Hearing His Voice

“Now those who were with me indeed saw the light and were afraid, but they did not hear the voice of Him who spoke to me.” Acts 22:9

What we see with our own eyes and understanding can be frightening until we hear Him speak into it.

Lord, thank You for Your voice and word that changes how we see what we see. And here’s a simple poem . . .

Until He Speaks

What we see can frighten us
to the very core

leaving us afraid of what
else might be in store

until we remember that You see
and know what’s happening

listening for You to speak
comfort and understanding.

16 Comments

  1. Hey Deb! Like you I am listening for His comfort and understanding. He always brings it!

  2. Amen! Wonderful, Debbie! Seeing without understanding often leads to fear. Lord, help me to see and to understand that I might know You more.

  3. I know we hear a lot about not getting too comfortable, that it’s a bad thing. But I’m hoping/needing His comfort when things are uncomfortable!
    God bless you Pastor J, as you listen!

  4. Thank you for your prayer here , Ted! Knowing Him and hearing Him helps take away that fear. God bless you as you know Him more and more, and help us to too!

  5. Unless I hear the voice of the Lord for my circumstances, I see myself as a sheet hanging on a wash line, blowing in whatever direction the wind is blowing. In those times, I don’t walk in faith. Yes, I have hope and trust in Him, but I have no faith to move forward.

    Thank God, He eventually speaks and faith arises within me again.

  6. Deb, I love this reminder to stay close to Him, knowing he knows and understands all things. This does help eliminate or reduce the fear.

  7. This is another great one!

    Love,
    Theresa

  8. That’s a good analogy, Larry! thank you! Then I imagine you like a ship and that sheet your sail, when He speaks and faith arises and off you go. 🙂 God bless you and thank you for sharing your faith that helps us hear Him better too.

  9. So thankful with you, for Jesus, and all the ways He helps us. God bless you Angel A as you stay close to Him!

  10. Love you, Theresa! God bless you as you hear His voice today!

  11. Hi Debbie,

    This post was a blessing to me! Sometimes what I see is frightening, but I thank God for His quiet voice, a voice of comfort to me!

    God bless you!

    Paulette

  12. I can tell you hear Him quite regularly, because He certainly directs how you see and flavors it with His comfort and understanding, peace and love. God bless you for then sharing what He shares with you! love you!

  13. Thank you, Deb

    “Lord, thank You for Your voice and word that changes how we see what we see. ”
    I had to do a medical test on the day you posted this. I read your poem and went off to the doctor’s. They tested and retested ( I wasn’t surprised). I don’t know the results but I trust God that He is able to change how I see what they show me.

    Thanks for this comforting poem and the beautiful prayer. I choose to see through His eyes.

    Blessings much,
    ann

  14. Dear Ann full of grace and hope . . .I don’t know what to say. I am praying with you and for you, that God will change all that needs changed and see you through this under His ever watchful and loving eyes. God bless you as you choose Him over what you see around you.
    love and prayers!

  15. What a wonderful comfort it is to KNOW that God knows everything that happens and that He is in control, and that He will use whatever happens for our benefit.
    Why should we fear? Although the circumstances might encourage us to fear, our God is above all circumstances – and He only desires the very, very best for us.
    Thanks Debbie for the reminder to focus on HIM and listen to HIM no matter what.
    Angela

  16. Thank you, Angela, for building us up in Him! Your comments are like posts to me. 🙂 Full of praise and glory to your Jesus.
    God bless you as you focus on Him today!


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

