Setting Out After Him

“When you see the ark of the covenant of the Lord your God, and the priests, the Levites, bearing it; then you shall set out from your place and go after it.” Joshua 3:3
“For there shall be a space between you and it, about two thousand cubits by measure. Do not come near it, that you may know the way by which you must go, for you have not passed this way before.” Joshua 3:4

Boone is a new horse at Mended Hearts, where my daughter goes for Equine Assisted Therapy. He came out of a tough situation so what he’s learning to do now is new to him. When we lead him around the arena, he turns his head to look at us and we end up in the fence. We manage to get where we are going . . .it just takes a little longer with Boone!

Lord, when You are ready to take me on to something new, I desire for You to be clearly in the lead so I can rightly follow. And here’s a simple poem . . .

Going After You

Where You are, Lord
I must also be
and if You move
I must follow Thee
though the terrain be rough
and new territory
I’ll keep You in sight
letting My Lord lead me.

10 Comments

  1. This is so beautiful…sometimes words fail me.

    Thank you for sharing this.

    Love,
    Theresa

  2. Thank you much, Deb

    “though the terrain be rough
    and new territory
    I’ll keep You in sight
    letting My Lord lead me”

    I’m glad He’s patient to take the extra time with me … I don’t always want to go where He’s leading but I am learning to trust Him. (Slowly but surely. Painful, but necessary for my growth in Him)

    Blessings,
    ann

  3. Deb, I can just picture Boone steering you and Aubrey into the fence trying to look at you instead of ahead of him. May we always look ahead to the Lord leading us and not to the side and end up in the fence.

    This part of your poem really spoke tome:

    and if You move
    I must follow Thee

    It reminds me of my church congregation. He moved and we had to follow. The blessings have been immeasurable! Peace, Linda

  4. So thankful for you being here and for His leading in your life! God bless you and send you lots of love today!
    love you!

  5. God bless you, Ann full of Jesus grace, for trusting Him and going where He is leading! I think sometimes I’m like Boone, not even realizing He’s trying to lead me somewhere, so make it more difficult and take longer than it needs to be! πŸ™‚
    Love you and am thankful for you!

  6. I loved how you saw that exact thing happen . . .His moving and you following! πŸ™‚ That blesses me! The first time Julie let us lead Boone, I’m sure she was getting a good laugh at us. haha! Things were really bad for him before, but now there is so much hope and good in his horsey life . .. it’s a lesson all in itself. πŸ™‚ And for some reason, Aubrey loves him and wants to just ride him for awhile.

  7. That “rough terrain” can be very hard to traverse, but I love how you said He leads us. We can surely know that our loving God will never take us anywhere unless He has walked it first.
    Really great post, my darling deb!!
    God bless you and I hope your daughter is doing well. I will pray for her…
    With Love!!
    Bee

  8. Boone reminds me of a lot of Christians, and sometimes me.

  9. I love what you said Bee, about Him walking it first! πŸ™‚ You are such a blessing and a treasure, full of Him.
    And thank you for your prayers! Some people go there and need counseling and therapy for any number of things . . .lots of relationship issues, abuse, etc. But us . . .well, we are the odd couple! ha! We just needed a safe place for Aubrey to go. And Mended Hearts is just that. πŸ™‚ It is Christ centered, so we get to talk about what He has done for us and pray for each other. Very sweet and special, and I am ministered to and helped just by being around the horses. πŸ™‚
    God bless you, my Bee, and keep you in His perfect love and peace.
    love you!!! Praying too!

  10. Smiling at that Larry, because I saw me in Boone too! πŸ™‚
    God bless you as He leads you today!


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

