Remember That I Told You

“But these things I have told you, that when the time comes you may remember that I told you of them. And these things I did not say to you at the beginning, because I was with you.” John 16:4

We recently did a little house sitting. Although I go there every week to clean, there were some other things she needed to tell me before she went away.

Thank You Lord, for telling us what we need to know for today and for each of our tomorrows. And here’s a simple poem . . .

When The Time Comes

While You were with them
they hung on Your every word

and when You had to go
You’d remind them what they heard

just as Your Holy Spirit
testifies of the truth

that nothing lies ahead for us
that doesn’t go through You.

12 Comments

  1. Thank you, Deb

    I realize that lately I have to write things down or I tend to forget. Sometimes it’s in the middle of doing one thing that I’m reminded I should be doing something else and off I go! I’m thankful that not only has He told us, but He’s left us a ‘manual’ and a Comforter to help us remember what He said.

    “..nothing lies ahead for us
    that doesn’t go through You.”
    I like this extract very, very much. It assures me that He can take me through whatever He approves … (I don’t feel that strong but I am comforted in knowing that He won’t give me more than I can handle)

    Blessings to you and yours. Praying we will always remember how beautiful and precious we are in His sight. May we also remember that He’s right there with us even on the down days and that we will never be left alone.

    Thank you for this post. I’m facing a week with many meetings and appointments. I will remember to take notes 🙂

    Blessings,
    ann

  2. I loved this poem and the message in your post is an important one to remember.

    Thank you for sharing this.

    Love,
    Theresa

  3. Deb, I love this chapter in John – actually I love 15 – 18 where Jesus is telling the disciples (and us) so many important things. In the same way, He tells us what we need to know if only we will listen and read His words. Your poem wonderfully captures so much, as always. I love this stanza:

    just as Your Holy Spirit
    testifies of the truth

    I am so thankful that the Father sent the Holy Spirit to dwell in us and to remind us of what Jesus taught, and to help us understand and see the truth of God’s love. Peace, Linda

  4. God bless you, Ann full of Jesus grace, and all you face this week. Praying that all you need to know He brings to you when you need to know it most! And notes are good too. 😉
    love you!

  5. God bless you, our woman of the Word! 🙂 I am comforted in knowing that I know things that I don’t know I know. ! ha! He is faithful and true to remind me. . . that’s our Jesus, our God, our Love!
    love you too and pray you have a good day!

  6. I’m so thankful too, Linda!!! When I come to a situation and I am wondering what to do . . .there He is!
    God bless you and all the ways His love is shown through you!

  7. “and when You had to go
    You’d remind them what they heard”

    I am so glad that He reminds us of the things He has already told us! I praise God that He has given us the Holy Spirit to bring these things to our rememberance and I am not forced to rely on my own imperfect memory 🙂

    Thanks for letting Him use you, Deb, to remind us today of all the things He reminds us!

  8. I’m so glad too, Loren, that He reminds us! I feel so forgetful before Him, but then to know that He knew I’d be like that. And so the Holy Spirit, who doesn’t let me forget what I need to know, when I need to know it!
    So thankful for you too, Loren. God bless you and the teaching that He brings us through you!

  9. Lex preached on this text this week and spoke of Agape love, vs. Eros and Philius…. that Agape is worldwide love, no boundaries. And yes, God loved us and still loves us that much! Thanks, Debbie. Love, Amy

  10. Wow . . .I love His timing, how Lex taught on that too. And the Agape love. 🙂 Amy, it may sound silly, but your comment really ministered to me. I realize way too much that I can easily tell others how much God loves them . . .but forget that He loves me that much too. Thank you! love and prayers!

  11. Frankly I am disapointed the disciples didn’t remember and write down far more of the things that our Lord did and said. Luke said the whole world could not contain all the books that would have to be written. We have so little really.
    Just as well His Spirit still speaks to our hearts sometimes. Even then we forget much of what is given
    “Mary hid these things in her heart”
    You sure bring up some interesting slants Deb…
    Love from Susan again.

  12. I read that in John as well, about there not being enough space in the whole world to hold the books of all He said and did. But . . .we’ll get all eternity to catch up on it all! 🙂
    God bless you and your hunger for more of Him!
    love you and appreciate you!


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/‘Religion’s’ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soul’s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

