When Deceived

“But when the inhabitants of Gibeon heard what Joshua had done to Jericho and Ai,
they worked craftily, and went and pretended to be ambassadors. (Joshua 9:3-4)
So Joshua made peace with them, and made a covenant with them, to let them live; and the rulers of the congregation swore to them. (Joshua 9:15)
And it happened at the end of three days, after they had made a covenant with them, that they heard that they were their neighbors who dwelt near them. (Joshua 9:16)
Then all the rulers said to all the congregation, ‘We have sworn to them by the Lord God of Israel; now therefore we may not touch them’.” (Joshua 9:19)

The children of Israel weren’t happy that the rulers had mistakenly made a covenant with a nearby people.

Oh Lord, I ask for grace when I’ve been deceived, in order to do what would please and honor You above my hurting pride. And here’s a simple poem . . .

Pleasing Him

Being made a fool of
over and over again
embarrassed and angry
wanting to exact revenge
but better pride be wounded
and we more humbly live
to please and honor
and give glory to Him.

12 Comments

  1. Very true Deb! Blessings!

  2. Oh, Deb…I needed to hear this one. If we are “preoccupied” with trying to avoid being deceived we really are not trusting the Lord like we should…not as sincere as we would like to think we are when we pray “Thy will be done.”. I have been a little afraid of making a commitment in a certain area of my life out of a fear of finding out once committed that things weren’t what they really appeared to be. I still believe I should go slow…wait on the Lord, but this post really made me think about my motives.

    Thank you.

    Love,
    Theresa

  3. “…I ask for grace when I’ve been deceived…”

    Me, too.

  4. Thank you, Deb

    Beautiful poem, beautiful prayer
    “Oh Lord, I ask for grace when I’ve been deceived, in order to do what would please and honor You above my hurting pride.”
    Echoing your prayer, Deb. Life seems full of pretentious people. Their less than honourable motives sometimes cause us grief.

    It’s easy to want to exact punishment but trusting Him to handle it is the believers response. He sees the whole picture at the same time. 🙂

    Blessings,
    ann

  5. God bless you, Eden, as you walk in grace today!

  6. Theresa . . .there is so much in your comment that I can relate to. None of us really want to be taken advantage of! And sometimes I can feel that I make Him look bad when I am. But maybe it is a worse witness to be too much the other way, cynical . . . This requires us to stay close to Him, doesn’t it? And that’s a good thing!
    God bless you, wonderful woman of the word and your desire to do His will!

  7. If it’s already happened, what are we going to do? Somehow being angry and vindictive doesn’t sound God glorifying. God bless you, Larry, and all the ways you glorify Him each day!

  8. Ann full of grace . . .I’m not real good at figuring out people’s motives, and what they really mean when they don’t say what they mean. I’m simple. So I have been deceived quite a bit. But, because He loves me and He knows my heart, He also protects and covers me in amazing ways. 🙂 God bless you as you trust Him today!

  9. My Deb, I was reading your reply to Ann and I see myself in what you said about being deceived. I used to think I was stupid or silly, because I was trusting and honest and I got hurt by those who play games with deceit and malice.
    Yes, I am simple…but I love that about myself, and I love you, too, for pointing it out to me! Very good post 🙂

  10. Beautiful Bee . . .your comment blessed me. Thank you for understanding and helping me to see that it’s not stupid or silly because we are that way. I just can’t function any other way. It’s not who I am. And my how He has stepped in for me and saved me from some pretty bad things. I love thinking about that, how He protects us and our trusting hearts. 🙂
    God bless you, Bee and be with you in amazing ways!

  11. Ha! I may have the right to take revenge but I am not taking it because it doesn’t feel right. All I want is to heal and feel better and I can’t achieve that in hell and being bitter 🙂

  12. It’s a beautiful thing when you have the right, but you give it up to God. 🙂 You are beautiful and a blessing to me!
    love you!


Comments are closed.

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/‘Religion’s’ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soul’s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

