Take Off Your Shoes

“So He said, ‘No, but as Commander of the army of the Lord I have now come’. And Joshua fell on his face to the earth and worshiped, and said to Him, ‘What does my Lord say to His servant’?” Joshua 5:14
“Then the Commander of the Lord’s army said to Joshua, ‘Take your sandal off your foot, for the place where you stand is holy’. And Joshua did so.” Joshua 5:15

I’m not sure if Joshua was expecting this to be the first thing the Lord would say to Him.

Lord, we desire to understand more about Your holiness. Please show us what attitude, behavior or habit we need to take off – as well as our shoes – when we come into Your presence and seek to hear Your voice. And here’s a simple poem . . .

Standing Holy

As I come into Your presence, Lord
to hear what You have to say

You show me I can’t enter in
just any old way

but must strip myself of the shoes I wear
that carry me around in pride

and any other lofty thing
that I harbor deep inside.

15 Comments

  1. Thank you, Deb

    “Please show us what attitude, behavior or habit we need to take off – as well as our shoes – when we come into Your presence and seek to hear Your voice. ”
    This is beautiful!! I’m learning to pray all over again. 🙂

    It seems I learn a new prayer each time I come here and I am thrilled to bits. Thanks so much for sharing these with us. I look forward to checking in here for my daily prayer tablet 😉

    I like the poem a lot too … I try to ask Him for forgiveness before I kneel but sometimes there’s something that hasn’t quite been resolved yet I kneel anyway.

    The shoes are visible so it’s likely easier to kick those off and run to Him but thanks for the reminder to “strip away”
    ” any other lofty thing
    that I harbor deep inside.”

    You so inspire my thoughts, Deb. There is so much that this ‘simple’ poem has caused me to think about this morning…. thank you.

    Blessings a hundredfold, Teacher Deb, Inspirer of good thoughts 🙂 I praise Him for the gift that you are.

    Thankful and Inspired,
    ann

  2. true so true
    I needed this today.

    peace

  3. Your comments inspire me! 🙂 I always think there is more in the comments than in the post. Thank you for that! Ann full of Jesus grace . . .you could read these and just move on. Or not even read them at all. But, you read them and take the time to comment and I thank Him for the gift of you as well! We can’t read and comment on everyone’s blog . . .as much as we’d like to. I’m blessed that He brought you to mine. 🙂
    God bless you as you pray and enter into His presence today!

  4. God bless you, hero, and give you peace in His presence! Thank you for being who you are for Him! 🙂

  5. I’m glad I’m reading this in my bare feet. This is one of your best. Thanks.

  6. God bless you, Larry, as you stay unmasked and barefoot before Him. His hand is covering you! 🙂

  7. Wow! That is an awesome poem! I love this:

    but must strip myself of the shoes I wear
    that carry me around in pride

    What a great reminder you have given us of what we need to do when we come into the presence of the Lord. We should be in such awe of Him that all else is cast aside so that His holiness is all that remains. Peace, Linda

  8. It has me wondering about those times that I don’t hear from Him . . .how have I approached . . .too full of myself . . .click clacking up in my power heels? ( ha! I don’t wear heels, but this is to make a point)
    God bless you and your awe of Him! 🙂

  9. I’ve never really thought about what the meaning of taking the shoes off could be, but your poem and a reading from the Law are converging in my mind. Remember how the Lord told the people to always be sure and pick up the poop (a gentler term than could be used) because He was walking through the camp to keep an eye on things…(really oughta find that verse)? Now I think I’m seeing a correlation…

    We are walking on this filthy, sin-ridden earth. It is cursed. It is not the Garden anymore. Is it just that simple? We need to take off our “filthy shoes” for we are standing in the presence of Holiness.

    I think I’m also seeing the need for confession before supplication…

    Thanks and Love, Michelle

  10. Oh I love your insight, Michelle! 🙂 Thank you so much . . .and I do remember Him walking through their camp. I think it might be in Leviticus. We are filthy and we do walk in filth each day. You have me thinking of how we take off our shoes in our own homes . . .how much more so in His presence?
    God bless you and hug you for me today!
    love and prayers!

  11. I just loved this one! We should always guard against taking that precious time spent in His presence for granted.

    “but must strip myself of the shoes I wear
    that carry me around in pride

    and any other lofty thing
    that I harbor deep inside.”

    …so true. It should be about him. I’m going to steal the words of the hymn writer here in saying that we should truly pause and “in awesome wonder consider all the works Thy hands have made”.

    Love,
    Theresa

  12. I love that, Theresa, that it should be about Him. 🙂 What a different attitude it creates when we go to Him like that hymn sings. God bless you as you meet with Him, in awe, wonder, worship and praise. 🙂 love you!

  13. I’m in a puddle of tears, my deb…and it is all your fault.. 🙂
    Your poem got me thinking of my faults and sinful nature, my stupid little pride and ego issues… and then I think of the perfection of our Lord, where even the ground is holy, and how loving and forgiving He is. I am thanking Him for your amazing prose and how it touches my heart. Love you! Bee

  14. I love how loving and forgiving He is , how merciful and gracious. Even when I forget about the holiness part and run to Him in a huff of pride. So sorry for the tears . . .forgive me? I’d hand you a tissue if I could. But you know what . . .He loves those kind of tears and He collects them . .. much better than my Kleenex. 🙂
    God bless you and your beautiful heart , Bee!
    love you!

  15. Now I feel very special…God collects my tears?! Oh, that is fabulous!! I will think of that whenever I cry…and remember it was my deb who said it to me.
    And when I read your poetry, please know my tears are happy love for God tears…the best kind in the world 🙂
    Love you!


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

