people will take heed of what might be their last opportunity.

  16. Hey Deb,

    Ann brought this post to my attention because it relates so closely to the post I wrote yesterday (especially “A’s” comment above).

    I just wanted to say that I had to smile when I read your comment here because I felt the same way when I wrote “What We Have In Christ – Part 1”. While proofing my post I just kept thinking, man, I sure hope nobody misunderstands where I’m coming from!!

    We never want to downplay the importance of the eternal life we have in Christ that Salvation brings, but there is so much more to Salvation than that! As “A” mentioned, sometimes the idea is given that after we accept Christ we just wait around until we die, idling our time away in a holding pattern.

    Salvation is “holistic” in that God gives peace to our hearts, joy, patience, love, hope, the Holy Spirit, and safety from His wrath and judgment. All of this and life eternal when this life ends…how awesome is that? 🙂

    I praise God for the unity of what His Spirit is showing us. The series from Romans 5 that I will be posting throughout this week deals with exactly this topic.

    God bless you, Deb, and thank you for sharing with us what the Lord is showing you 🙂

    To God goes all glory,

    Loren

  17. Thank you so much, Angela, for looking at it from the other side too . . .for us to know that now is the time to share Him as well as accept Him. 🙂 You are such a treasure to all of us who come into contact with you. God bless you as you use His time for His glory!

  18. Thank you, Loren, for coming by and supporting, encouraging and sharing the wisdom and understanding God has given you! 🙂 I appreciate you so very much! Waiting and anticipating a time to read your post! 🙂
    God bless you, Loren, and all you do for the glory of God!

  19. Deb, We always assume there will be tomorrow, and next week, and next year. But when it comes to faith in Jesus procrastination is not a good idea because today may be judgment day. Thanks for another great poem! Peace, Linda

  20. You are so right about putting off making a decision for Jesus with our lives! We might be okay procrastinating on some things, but not this one! God bless you, Linda, and I’m so glad you are back!

  21. I love this post so much that I have a direct link to it in my blogroll. Whenever anyone clicks on the name of your blog in my blogroll they are taken to this particular post. 🙂

    I am so thankful that the Lord in His infinite mercy and grace blessed me with the privilege of becoming friends with you. Anyone who has you for friend is rich beyond measure!

    Love,
    Theresa

  22. Hey beautiful one! You are going to make me cry . . .and I posted about smiling today. haha! So thankful for you, for the gifts that He has given you, for the friendship and love that you give to me! So blessed and praying for YOU to be so blessed too!
    love and prayers!


Comments are closed.

SAND DOLLAR SEASON

PENNY POEMS and OTHER WORDS...

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Broken Believers

For Rascals, Failures, Clumsy Disciples, the Addicted, and the Physically and Mentally Ill Believer

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

