Hiding The Spies

“And as soon as we heard these things our hearts melted; neither did there remain any more courage in anyone because of you, for the Lord your God, He is God in heaven above and on earth beneath.” Joshua 2:11

Rahab made important decisions that day. She hid the men of Israel, believing in the mightiness of their God. And she asked for the lives of her family to be saved.

Lord, as we believe You and hide Your word in our hearts, we are driven to ask that the lives of our families be saved. And here’s a simple poem . . .

May They Be Saved

Hide them, Lord, and protect them
from the evil one who prowls

draw them out and to You
from their usual crowd

soften their hearts and open their eyes
to You crucified out of love for them

help them confess and believe
You are the Son of God and man.

8 Comments

  1. Rahab’s decision was considered a mighty deed by God and allowed her to be mentioned with the other pillars of faith in Hebrews 11. Maybe our praying and being a witness to our families is considered much the same by God for us today.

  2. Thank you, Deb”Rahab made important decisions that day. She hid the men of Israel, believing in the mightiness of their God. And she asked for the lives of her family to be saved.

    Lord, as we believe You and hide Your word in our hearts, we are driven to ask that the lives of our families be saved. . . .”

    Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!

    God, I praise and worship you this morning for the Awesome Wonder that You are!! I am thankful that Your timing is perfect and that You are at the end of my rope. I can let go knowing that You will hold me and that You will take care of the things that affect me. Thank you for my family and what we are in You. I lay ‘us’ in Your hands .. let Your will be done! Amen

    Deb, I bless God for you. Thank you, over and over again. Beautiful piece that speaks my heart’s cry.

    Thankful,
    ann

  3. Thank you, Larry, for the sensitivity of your comment. I often “feel” ineffectual with my witness within my family. . .but my feelings are affected by so much, not like Him and His truth and love.
    God bless you, your family, your witness and your prayers!

  4. Ann full of Jesus grace . . .your excitement and thankfulness infects me! ๐Ÿ™‚ I love that “He is at the end of our ropes!” You have blessed me and set the tone for me today!
    God bless you and your heart’s cry that goes out to Him today!

  5. Deb, I love your poem! It is going to be my prayer for my own loved ones who don’t yet know Him. I am thankful for the lesson we can learn from Rahab and for how you have connected what she did to the Gospel. Peace, Linda

  6. God bless you, Linda, as you think of others and their need of a Savior! I was touched by Rahab doing that, thinking of her family. The bible says she is a harlot . . .maybe her family wasn’t real pleased with that? But, she still seeks to save them. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. I like this prayer, Deb, especially the line, “draw them out … from their usual crowd.” Sometimes we seek comfort/safety in the crowd; what we (I) really need is to be in front of that crowd, leading the way to Him!

  8. Wonderful thought/prayer/idea Eric! It is one thing to be in the crowd but quite another to be in front of it! God bless you and all the ways you touch others for Him.


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

