Does This Offend You?

“”Therefore many of His disciples, when they heard this said, ‘This is a hard saying; who can understand it’?” John 6:60
“When Jesus knew in Himself that His disciples murmured about this, He said to them, ‘Does this offend you’?” John 6:61

How can I be offended by the One who died for all my offenses?

Lord, when You speak a harder truth that I don’t understand, I desire to stay humbled before You until I do. And here’s a simple poem . . .

A Hard Saying

Eat My flesh
and drink My blood
and you shall abide
in Me.

Your fathers ate manna
and are dead –
eat this Bread
and live.

(from John 6:56, 58)

8 Comments

  1. Fresh insight this morning, Miss Deb!
    I can’t imagine what the disciples must have felt…and said…upon hearing Jesus’ words.

    Jesus did, and said, so many surprising things in their presence, that this must have really shocked them. “Does this offend you?” Indeed!

    When I take communion at church, I am always humbled by the Cross I kneel before, knowing at that moment I am in true communion with My Savior.

    Thank you for emphasizing what our Lord did for us. God bless you, my Deb!
    Love, Bee

  2. Deb, this is such a great post! Isn’t it just wonderful…what the Lord offers?!

    “Lord, when You speak a harder truth that I don’t understand, I desire to stay humbled before You until I do. And here’s a simple poem . . .”

    We know what the Lord says about sincere prayers that are according to His will, and this one surely is one. 😉

    Love,
    Theresa

  3. Hi Deb, isn’t true we like to accept the easy stuff, but rationalize and justify the harder words of Christ or dismiss them altogether? God is sovereign – it is He who is truth – it isn’t for us to pick and choose.

    Rachel

  4. Bee, there is still much that Jesus has said, and says to me personally, that I don’t understand fully! It’s part of why I just want to post His word when I get to the New Testament and leave mine out. ha!
    You being humbled at church . . .I think that is what He needs us to do in order for any of it to make sense. I love your sweet heart, Bee, that just goes to Him.
    God bless you and all the ways He is with you today!
    love you!

  5. You have me smiling and excited thinking about this, those prayers that He helps me pray, that I don’t even realize the full implications of. You bless me so much!
    God bless you, dear woman of the Word, as you abide in Him and He in you!

  6. I’ve done those things, Rachel… rationalizing and dismissing. So thankful that He keeps leading and teaching and showing me more. 🙂
    God bless you as you share the Truth of Jesus!

  7. John Chapter 6 is a tough chapter for me. It’s one I’ve studied and then walked away, shaking my head. I can certainly understand how His disciples had trouble with His statements. The Law forbids Jews from drinking blood and eating raw flesh. But yet, Peter said, “Lord, to whom shall we go? You have words of eternal life?”

    Maybe, we just need to say the same words that Peter did when His words are hard to understand, “Lord, to whom shall we go…but You?”

  8. Larry, thank you so much for a great comment and prayer to pray. 🙂 I’m trying to do a devotion from each chapter . . just one unless He gives me more. You’re right, this was a tough one.
    Praying that with Peter now . . .
    God bless you and all that He gives you to share.


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

