You Follow Me

“Peter, seeing him, said to Jesus, ‘but Lord, what about this man?'”
“Jesus said to him, ‘If I will that he remain til I come, what is that to you? You follow me’.” John 21:21-22

I have echoed Peter’s question many a time.

Thank You, Lord, for Your answer that moves me in the right direction when I get stuck focusing on someone else and what they are doing. And here’s a simple poem . . .

How To Walk

Show us, Lord, how to walk
and closely follow You
while we must be beside
those that hurt us too.

We know that You will make a way
for us to be true
to the One Whom we adore
and whoever You send us to.

On Monday I’ll be starting through the Book of Joshua . . .Old Testament time again! Thank you so much for helping me do this devotion/poem thing!

19 Comments

  1. That is one of my favorite passages in the Bible. This was a beautiful poem too. 🙂

    Love,
    Theresa

  2. This is a beautiful poem. I have always liked that passage of scripture. It challenges me. Thank you for sharing this 🙂

    Love,
    Theresa

  3. I love that response: ‘What difference does that make to you? You follow me.’

    That is our assignment in a nutshell – and it takes a fair amount of discepline to do.

  4. Like Peter, I struggle with the same problem and often say, “But what about me?” If only I were really dead to myself, then this would be no longer be a problem for me.

  5. It always seems a little bit sassy when John refers to himself as “the disciple whom Jesus loved.” Just sayin’… : )

    “…while we must be beside those that hurt us.” It hurts, but it does get somewhat more tolerable, don’t you think? Not by my power and wisdom, but by His.

    Had a rotten earth day yesterday, but when I remember to pray my spiritual day is still a blessing. Hugs and prayers for you today…

  6. “…what is that to you?”—what a question! Jesus sure knew/knows how to drive a point straight home to the heart — which reminds me of “…in all this comparing and grading and competing, they quite miss the point” (2 Cor. 10:12, MSG).

    Larry: It’s a die daily, often hourly deal/challenge/struggle for me — not once and for all—yet.

  7. I hope my comment didn’t sound like I was dismissing how awful it is to struggle with people who hurt us.

    So here is my secret prayer that I hardly ever talk about because even Christian ladies find it dangerous and alarming. However, it has blessed me so much, and God has taught me through it…

    “God, don’t let this time of adversity pass until I’ve learned everything you have for me in this season. Don’t lift the struggles and the pain, but instead, teach me and show me how to walk closer to you now. Let this time not be wasted, but show me how to be a blessing to others who are suffering also. (see 2Cor. 1:3)

    I heard it on an old Charles Stanley tape, and it has led to one spiritual turning point after another… Just wanted to pass it on to you. : )

  8. Deb, What a wonderful journey through John we have had. I’m a little sad that this is it over, but excited about heading off to Joshua.

    I love that you have pointed out how we much each follow Jesus individually and not focus on what He is doing with or for others. He has a plan for each of us, and we must follow Him and stick to the plan. This reminds me of the parable of the workers where some start in the morning and others throughout the day, then at the end of the day they all get the same pay. But the ones who started early complain. When we compare ourselves to others we will be unhappy and discontent, but when we focus on Jesus we will know joy. Peace, Linda

  9. “and whoever You send us to…”
    I am so thankful our wonderful loving Lord has sent me to you, My Deb.
    You give me an uplifting message, which always brings me closer to God.
    …and brings tears to my eyes.
    You are the best!
    Love, Bee
    (P.S. I have a son named Joshua, so the Book of Joshua is special to me.
    I also have a son named Jason (his book is Isaiah) and Jeremy (his book is Jeremiah). My ex-husband wanted Hebrew names, but I insisted on American names since they were born here and not in Israel. We compromised by giving them Hebrew middle names!)

  10. This post is perfect for me Deb. I realized that when I’m so overly concerned with those who hurt me I might eventually lose my focus on Him — that makes us all lost and worst I might be the one who’s left lost. Thank you for the enlightenment and bringing in God’s order 🙂

  11. I love that response too. Need it! Can’t spend all my time looking at everyone else and lose sight of Him.
    God bless you, Mike, as you follow Him today!

  12. Oh Larry . . .this brings up another matter that goes kind of unsaid within Peter’s question. . .the what about me? I have to do what? But, they don’t? ha! You can tell that I’ve been there and still am some days!
    God bless you, Larry, as you stay real with Him and us and help us stay real too.

  13. Oh My Goodness, Linda! Thank you! First . . .you had me giggling over John’s “the disciple whom Jesus loved” part. Glad I’m not the only one. ha!
    Then . . .yes, it does get more tolerable. He does that somehow . 🙂 I didn’t get the impression you were dismissing the hurt and I LOVED the prayer. That is just perfect. You have certainly been a blessing and a help here today, for me and for others!
    God bless you and your day, following Him! love you!

  14. Thank you so much, Sir Geoff, for pointing that out. Jesus does know how to answer questions! And the 2 Corin. verse is so right here . . .more thanks!
    God bless you as you keep the main point the main point today . . .Jesus!

  15. Thank you so much Linda, for showing us about how comparing will only leave us unhappy and discontent. If I’m not looking at some in love and prayer, then chances are I’m comparing in some way.
    God bless you as you stick to the plan He has for wonderful you!
    p.s. I am always a little sad to leave a book behind too . . .and He has used John a great deal in my little life here! Thank you for encouraging me that I can do this . . .even through the books I think I can’t! 🙂

  16. Oh BEE . . .so glad to see you here again. We don’t know how much it takes for you to do even this. I appreciate you and how you show us Him in the good days and the bad. You know about being beside someone who hurts you. Thankful that He made a way for you and brought you to me! I’m blessed!
    God bless you, Bee, and be your everything today as you stay close to Him.

  17. My Ray of Sonshine . . .it’s hard not to focus on the one who’s hurting you. But if He tells us to follow Him, I’m believing that He will make a way for us to do just that!
    God bless you and all the ways you are found in Him!
    love you!

  18. Thank you, Deb

    “Thank You, Lord, for Your answer that moves me in the right direction when I get stuck focusing on someone else and what they are doing. ”

    Praying alongside you, Deb. Thank you.

    Blessings,
    ann

  19. Thank you for praying alongside me! The company is sweet and the focus is Divine. God bless you, Ann full of Jesus grace, as you follow your Jesus . . .no matter what.


Comments are closed.

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/‘Religion’s’ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soul’s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

