Marching Orders

“Now Jericho was securely shut up because of the children of Israel; none went out and none came in.” Joshua 6:1

Often when we have a problem that’s blocking us from moving ahead, we let it run around and around in our heads, exhausting us. God had the children of Israel march around the problem instead.

Oh Lord, we praise and thank You that whenever problems occur that try to keep us from doing what You’ve asked us to do, it becomes yet another opportunity for You to show Yourself strong and mighty. And here’s a simple poem . . .

Our Jerichoes

The situation seems impossible
like a done deal
there’s no way in or out for us
our emotions sag and reel.

But God has a way when
problems make us feel small
and by His strength and power
He’ll be glorified through it all.

12 Comments

  1. This is very thought-provoking and not just a simple poem for me. Thanks for this.

  2. Deb, I love, love, love this poem! And I love your thought about God having the Israelites march around the problem instead of letting the problem march around in their heads. When we let a problem march around in our head, that’s worry. It leads to fear and anxiety. It means we aren’t trusting God to take care of the problem. It’s better to set the problem squarely in front of God and ask Him how He will take care of it and help us through. Then He will be glorified, indeed! Peace, Linda

  3. This is such an awesome post!

    “God had the children of Israel march around the problem instead.

    Oh Lord, we praise and thank You that whenever problems occur that try to keep us from doing what You’ve asked us to do, it becomes yet another opportunity for You to show Yourself strong and mighty. And here’s a simple poem . . .”

    The Lord has been showing you so many things in His word…things that I don’t always consider, but are very much worth considering. Thank you so much for sharing this!

    Love,
    Theresa

  4. “The situation seems impossible
    like a done deal…”

    Doesn’t this usually seem to be the case for us? But thanks be to God who always leads us in triumph in Christ…

  5. I like that, Linda . .. setting the problem squarely in front of God! Has me thinking about everything being His . . .even problems!
    God bless you as you glorify Him today!

  6. I don’t always think of problems like this . . .so He always shows me what He knows I’m going to need. πŸ™‚ Also, He tends to have me do a post just prior to something happening in my own life where I will need it, but didn’t know it at the time I wrote it.
    God bless you as you ponder and consider the greatness of your God! love you!

  7. Oh yes it does seem the case! Time after time. In fact, nothing in my current situation or life should be working . . .but here we all are yet. πŸ™‚ God bless you as you praise Him through those impossible times!

  8. Thank you for stopping by and commenting! I guess these are simple in the way that they just say what they mean . . .some poetry can be very hard for me to “get”. ha!
    God bless you as you set your thoughts on Him!

  9. Thanks, Deb

    “Oh Lord, we praise and thank You that whenever problems occur that try to keep us from doing what You’ve asked us to do, it becomes yet another opportunity for You to show Yourself strong and mighty.”

    Amen. πŸ™‚ Praying alongside you. Loving the comments too πŸ™‚ What a beautiful conversation you have started!

    “But God has a way when
    problems make us feel small
    and by His strength and power
    He’ll be glorified through it all.”
    He always has a way… we don’t always see it or expect it but He has a way. The problems will make me feel small, but “His strength is made perfect in my weakness. I praise Him so!

    Trusting His direction,
    ann

  10. Thank you so much, Ann full of Jesus grace, for adding more . . .how His strength is made perfect in my weakness. πŸ™‚ So those problems aren’t looking so big right now. Not with my Jesus on duty and my blog friends standing by! πŸ™‚
    God bless you as you trust Him with it all!

  11. How amazing to know that through the worst of our difficulties, not only does the Lord work all things to our benefit, “He’ll be glorified through it all.”
    Leaves me speechless!
    To walk forward knowing all my problems are going to be used for His glory…well…I might as well look forward to them with joy in my heart!

    Thanks for the profound insight, my darling deb, you put a smile on my face πŸ™‚
    Love you with joy!
    Bee

  12. I can forget about that Bee . . .how He is going to use it all. None of our pain goes to waste with Him, nor our problems. πŸ™‚ Thank you for how you get to the bottom of things and showed me the joy in it all. Now I’m smiling lots too! πŸ™‚ Because of Him and YOU!
    love you, beautiful Bee!
    p.s. I have to add you to my blogroll! I totally forget about doing that as I go along! πŸ™‚


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

