This Hour

“Now My soul is troubled, and what shall I say? ‘Father, save Me from this hour’? But for this purpose I came to this hour.” John 12:27
“Father, glorify Your name.” John 12:28

Not all of our lives are peaches and cream. We each have troubled areas.

Lord, I desire to change my prayer from ‘save me from this’ to ‘glorify Your name’. And here’s a simple poem . . .

Outshine

During darkest hours
hearts sway
but His glory outshines
being saved
and how that works
may not be
the same for you
as it is for me.

16 Comments

  1. Glorious discernment,
    radiant nourishment —
    far better than Redken’s
    Anti-Frizz Polishing Milk.

  2. This is really beautiful Deb — you shine again this hour. The words ‘This hour’ now has a deeper meaning for me and yes, life isn’t all peaches and cream — sometimes it’s screams and preaches! Not bad at all when one sees pain as an opportunity to glorify the Lord knowing that something good will come out of it 🙂

  3. You are so wise and wonderful, my ray of Son shine. Now to embrace that part of seeing pain as an opportunity to glorify Him! 🙂
    God bless you and give you hugs from me!

  4. Deb, I love this prayer:

    Lord, I desire to change my prayer from ‘save me from this’ to ‘glorify Your name’.

    May that be our prayer every day in every trial, just as it was for our Lord Jesus. Peace, Linda

  5. Sir Geoff . . .I’m smiling! 🙂 But still may look for the anti-frizz polishing milk. . .
    God bless you and nourish you today!

  6. This is so true. Another great post! 🙂

    It made me think of this:

    “33O the depth of the riches both of the wisdom and knowledge of God! how unsearchable are his judgments, and his ways past finding out!

    34For who hath known the mind of the Lord? or who hath been his counsellor?

    35Or who hath first given to him, and it shall be recompensed unto him again?

    36For of him, and through him, and to him, are all things: to whom be glory for ever. Amen.” Romans 11:33-36

    Thank you for sharing this, Deb.

    Love,
    Theresa

  7. I forget soooo much, Linda. He had showed me this before when I was going through a hard time. Now here He is, showing me it again. 🙂 I’m so glad that we can trust Him and know that He is working out something wonderful that WILL glorify Him. 🙂 That’s what I want more than instant relief.
    God bless you and all the ways He is glorified in you today!

  8. Oh my wonderful woman of the Word . . .I love that Romans 11 part!!! And verse 36 sings to me. 🙂 Thank you so much for adding it here.
    God bless you as He loves and comforts you today!
    love you!

  9. Thank you, Deb

    Your post reminds me of what Linda shared yesterday …

    “Lord, I desire to change my prayer from ‘save me from this’ to ‘glorify Your name’”

    I must confess … I don’t always feel like praying ‘glorify Your name’ but I’m learning to pray like that. Thank you, Deb. This means much to me. May your heart always be fertile ground for His words.

    Father, you know my heart and you know where I’d rather be but “nevertheless, not my will but Thine be done’.

    Amen.

  10. Dear Ann full of Jesus grace . . .I think it is just our first instinct to want to be saved! And He does save us and has saved us! Maybe there comes a time when when we can see a little further into what’s happening . . .enough to want Him to be glorified, no matter what. I want Him to grow to that being my only response!
    God bless you and your heart that seeks His!

  11. Deb, this poem speaks to diversity under the umbrella of Jesus’ love and God’s mercy. Thank you for your compassion. Love, Amy
    http://sharplittlepencil.wordpress.com/2011/06/09/sorry-plus-two-new-ones/

  12. “During darkest hours
    hearts sway…”

    Oh, Miss Deb, you have an awesome way about your poetry, always giving me visions in my head.
    My faith is so strong I cannot ever imagine my heart swaying away from the Lord, however I know too many people who cannot handle a little bit of stress and I wonder what would happen in their “darkest hours.”
    I want to save their hearts and souls, but I know that is the Lord’s work. I will keep “Bee-ing Me” and hopefully I can be a light that shines for them as they walk in darkness.
    Love you so much…
    Bee

  13. You have been through so much Bee, and your faith is strong! I just know none of that is going to go to waste. Your pain and darkest hours are too precious to Him for that! You are a Bee-acon, helping us find our way out of the dark into His marvelous light!
    God bless you and all those He brings your way!
    love you bunches!

  14. God bless you, Amy, and all you see in my simple stuff. 🙂 Thank you for being who God created you to be!

  15. beautiful poem. very comforting to the weary souls, including me. thanks for sharing.

  16. God bless you, Jennifaye, and shower you with lots of comfort, love and peace! Thank you for stopping by!


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

