Supposing

“(For they had previously seen Trophimus the Ephesian with him in the city, whom they supposed that Paul had brought into the temple.)” Acts 21:29
“And all the city was disturbed; and the people ran together, seized Paul and dragged him out of the temple; and immediately the doors were shut.” Acts 21:30

How often do I suppose things about others that simply aren’t true?

Thank You, Lord, for always being true and Someone we can believe. We desire, with Your help, to suppose something good about each other today.
And here’s a simple poem . . .

Supposing Something Good

Suppose someone thinks I’ve done a wrong
that I didn’t do
how much time and energy do I spend
to convince them it’s not true?

So to keep from more distractions
I will suppose only good things
trusting and believing first and foremost
in the glory of my King.

18 Comments

  1. It’s all distractions alright! Keeps us from God…
    We haven’t got the time to justify ourselves… and we haven’t got time to be interfering in what others are doing… just be about the LORD’s work!

  2. Amen Susan! 🙂 I love how you tell it like it is! God bless you and the work He has given you!

  3. Thank you, Debbie! 🙂 Isn’t it amazing where our assumptions will lead us? If I look to see Christ in someone first, I can only see Truth.

  4. Debbie, just love this message and how you expressed it!!!!

  5. I really don’t know what other are thinking. Why am I so prone to forget that? Thank you so much for reminding me to not “Lean to my own understanding”…to practice what I preach.

    The poem was great, too! 🙂

    “5Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding.

    6In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.

    7Be not wise in thine own eyes: fear the LORD, and depart from evil.

    8It shall be health to thy navel, and marrow to thy bones.” Proverbs 3:5-8

    I am so glad the Lord brought you into my life. I can come here when I don’t have time for a lengthy devotion, and always be directed to the Lord.

    Love,

    Theresa

  6. “And all the city was disturbed…”

    If you are able to disturb a whole city and end up with the same results as Paul, more power to you.

  7. So easy to play the “I know you” game. So easy to be wrong. Let’s all learn to play “I know the good of you” game. I think the Lord would be pleased.

  8. That is a wonderful practice to put into play . . .to look for Jesus first. 🙂 I can think of numerous times I supposed the worse and was so wrong. yuck. God bless you, Ted, as you look for Christ!

  9. Angel A . . .love you! So glad He blessed you through this! 🙂

  10. I love you being here too! 🙂
    Thinking about what you said and wondering why I think I know stuff I don’t too. I’m thinking for me, it becomes a pride thing and a control thing. I don’t want to be tricked or fooled. more yuck. I have seen a situation that was going sour turn out so different if I just drop the supposing.
    Love the scripture you left here, dear woman of the word!
    love and prayers!

  11. Oh I agree! 🙂 God bless you, Larry, as you disturb what needs disturbed in Jesus name!

  12. I think the Lord would be pleased too, Patricia! 🙂 God bless you as you think good of others today!

  13. Thank you, Deb.

    Beautiful piece. Much to take away…

    I will chew and swallow.

    Blessings,
    ann

  14. Thank you for encouraging me, Ann full of Jesus grace, in that gracious way He gives you. 🙂 God bless you as you consider Him and all the good He is in your life and others.

  15. This was definitely me throughout my childhood – and sadly it still happens occasionally.
    On the other hand it is sooooooooo good that we always know what God is thinking: He is wanting to spend time with me and bless me abundantly.

    What an amazing God!

  16. Oh yes He is thinking of you and wanting to be with you and bless you, Angela! Love that! I’m supposing He is smiling over you right now! 🙂
    God bless you and cover you in His love today!

  17. Deb, Your poem is excellent advice on how to live a godly and content life. How often do we assume others have thought ill of us, when they had no such thought? We base our impressions on external cues, thinking they’ve been rude, when if we could see into their hearts they are more likely hurting and distracted by something we know nothing about. If we instead assume they think well of us and pray for them how much better the world will be. Peace, Linda

  18. I love that, Linda, to assume they think well of us and pray for them. 🙂 That would indeed make for a difference in this world. God bless you as you think the best of others!


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

