Expecting To Receive

“And a certain man lame from his mother’s womb was carried, whom they laid daily at the gate of the temple which is called Beautiful, to ask alms from those who entered the temple . . .”
Acts 3:2

The lame man sat and asked each day for what he thought he needed.

Thank You Lord, for not giving us everything we ask for, but instead being exactly what we need. And here’s a simple poem . . .

Walking, Leaping and Praising God

I think I must have more money
in order to get through

but You know what I really need
is to dance and walk with You

leaping and rejoicing
praising You throughout the day

no longer laying crippled
under the enemy’s sway.

I was thinking as I wrote this poem, that we could replace “money” with anything that we are looking at for help.

23 Comments

  1. Thank you, Deb. Any time I read about a lame man, I think about Marvin. He is a man about 60 years old in our church. He has been badly crippled since he was a child. He can barely walk and can’t speak well due to some childhood disease. But he loves the Lord and has been faithful to church since I can remember. I think that one of the greatest joys of Heaven for me will be to see him walk on the street of gold. Anyway, what we think we need is not always what we need. Thanks!

  2. Deb,

    This was just beautiful! πŸ™‚

    Love,
    Theresa

  3. great post and I am very encouraged by the Marvin comment above.

  4. Excellent post Deb, I am actually reading Acts right now, and we studied on that story the other day. How awesome to be made whole again after a life of pain. God Bless
    Jim

  5. One of my favorite stories. Great post.

    But here’s a thought: not only does Jesus know what we need, but He also knows when we need it. Why do I say this? Because Jesus probably, more than once, walked right by this man without healing him. There was a specific day and time of healing awaiting the man.

  6. A wonderful word, Deb! So often we confuse our wants with our needs. Ouf Heavenly Father always knows of our needs, we must learn to trust in Him, even is we don’t understand.

  7. Thank you, Deb!

    “Thank You Lord, for not giving us everything we ask for, but instead being exactly what we need.”

    Beautiful poem, beautiful prayer and wonderful comments!

    @ Larry ” But here’s a thought: not only does Jesus know what we need, but He also knows when we need it.”

    Thank you for this.

    Blessings much,
    ann

  8. He supplies our needs all the time at the right time.So as we learn to lean and depend on him,we will leap and praise him for he is timing is perfection and his blessings are unending.

    God I thank you that I can praise you inspite of the odds.I pray that as when the enemy tries to sway me that I’ll remember that you have defeated him already.

    Thanks Deb,you have leaping and praising.God is so good!

    Kenisha

  9. Deb, What an awesome poem! I love the ending:

    “no longer laying crippled
    under the enemy’s sway.”

    I am once again amazed at how He has orchestrated that our two posts would be connected in His truth. πŸ™‚ Wait til you read my poem “Darkness to Light.”

    I also really like Larry’s comment. I had never thought about that before, but I suspect one could find at least one place in the Gospels where Jesus passed by the gate called Beautiful, but did not heal this man, because He knew that when the man was later healed it would reveal that Jesus’ power through the Holy Spirit continued after His ascension. Peace, Linda

  10. Ben, thank you so much for sharing Marvin with us! That is so touching and to know that he is “walking” and dancing with Jesus right now, in His spirit! God bless you, Ben, as you receive what you need today!

  11. God bless you, wonderful woman of the Word, as you leap and dance with Him!
    love you!

  12. I loved hearing about Marvin too! πŸ™‚ God bless you, Hero, as you walk, work and write!

  13. I need to remember that too, Jim, that it may take a life time to see what we’ve prayed for. πŸ™‚ God bless you as you go through Acts!

  14. Thank you, Larry, for your awesome comments. πŸ™‚ I am thinking now about this, and how it applies to all of us. God bless you as you receive what you need today!

  15. Thank you for your wonderful comment, Ted! Yes, those wants and needs do differ. God bless you as you trust Him with it all!

  16. God bless you, Ann full of grace! I’m marinating in the comments too! πŸ™‚ Praying that He meets your needs today in wonderful ways!

  17. Thank you for your powerful, prayerful comment Kenisha! πŸ™‚ God bless you as you praise Him and all He is today!

  18. I can’t wait to go read your poem! πŸ™‚ God bless you and all that He is doing in your life today!

  19. Amen, amen! I enjoyed this comment!

  20. Hi Debbie,

    Praise God! This is such a beautiful poem, power packed with encouragement! It is wonderful to know, that God may not supply the need the way we expect Him to, but our God is sovereign and omniscient. He certainly knows exactly what we need, and when we need it! What a mighty, mighty God we serve! Bless His holy name!

  21. Paulette, I love your praise and worship packed comments! πŸ™‚ Your pain may not allow you to leap and dance, but your heart of love for Him sure does! God bless you as you bless us in His name!

  22. Wow! I felt energized and my heart danced when I read your poem! Praising God for you Deb! πŸ™‚

  23. I love the thought of dancing hearts! πŸ™‚ God bless you and how you worship and love Him!


Comments are closed.

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/β€˜Religion’s’ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soul’s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

