Delivered From Expectations

“And when Peter had come to himself, he said, ‘Now I know for certain that the Lord has sent His angel, and has delivered me from the hand of Herod and from all the expectation of the Jewish people’.” Acts 12:11

We all live under a lot of “expectations”. I once asked God what HE expected of me. His reply . . .a right heart attitude.

Lord, please help us separate other expectations from Your desires. And here’s a simple poem . . .

Expecting Jesus

Unreal expectations
bring disappointment

stretching relationships
snapping them into

until we come expecting
of the One who is annointed

who never fails to tell us
the right thing to do.

14 Comments

  1. This speaks to me…was a wonderful confirmation. I am so thankful for you.

    Love,
    Theresa

  2. Thank you, Deb

    “Lord, please help us separate other expectations from Your desires.”
    Praying also we will release others from expectations even as we asked to be relieved.

    Unrealistic expectations (in human relationships) always end in disappointments.

    What Theresa said.

    Blessings much,
    ann

  3. “… from all the expectation of the Jewish people…”

    Most of us would like to be delivered of what other people expect from our lives. These burdens are often loaded on our backs by well-meaning relatives and friends. But of course, we will never live up to them. (Why we can’t even live up to our own expectations!)

    Thank God, the Lord is the final scorekeeper.

  4. I hate that expectations will do this:

    stretching relationships
    snapping them into

    However, I am seeing the beauty in seeking Him. No one else satisfies…we were created for Him.

    Thank you, Deb.

  5. Debbie – of course I hearted this poem. such a good reminder. This life – so full of unrealistic expectations – and we sometimes have unrealistic expectations of what Our Lord should do – but he never has unrealistic expectations of us. So simple – so full of wisdom – I so heart your stuff! God bless and keep you Debbie – and God bless and keep all of yours – and thank you – as always – THANK YOU!

  6. I’m so thankful for you dear woman of the Word and all that He confirms and carries out in your life. 🙂 love you and am thinking of you!

  7. I love that prayer, Ann full of Jesus grace, to release others too, from expectations just as we want released. 🙂 Thank you!
    God bless you and bring you sweet encouragements today!

  8. Oh yes, Larry! 🙂 That load of expectations was exactly what drove me to God asking what He expected of me in lieu of it all! Obviously, I was failing. And I expected myself not to. ha!
    God bless you as He keeps score today.

  9. I hate that too, Michelle. I once had a principal tell me that we have to have expectations for our kids in order for them to learn. I still ponder that. ( it was about my special needs daughter, and their expectations were sometimes out of line with what she could deliver!) And in general, I have really backed off expecting too much of anything from anyone. It just seems better that way.
    God bless you and fulfill you as you seek Him today!

  10. Thank you Craig, for mentioning about our own unrealistic expectations of God. Yes, we do that too!
    God bless you, Craig, and your writing, your health and your kitty! I will be back to reading you next week!

  11. Debbie,
    This lesson about expectations is the one that I wrestle with over and over. Thank you for sharing this.

  12. Thank you Deb! I have experienced the world of “unreal expectations”. But God has always been faithful to tell me what to do and show me how to do it! I am so thankful for His deliverance. Thanks for the post:)

  13. Me too, Tammy! God bless you as He shows you what you are really suppose to do! 🙂

  14. I love how your relationship with Him is so tight! And that He does deliver us from those kind of things. phew!
    God bless you, Pastor J!


Comments are closed.

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/‘Religion’s’ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soul’s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

