Found Hidden

“But these five kings had fled and hidden themselves in a cave at Makkedah.” Joshua 10:16
“And it was told Joshua, saying, ‘The five kings have been found hidden in the cave at Makkedah’.” Joshua 10:17
“So Joshua said, ‘Roll large stones against the mouth of the cave, and set men by it to guard them’.” Joshua 10:18

I couldn’t help but notice the similarities of this situation to that of Jesus. These five kings went in alive, to come out and meet their deaths. Jesus, the One true King, went in dead, to come out risen and alive.

Jesus, thank You for entering the tomb of my heart and bringing me to life. And here’s a simple poem . . .

Out of the Dark

Hiding out in a cave
enveloped by the dark
hard to see past myself
without even a spark
until the Light compelled me
to step into its glow
and leave behind the dank dust
of yesterday’s false hold.

12 Comments

  1. Great comparison Debbie! And very true πŸ™‚

  2. God bless you Eden, as you “follow the light”. πŸ™‚

  3. Great analogy.

  4. Thank you, Deb

    Amazing word picture πŸ™‚

    “the Light compelled me
    to step into its glow…”

    Makes me want to bask into His glory.

    (Left to my own devices, I likely would have stayed in the tomb… Thankful for His love which reaches far beyond any pit I could have thrown myself into!)

    Thank you, Dearest Delightful Deb! πŸ™‚

    Blessings,
    ann

  5. This post was powerful!

    β€œthe Light compelled me
    to step into its glow…”

    …reminds me of these words:

    “Lazarus, come forth” πŸ™‚

    Love,
    Theresa

  6. Deb, I love the contrast you’ve shown between these 5 kings and Jesus. He did enter the cave dead, but came out alive. And He lives still and reigns on high!

    Your poem is wonderful, as always. This one really spoke to me as I know what it is like to have been in the dark cave only to be drawn towards the Light of life, our dear Jesus.

    until the Light compelled me
    to step into its glow

    Compelled, indeed! If He had not compelled me I would be in the darkness still. I am so thankful for His light that shines through you and your wonderful daily poetry. πŸ™‚ Peace, Linda

  7. Thank you, Larry, and God bless you as you live for Him.

  8. God bless you, Ann full of Jesus grace, for basking, and stepping and glowing and glorifying! You are a busy woman! πŸ™‚

  9. ooooohhhh . . .thank you, Theresa! There was another put into a tomb dead who was called out alive. πŸ™‚ God bless you, wonderful woman of the Word and all the ways He shines His light through you!
    love you!

  10. I couldn’t imagine still being in that cave, Linda! eeekkk! Even one of my bad days now is a million times better than a good day in darkness.God bless you and all He is doing in your life!

  11. “…of yesterday’s false hold…”
    Yesterday’s false hold is the life I led before I came to know Jesus…thank you so much, my deb, for reminding me of how wonderful the Light truly is!
    Love love love!!

  12. I need reminded too! As time goes by, and we get accustomed to the light, those days of darkness fade. That’s a good thing, but I don’t want to forget to be thankful all the time for it! πŸ™‚
    God bless you, beautiful Bee, and surround you with His love!
    love you too!


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

