Taking The Land

“So Joshua took all the land; the mountain country, all the south, all the land of Goshen, the lowland, and the Jordan plains – the mountains of Israel and its lowlands, (Joshua 11:16)
from mount Halak and the assent to Seir, even as far as Baal Gad in the valley of Lebanon below Mount Hermon. (Joshua 11:17)
Joshua made war a long time with all those kings. (Joshua 11:18)
There was not a city that made peace with the children of Israel, except the Hivites, the inhabitants of Gibeon. All the others they took in battle.” (Joshua 11:19)

Though chapter 11 of Joshua was a quick read, the reality of it lived out was much longer.

Lord, please prepare me and sustain me in the spiritual battles and warfare that happen everyday. And here’s a simple poem . . .

Like Oil and Water

There can be no peace
between good and evil
no making amends
no working things out.

Battles go on
and wars are fought
whether we realize
and like it or not.

14 Comments

  1. “Battles go on
    and wars are fought
    whether we realize
    and like it or not.”

    This is so true. I know this passage was about real battles among mankind, but I woke up a little while ago, and had a different battle on my mind. The battle of the flesh and the Spirit. We are to follow the Spirit and mortify the flesh. When I don’t manage my time well I put off drawing near the Lord in prayer and then I grow weak and my vision grows dim, and I stumble. It grieves me something awful. Thank goodness the Lord calls me and holds me fast. I might experience a broken heart, but praise God for breaking it!

    Thank you Deb for reminding me of the battle.

    Love,
    Theresa

  2. Unsettlingly true!
    Deb, we need more
    of Jesus’s and your view.

    (Guess who gave me permission to use one of her resplendent photos on my poetry site? — http://www.geoffpope.com/poetry/)

  3. Deb, I love the stark truth of your poem, and I think it is so cool that the title doesn’t appear in the actual poem.

    People always want peace, but they forget that there can never be peace between good and evil. And there is a lot of evil in the world. As children of God we should not even desire peace with evil, but rather should, like Joshua, go into battle to take the territory that evil has claimed in this world.

    This reminds me of a Newsboys song “When the Boys Light Up,” where it says “light and dark don’t coexist.”

    Peace, Linda

  4. Thanks, Deb 🙂

    Wonderfully thought provoking! Makes me wonder “how can two walk together unless they agree?”

    @ Linda … Nice song! We’re nothing but ‘conduits’ indeed.

    Blessings,
    ann

  5. Again Debbie, very true 🙂

  6. My wonderful woman of the Word . . .that is an altogether very real battle that goes on in each of us . ..all the time! I have time issues all the time too. I often say I’m time dysfunctional. I love what you said about having a broken heart, but praising God for breaking it! 🙂 Me too!
    God bless you as you draw near to Him, again and again.
    love you!

  7. I try to stay away from unsettling, but sometimes, there it is! ha!
    God bless you Sir Geoff, and your poetry with photos!

  8. Thank you so much for the song, Linda! Haven’t heard it and loved it. I think we get confused when we see people as evil, instead of just the evil itself. It can be complicated, but still, He will help us and will never ask us to make peace with evil. 🙂
    God bless you as you go forth in the power of God and His good.

  9. Oh yes, Ann full of Jesus grace, it does remind me of that verse! 🙂 God bless you and all that He is within you!

  10. God bless you, Eden, and your photography, that shows the good and beautiful that He has placed around us! 🙂 Congratulations on your photo up at Geoff’s site!

  11. We wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities and powers . . . whether we like it or believe it or not.

    Liked the post.

  12. Yes, Mike, that is it exactly. Reading through Chapter 11 here in Joshua made it sound like they just whipped through these battles. But then when it said, “Joshua made war a long time with all those kings” . . .that is us. We will be in warfare a long time. It used to kind of wear on me. Still does sometimes, But, it is what we do, in prayer.
    Thank you and God give you strength as you wrestle.

  13. Good morning, Deb!
    Until I became a Christian and studied the Word, I never really understood the fierce battle between good and evil. Once I realized my ex-husband was evil, I knew there was “no making amends, no working things out.”
    I needed to get myself and my children as far from him as possible, which I did… praise the Lord for His help as I struggled through those times!!
    Thanks for your insight…and thanks for putting up with me as I catch up with my favorite blog! I am preparing to visit my best friend for the summer and I’m feverishly working on a quilt for her; plus I have to pack… 😦
    Love you my darling deb!!
    Bee

  14. You experienced a very real and present evil that not all of us have had to deal with. So, so thankful that you got away from him, beautiful Bee . . .and are here today, sharing His light and good.
    Oh I’m so excited about you getting to visit your best friend for the summer! That will be a wonderful time, I just know it! And how like you to be working on a quilt to bring her! I just love that . . .but praying that all the work won’t be too much for you.
    love and prayers! And give her a hug from me, for being so good to you!


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

