Advanced

“Now Joshua was old, advanced in years. And the Lord said to him; ‘You are old, advanced in years, and there remains very much land yet to be possessed’.” Joshua 13:1

God often worked through the older generations.

Lord, thank You for valuing and using those society overlooks. And here’s a simple poem . . .

To Those Remaining

There’s more work
yet to be done

and we’re so thankful
for those who’ve come

and lived their lives
in obedience to Him

an inheritance of faith
their sacrificial offering.

14 Comments

  1. “Now, Joshua, was old, advanced in years…”

    I relate to those words, but like Caleb, I still want my mountain which was promised to me. Happy 4th of July.

  2. Thank you Deb for this reminder. The Lord’s timing is so different than ours but always is best.

    Love,
    Theresa

  3. I love this comment, Larry! πŸ™‚ Every year advances us more. God bless you and yours this 4th of July!

  4. Oh yes . . .He’s the best! Always! Happy 4th of July, wonderful woman of the Word, and God bless all He has planned for you to do!

  5. Hi Debbie,

    Great post! Surely, God knows the plans He has for our lives, and He will use those who yield themselves unto Him, regardless of age! “Lord, thank You for valuing and using those society overlooks.” Beautiful! Our God is just awesome that way! May we follow His example! God bless!

    Paulette

  6. “He will use those who yield themselves unto Him” . . .that really captured me, Paulette! It doesn’t matter our age or position or culture or financial standing. Thank you! πŸ™‚
    God bless you and work through you in beautiful ways today!

  7. Thanks Deb,

    This is truly beautiful. Each life tells a story. Each chapter has purpose – whether or not we believe it. The paths we travel are easier because others paved the way. We each have a role to play.

    “Lord, thank You for valuing and using those society overlooks.”
    I read a book called The Power Of Blessing by Terry Bone. In the book he looked at each stage of life and taught on how we can bless those around us. He tackled the question some older adults think but may not ask “Am I still relevant?” … I echo your prayer.

    “An inheritance of faith” is one of the greatest things we can leave behind.
    Praying “those who come behind will find us faithful”

    Blessings,
    ann

  8. Ann full of Jesus grace . . .your comment has me crying today. And the song too . . .more boohoo’s. Plus I just came from your blog, so I’m a blubbering mess.
    I know my mom has wondered if she still can help anyone in anyway. She can and does! πŸ™‚
    God bless you and the faith tracks you are leaving each day!

  9. A great message from another who is hoping to still be relevant.

  10. You have relevancy written all over you, Tammy! πŸ™‚ I can’t see that ever changing. God bless you and thank you for the work that you do!

  11. My Deb,
    I’ve often wondered what my life will be like when I am much older, seeing as my poor spine feels as if it is already one hundred years old… πŸ™‚
    But one thing I know for sure…I will be spreading my joyous spirit with whomever I come in contact with, until I draw that very last breath.
    Love love love you!
    Bee

  12. That has to be such a trusting thing for you, knowing how you feel and function now. I love how you know what you will be doing, regardless of how old you are and what your body allows you to do physically . . .you’ll be spreading Jesus joy. My how you’ve encouraged me! Thank you so much!
    God bless you and all that He has planned for you!
    love , love, love you too! πŸ™‚

  13. There is no age limit to work in love and faith. I actually envision that I could bless and make more people happy in my old age. The bones may weaken but not the spirit πŸ™‚

  14. That is so true! We keep getting wiser in Him as we go along. And worry less what people think of us. πŸ™‚ God bless you and His strong spirit within you!


Comments are closed.

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/β€˜Religion’s’ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soul’s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

