Chosing Judases

“Then Mary took a pound of very costly oil of spikenard, annointed the feet of Jesus and wiped His feet with her hair. And the house was filled with the fragrance of the oil.” John 12:3
“Then one of His disciples, Judas Iscariot, Simon’s son, who would betray Him, said,” John 12:4
“‘Why was this fragrant oil not sold for three hundred denarii and given to the poor?'” John 12:5
“This he said, not that he cared for the poor, but because he was a thief, and had the money box; and he used to take what was put in it.” John 12:6

Jesus knew all of this about Judas, and more, when He chose him to be among the twelve.

Thank You, Jesus, for choosing me and drawing me close to You even though You knew all I had done, was currently doing and would yet do. And here’s a simple poem . . .

What He Knew

How can You know
everything about me

even the hidden flaws
and motives I don’t see

yet love me so strong
and so completely

that none of it matters
but You transforming me.

12 Comments

  1. I love this poem! What a wonderful thing to think about. 🙂

    Love,
    Theresa

  2. What a wonderful person you are! 🙂 Now I can call you wonderful woman of the Word!
    And, what a wonderful Savior He is, to know all of that, but love us anyway. It makes me feel so safe to be with Him and so loved!
    God bless you and your day in Jesus!
    love you!

  3. Deb, This poem touched me so! It reminded me of what I wrote in my journal once when I was clinically depressed. I wrote that if anyone really knew me they would never like me. I was sure of it. Then one day I realized that God knew everything about me, even things I kept hidden from myself, and yet He loved me enough to die on a cross for me. That realization is what began the healing process in me. Your poem encompassed this realization of God’s amazing love so perfectly.

    You know, He knew everything about Mary, too, and her past was quite sordid. But He loved her and honored her desire to honor Him. Peace, Linda

  4. Linda, I was so sure of the same thing, that no one would really love me or even like me once they knew me. Another lie of the enemy. When I had just come to Him, and was praying asking forgiveness for everything under the sun, I heard Him call my name and tell me that He loved me. That was just what I needed to hear!
    Thank you also for adding that about Mary . . .so true!!!
    God bless you and all the ways you glorify Him!

  5. “…even the hidden flaws…”

    OH boy, this is a good one! I tend to focus on my outward flaws, which are evident when I look in the mirror. I know…I know! Pride is one of my failings. 😦

    But the fact that Jesus sees “the hidden flaws” and still loves me, is beyond my comprehension. I could not survive a day without His love, forgiveness and acceptance.

    I love how the Lord has gifted you with such an incredible ministry, Miss Deb…you are a wonder and a gift to me.
    Much love to you,
    Bee

  6. Debbie, this kind of broke my heart a little bit, before I even got to your poem – and then that totally did me in. Oh me of little faith – how could you choose me, how could you use me? I don’t think I’ll ever be able to read you without being touched – you find stuff – stuff that matters. I heart reading you! God bless you Debbie.

  7. So blessed that He knows and still loves! As time goes on and that love doesn’t fade or leave . . .it makes me feel more confident about taking all the ucky stuff to Him. 🙂
    I just don’t think there could Bee anything wrong with you in my eyes! teehee! Or HIS!
    love you and am praying for you good days with less pain!

  8. God bless you, Craig! I’ve been away but will get over to the deep end of the pool soon! 🙂 And Jesus, He loves your heart and your hearting Him!

  9. That’s a different take on those scriptures. I like it.

  10. I’m intimidated to do this at times! So much good has been written so well about all of the bible. I think, “who am I?” So, sometimes He gives me something different to share . . . .because I’m kind of different. ha!
    God bless you as He keeps the scriptures alive to you!

  11. This made me smile Deb. I remember those times when I hesitated to act, to forgive, to honor, to love… then I heard Him say, “Come on I know you. I know you want to.” 🙂

  12. I love what you heard God saying!!! Here, my daughter and I have begun a little saying . . .”you can do it, nothing to it.” haha! Maybe it was from Him? 🙂
    God bless you and all the ways you honor Him!


Comments are closed.

SAND DOLLAR SEASON

PENNY POEMS and OTHER WORDS...

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Broken Believers

For Rascals, Failures, Clumsy Disciples, the Addicted, and the Physically and Mentally Ill Believer

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

