Immeasurable Spirit

“For He whom God has sent speaks the words of God, for God does not give the spirit by measure.” John 3:34

When I cook, I have to measure the ingredients. When I add gas, oil or coolant to the car, I have to measure too.

Lord, we thank You that You don’t give Your Spirit out in teaspoons or 1/4 cups, but let it flow without measure. And here’s a simple poem . . .

All Out

God pours Himself out
without limit or measure
filling us with
His Spirit today
so we can walk forth
sure of His power
for He doesn’t skimp
or fill us half way.

16 Comments

  1. Deb, I don’t think I’ve ever thought about this verse before, there is so much else in John 3 to focus on. See, I told you that you would show me something new in my favorite book! I love the poem. I love that we can be sure of His power. Peace, Linda

  2. “…so we can walk forth
    sure of His power…”

    Oh, I needed to hear that today, Miss Deb!

    I need to know He is surrounding me with power so I can do my daily chores…that may sound petty, but pain has a way of making even the smallest of chores difficult to accomplish.

    I would rather lie in bed and think lofty thoughts, but “cleanliness is next to Godliness” πŸ™‚
    (I wonder who thought that up? ha!)

    Hope you are having a wonderful day!
    Love, Bee

  3. I just loved this post! It makes me think of a song called “Broken and Spilled Out”. It is about the woman who broke the box of ointment and washed the Lord’s feet with her tears. There is also a verse about the Lord’s body and his blood being spilled. For some reason the pouring out of the Spirit is like that, too. The Lord is not stingy, but a cheerful giver and lavishly pours out His Spirit…”In Sweet Abandon”. πŸ™‚

    Thank you for sharing this post!

    Love,
    Theresa

  4. I thought I would share the link.

  5. Thank you, Deb!

    Immeasurable … I like that!

    “Lord, we thank You that You don’t give Your Spirit out in teaspoons or 1/4 cups, but let it flow without measure”
    Amen and amen!!
    Thankful that He doesn’t give me what I deserve but that He pours Himself out without measure!

    @ Theresa… Thanks for the song πŸ˜‰ I thought of CeCe Winans’ – Blessed, Broken and Given πŸ™‚

    Blessings,
    ann

  6. There is soooo much in John 3 and in every chapter and verse. Sometimes it takes quite awhile to listen for what I should chose when it all speaks volumes. Somehow when you comment and point out things, He uses it to drive it all home for me. So now today I am going forth, sure of His power. God bless you and thank you, Linda!

  7. Oh Bee, that doesn’t sound petty at all . . .just real! When you are hurting, everything is a mountain to climb. And pain is so exhausting too . . .praying for you today a full measure and then some to carry you through.
    (Ya . . .I’m not sure who thought that saying up. Not someone with a bad back, I’m guessing! ha!)
    Thank you and God bless you for making my day wonderful by just Bee-ing you! love you!

  8. I love how He works in you! The songs and scripture just pour out of you, because that is what is in you. You bless me sooooo much and stir my heart more and more for Him.
    God bless you as He fills you each day, so that you overflow to us all.
    love you!!!

  9. This had me crying, Theresa . . .but it was a good cry. πŸ™‚ Thank you so much! love you, woman of the word and songs!

  10. Ann full of Jesus grace . . .I see Him pour out Himself in you all the time, through your comments and posts. You too, have this beautiful in-filling, that responds with a song! God bless you to overflowing today!

  11. I have to share- been really busy, so sorry, but I met this new girl here who has had breast cancer, lost one of her breast, but has a champion spirit and filled with holy spirit! Gina is her name, and I am so enjoying her company these past few weeks. We both come from a pentecostal church background, and she was born in NYC, and most people I know came from the south.

    It is also nice that he allows us to freely serve him and how we can share our love πŸ™‚

  12. I’m so happy for you, Elizabeth and for Gina, that she has you too! God brings us what we need right when we need it most. πŸ™‚ God bless you and bring healing to your eye!

  13. Debbie, it isn’t just the love God pours out in full measure; sometimes, it’s pain. But they say if God brings you to it, He will get you through it, and it’s been proved true time and time again. Thank you for a lovely inspiration from John 3. Peace, Amy

  14. God bless you, Amy, and thank you for your wisdom and insight. The pain poured out is a harder one to grasp . . .but you are right. It reminds me of Him being in the fire with Shadrach, Meshach and Abed-hego. Him being with us makes the impossible possible. Peace to you too, Amy, and much love.

  15. Yes our Lord is SO generous… a life giving Spring that can never fail…a Song of Love for us that can never end!
    The Father rejoices over His children… sings and dances over us! Amazing.
    Bless you and your family Debbie.Pour it out on them… without cost. God will reward you.. He sees all the sacrifices you make.
    Thanks again for your generous love towards me.
    Susan

  16. Thank you so much for your sweet witness of Him and His spirit living in us. πŸ™‚ I love His generousness!God bless you and your ministry, Susan.


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

