Your Great Name

“O Lord, what shall I say when Israel turns its back before its enemies?” Joshua 7:8
“For the Canaanites and all the inhabitants of the land will hear of it, and surround us, and cut off our name from the earth. Then what will You do for Your great name?” Joshua 7:9

Joshua’s statement brings the saying, “it’s not about me” to mind.

Lord, we desire to glorify You today, and thank You for Jesus through Whom our sins are forgiven, and the Holy Spirit, Who indwells and guides us . . .for the sake of Your great name. And here’s a simple poem . . .

For Your Sake

Oh let us be willing
for the sake of Your great name
to lay aside the things of the world
and joyfully proclaim
that You alone are mighty
that only You can save
and so we stand in awe and wonder
at the glory of Your name.

15 Comments

  1. Thank you, Deb!

    A prayer, a poem and a song (all in one post?!) I think You’ve outdone yourself now!

    I stand in awe and wonder of our great God!

    Blessings,
    ann

  2. Deb, Your poem flows so wonderfully and perfectly as you proclaim the glory of His great and powerful name! I didn’t get a chance to listen to the song yet, but I’l bet it fits perfectly, too. This post is truly inspired and you are listening carefully to the indwelling Holy Spirit. 🙂 Peace, Linda

  3. The Israelites were always concerned about the name of God…if only we were so concerned today.

  4. This is great post, and the song is so perfect to listen to while reading it.:)

    Love,
    Theresa

  5. God bless you, Ann full of Jesus grace . . .and your awe and wonder of God! You inspire me! 🙂

  6. Thank you so much for encouraging me! Some of these chapters in Joshua I’m reading at night before bed and then again early in the morning and praying “help me!”. And He does! 🙂
    God bless you as you listen and follow Him today!

  7. Thank you, Larry, for that observation. God bless you as you lift His name today!

  8. God bless you, wonderful woman of the Word! Thank you for glorifying His name!
    love you!

  9. Oh Deb! This is so encouraging to be reminded of His place! When the war rages around us, He really is our only need and He is enough. I am grateful for this. Thank you, friend, for spreading the sunshine for us! It helps light the dark places!!!!! You are truly a beacon! Prayers and blessings for you for your current challenges, Debbie.

  10. You are an Angel of encouragement, A! Thank you for seeing something in these posts and making it better with your comments and graciousness. Praying for you too and knowing that God is blessing you every step of the way!
    love you!

  11. Thank you so much, Susan, for leaving a live version! 🙂 Love it! love you!

  12. Awwwwwwwwsome…miss deb!! My heart is full of joy as I sing along…
    with love, love, love,
    Bee

  13. Bee . . . .I figured out how to do it. hahaha! Kind of by accident, but I was so happy. It doesn’t take much to make me happy does it? 🙂 I think it was your sweet desire to show me how to do that when we meet . . .See how much good you do for me? Thank you!
    love your love and love you too!

  14. It is so much fun to learn something new, even if it is by accident! I knew you could do it!! 🙂
    BTW, I figured out how to do a slide show (with my handbags) quite by accident, too…and then I was so proud of myself…haha!
    You are right…doesn’t take much to make you or me happy…we are full of simple love in our simple lives (even though sometimes life doesn’t seem simple…but I think you know what I mean).
    Amazing how God brought us together and I am so thankful for your friendship…uh oh, the happy love God tears are coming……


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

