Talking vs. Non-talking

“Now the Lord spoke to Paul in the night by a vision, ‘Do not be afraid, but speak, and do not keep silent; for I am with you, and no one will attack you to hurt you; for I have many people in this city’.” Acts 18:9-10

Somehow I have trouble imagining Paul being afraid to speak.

Lord, please let me know when to keep silent and when to speak up. And here’s a simple poem . . .

Waiting To Hear

Am I afraid
or is there a reason

why I haven’t
said a word?

To be sure
I will listen

and speak if He says
I should.

20 Comments

  1. I too have difficulty imagining Paul afraid to speak.

    I also have difficulty understanding WHY I am so often afraid to speak. After all, God has promised to give me His words . . . and it isn’t really ME speaking . . . and He is there with me . . . and all His power is available to me . . . and . . .
    NO! There is no reason why I should be afraid but deep down I know it is a matter of pride. What will they think of me?
    God forgive me and use me to reach many with YOUR words given in Your way, in Your power.

  2. Pray for me that I will listen. πŸ™‚

    Love,
    Theresa

  3. Beautiful! πŸ™‚

  4. Hi Deb,
    It is so funny, because just yesterday, I was dealing with an issue, and deciding if I should just forge forward and open my mouth, or wait on the Lord to determine how He wanted me to handle it. Ultimately, I chose the latter, and it was the right decision. God Bless-Jim

  5. Pride is such sneaky stuff and I know that it has stopped me before. yuck.
    God bless your honesty and your voice that you use for Him today!

  6. Praying for us both! πŸ™‚ God bless you, dear woman of the Word, and all the ways He speaks through you today!

  7. God bless you, Ted!

  8. Thank you, Jim, for understanding and sharing about that! Just yesterday I opened my mouth and let something out that I shouldn’t have . . .and it was not HIM who told me to say it, I’m sure! 😦 I don’t want to be afraid to speak of Him . . . but neither do I want to speak when He knows it’s not the right time to or I don’t have the right motive and attitude to say what needs to be said.
    God bless you and all the times He asks you to speak or be silent!

  9. OMG!!

    Thanks, Deb … thank you, thank you, thank you!!!

    “Lord, please let me know when to keep silent and when to speak up.”
    I so pray!!!

    Blessings to you over and over again!
    ann

  10. I’m believing with you that He will let us know! And that we won’t be afraid to speak when it’s time.
    God bless you, Ann full of Jesus grace and His word and Spirit!

  11. Hi Deb
    I see from reading the other comments we’re not the only ones needing help in this area of our life LOL,but God is able and willing to help us Hallelujah!! Just knowing when to speak up or when to shut up,would make a great difference in the way we act.
    Love ya Deb πŸ˜€

  12. We all struggle with the fear of man. What will happen if we open our mouths? What will people think?

    And I’m sure Paul fought the same mental battles because he, like us, walked in the flesh. But Paul is our example of a believer who ran the race and finished the course the Lord set him on.

    We can do the same.

  13. Thank you for the great encouragement, Larry! God bless you as you run and speak at His request!

  14. It’s nice to not be alone, isn’t it? πŸ™‚ So thankful for His help and all the wise and wonderful people like you that share wisdom and insights with me along the way.
    God bless you, Pat!
    love you too!

  15. No question, God has taught me (as an answer to prayer) to be still and stay quiet. What a difference it has made, and the peace in my home today is a direct gift from Him. (Not perfect peace, but good relative peace, considering…)

    Thanks for the poem, Deb… one more thing for me to be grateful for tonight! Hugs… : )

  16. Linda . . .I can’t believe you wrote this. That is exactly what He asks me to do. But most would tell me that is NOT right. I can ditto the peace that is there when I do keep still. Trusting Him with you, that for some of us in some situations, silence is asked for. God bless you, wonderful woman, and the peace He gives you!

  17. I agree, Paul was never shy… although he was unable to SEE during his conversion!

    God gave us two ears and one mouth. I think that ratio is there for a reason, so we can listen for the holiness in others before we say something back. Also, so we can listen internally before we speak up, and think about whether the comment will help or hurt.

    I loved this, Debbie. Real food for thought. Blessings, Amy
    http://sharplittlepencil.wordpress.com/2011/08/08/a-new-day-sun-scribs-poetic-bloomings/

  18. Oh Amy . . .I love the ratio lesson!!!! Praying that I listen first and talk second. How I wish I could reel back in those words that hurt and don’t help. God bless you, Amy, and thank you for sharing your wonderful wisdom in Him here!

  19. Ok so I just visited Ann’s blog and commented on her post saying that I open my ears so I can hear when God is giving me directions,so I can follow and do the right thing.

    For some reason I was sent to your blog immediately after and saw this post.what a confirmation!

    Father,I thank you for that still small voice,that whispers wisdom to us.I stand and wait on you to do a complete work in me.I’ll say like samuel”speak lord,your servant heareth”.Show me when to speak and how I should do it.I pray that my words would not offend but bring life because I know life and death is in the power of the tongue.

    Thank you for being a faithful God and always walking with me.

    Deb,Thank you for listening and speaking by his command.This post touched my heart.I am blessed by it.Keep obeying him as he leads you into greater dimensions.

    Kenisha

  20. I read your comment at Ann’s, amen-ing as I went! πŸ™‚
    God bless you, our princess prayer warrior, as you listen and obey, speak life and live for Him! You display Him so beautifully, dear Kenisha! Blessed by you and your comments!


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/β€˜Religion’s’ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soul’s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

