Full of Faith

“And Stephen full of faith and power, did great wonders and signs among the people.” Acts 6:8

Stephen was one of seven chosen from the multitude of disciples to serve and over see at the distribution tables.

Lord, let us not underestimate Your power within us, regardless of our position within the congregation or place in life. And here’s a simple poem . . .

Like Stephen

Full of faith and power
in Jesus who was raised

doing signs and wonders
giving Christ all the praise

one among the multitude
gathered in His name

what keeps us from believing
that we can do the same?

We are house sitting again for the next couple of weeks, and I will try to keep up if I can! If I can’t, thank you for your patience until we get done! God bless you!

22 Comments

  1. Can’t you just kind of bring your computer over to the house-sitting house? My day seriously isn’t complete without your poetic devotions, you know. πŸ˜‰

  2. Thanks, Deb

    “Lord, let us not underestimate Your power within us, regardless of our position within the congregation or place in life”
    Amen. πŸ™‚
    The power that comes from Him is power beyond anything we can measure. I’ve witnessed more than my share of hurricanes. I thought that was as powerful as powerful gets until I saw what a tornado could do! . And still, the winds and the waves yield to Him … how powerful is that?!

    “what keeps us from believing
    that we can do the same?”
    You’re giving me reason to think πŸ™‚
    If we follow His blueprint we should be able to do the same (or greater) …yes?
    Are we following? Are we believing? Are we doing the same (or greater?)

    St John 14:12
    “Most certainly I tell you, he who believes in me, the works that I do, he will do also; and he will do greater works than these, because I am going to my Father.”
    Romans 8:11 “11 But if the Spirit of Him who raised Jesus from the dead dwells in you, He who raised Christ from the dead will also give life to your mortal bodies through His Spirit who dwells in you.”

    (Regarding your footnote :- I’ll sign that petition too!)

    Blessings much,
    ann
    πŸ™‚

  3. Oh Deb, this blessed me so much! Thank you.

    Love,
    Theresa

  4. Deb, When I think of Stephen I always remember him being stoned while Saul (Paul) stood by, and that he saw heaven open before him as he prayed for those who were killing him. I forget that his role in the church was not an “important” one like the apostles, but was the distribution of food among those in need. His was one of those thankless church jobs that don’t get much notice, at least n ot by others in the church. But he definitely got noticed by God and had the power of God within him through Christ. Thanks for the wonderful poem that captured this. And have a great time house sitting. You can do it! Peace, Linda

  5. Interestingly enough, the faith filled Stephen and his stoning became the gospel message to Paul.

  6. Deb, I love Acts 7, How Stephen responded to the Sanhedrin. He gave the most complete account of the history of Israel in the least amount of words in the first 50 verses. His knowledge was amazing, but in 51-53, he told them the truth, he didn’t sugar coat it to make it go down easier, and he faced the consequences. If that isn’t a great Bible hero, then who is. Thanks for this Deb. God Bless
    Jim

  7. Nor . . .you’re so cute! πŸ™‚ I thought maybe I could use theirs . . .but I can’t. But I do have to travel back home each day to take care of our stuff, so will try to post and respond to comments. Try. I just won’t get to read everyone for awhile. Now MY day isn’t going to be complete! God bless you!

  8. Oh our Ann full of Jesus grace . . .you finished my post so nicely, saying what I was thinking! Thank you! πŸ™‚
    His power is the same, but is my faith like Stephen’s?
    God bless you and all that He is doing through you today . .. powerfully!

  9. Dear wonderful woman of the Word. . .YOU bless me so much! love you!

  10. Thank you, Linda! We’re surrounded by dogs and cats and flowers again. Sweet! πŸ™‚
    I think about that too, that Saul/Paul was there . . .he heard that testimony. And also witnessed that same power that would come to Him as well. πŸ™‚
    God bless you, dear Linda, as you go out boldly for Him!

  11. I didn’t read this before replying to Linda above! You are so right. And surely that was what God had in mind! God bless you, Larry, and all your wonderful insights from Him!

  12. He had to know, didn’t he Jim, what was going to happen . . .but it didn’t stop him. Praying it doesn’t ever stop me either.
    God bless you and all He asks you to do in His strength today!

  13. Hi Debbie,

    When we have been endued with power from on high,we have within us the power to do wondrous works, all to the glory and honor of God our Savior! I thought to share the same Scripture which Ann quoted in her comment! When we have been baptized or filled with the Holy Ghost, we have the power to walk right, the power to talk right, and to live right! We have the power within us to live holy! May we tap into the power that lies within us, when we have received the precious gift of the Holy Spirit!

    Thanks Debbie! God bless you!

  14. I’m with Nor, way up there! ^^^^^

    Love your encouragement. Hope you’re enjoying your time “sitting.”

  15. That is a wonderful power, isn’t it? Thank you for getting me to think about “power” and signs and wonders a different way. Each person who has accepted Jesus, is a wonder and a sign unto Him themselves. πŸ™‚
    God bless you, Paulette, and I will be back to read and comment on your blog in a few weeks! πŸ™‚

  16. Michelle . . .you are so kind and sweet! It’s going good so far. πŸ™‚ Just a little crazy trying to go back and forth. But, it’s only for 2 weeks, right? We can do this! ha!
    God bless you and love on you today!

  17. What a lucky house! Your blessings and peace were left all about I am sure πŸ™‚

  18. It’s where we go to clean each week, only now we’re there for 2 weeks straight, with the 4 dogs, 2 cats and lots of flowers to water. πŸ™‚ I’m trying to clean all the things that I can’t get to each week when I come. And then run home each day to take care of our stuff yet.
    God bless you and yours, and your writing and cooking!

  19. How I wish you could come to my house too and bless us all with your presence. I can feel His power in you. Hugggs and love πŸ™‚

  20. You are such a sweetie! πŸ™‚ I would want to come and clean for everyone. Cook too, but I’m not that good of a cook. I’m running out of pizzazz here with another week to go. I think your hugs just re-energized me! God bless you and His power within!

  21. Not for house cleaning but spiritual cleansing. And we could experiment recipes too. How about faith-stuffed buns? Just because we have to believe that it will turn out delicious and filling πŸ˜‰

  22. I’m trying to unstuff my buns . . .teehee! Maybe we could come up with a recipe for that too? love you and the idea of spiritual cleansing!


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

