Dropping Rocks

“So when they continued asking Him, He raised Himself up and said to them, ‘He who is without sin among you, let him throw a stone at her first’.” John 8:7
“And again He stooped down and wrote on the ground.” John 8:8
“Then those who heard it, being convicted by their conscience went out one by one beginning with the oldest even to the last.” John 8:9

I am so encouraged that there was not one there who thought they were without sin . . .who stayed to throw a stone.

Jesus, thank You that we can’t deny our sin in Your presence. And here’s a simple poem . . .

Truth Thrown

Rock drops
mouth opens
can’t believe
what I see

my own sin
where I’d seen others
plainly staring
back at me.

Dear readers . . .I goofed. Somehow I forgot to do a devotion from John chapter 7, as this is from chapter 8. Will work on that with Him for tomorrow! πŸ™‚

12 Comments

  1. This was a great goof. πŸ˜‰

  2. You got to be the first to see it too! πŸ™‚ God bless you and keep you, Nor. Thank you for even encouraging me when I goof!

  3. Thank you, Deb

    Great poem! His timing is perfection! (what goof? πŸ˜‰ )

    “my own sin
    where I’d seen others
    plainly staring
    back at me.”

    Interesting… Makes me think of something I heard some time ago about not being able to hide from one’s sin… Thanks for the reminder to empty my pockets.

    Praying I will be careful to run to Him to help me fix perceived injustices rather than jumping feet-first on my own.

    Blessings,
    ann

  4. Deb, This is another awesome poem! I love this: “Jesus, thank You that we can’t deny our sin in Your presence.” I’d never thought about being thankful for everyone walking away, but that is definitely something to be thankful for. Peace, Linda

  5. God bless you, Ann full of grace . . .with no rocks in her pockets. I like that thought too, that I can’t hide from my sin. I want to know and not be deceived about what is truly going on in me.
    Praying with you!!!

  6. You know how we can be so self-righteous . . .and these people seemed that way. Something about it just grabbed me and blessed me, that even they knew they weren’t all that when they were with Him. He undoes us. I need undone like that. πŸ™‚
    God bless you, Linda, and your thankful heart!

  7. This is one of my favorite scriptures, Deb! Maybe because I see the truth in my own sin, or maybe because of His Love, or maybe because He SAVED her so completely! There’s much on which to meditate here ….

    Anyway, I’ve been following and I praise God for your faithfulness, your testimony and your love! Carry on πŸ™‚

  8. So good to have you here, Eric. And I really loved all the ways this part of scripture made you think. He’s so good at that, isn’t He?
    God bless you and yours and your love of Him!

  9. Somehow I cannot imagine my Deb goofing up on anything!
    Now that I got that out of the way… πŸ™‚

    Something about your post has left tears streaming down my face…just knowing that Jesus sees inside my sinful self, and still loves me, is just overwhelming. In your reply to Linda you said “He undoes us.” There’s not much more to it than that, Miss Deb, brilliant as always.

    After reading your posts I close my eyes and try to envision myself at that time in Biblical history. What struck me was wondering who was the very first person to put down their stone and walk away. I wonder what his conscience said at the very moment he walked away.

    Just simple musings from a simple girl…whose heart is full of love and appreciation for her new-found friend.
    Love, Bee

  10. You have such a tender heart for Him, Bee. I know that I write these, but you make them come alive for me . . .thank you!
    And if you only knew all the goofs I do . . .ha! I rival Goofy. πŸ™‚
    God bless you and your sweet love of your Savior!
    love you!

  11. Interesting that you selected this one Debbie. Just the other day, a friend told me that a Max Lucado book that I was reading was too religious for her. I said, “really? it’s about Jesus.” Then I went on to explain that regardless of religion, he was acknowledged as a great being. The Jews believe he was a Rabbi. He is quoted in the Quran. There are Hindus who believe that during the time we don’t see him in our bible, he was in India. There is so much common ground here that it should undivide.

  12. Wondering what Max Lucado book you were reading? I haven’t read a lot of his, but did John 3:16 . . .and loved it. He wrote a chapter on this verse too, that was so good.
    Thank you, Tammy, and God bless you as you find the common ground.


Comments are closed.

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/β€˜Religion’s’ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soul’s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

