The Right Thing To Do

“If brothers dwell together, and one of them dies and has no son, the widow of the dead man shall not be married to a stranger outside the family; her husband’s brother shall go into her, take her as his wife, and perform the duty of a husband’s brother to her.
And it shall be that the first born son which she bears will succeed to the name of his dead brother, that his name may not be blotted out of Israel.” Deuteronomy 25:5-6

What I noticed in this, and the other laws God set forth, is His desire for His people to do the right thing. And the right thing to do wasn’t usually the easiest thing.

Oh Lord, we desire to do what is right in Your sight above what is right in ours. And here’s a simple poem . . .

Doing Right In His Sight

It might be rather humbling
require a letting go
maybe a difficult forgiveness
but He wants you to know
He sees you in this moment
even though it’s hard
making the right choices
because He’s in your heart.

12 Comments

  1. I knew that they did that, but I never stopped and thought about how awkward it was. I put myself in their place and imagined what that would be like.

    Thank you for reminding me that having Him in my heart enables me to face knew and strange circumstances.

    Love,
    Theresa

  2. Hi Debbie,

    There is so much more in this than meets the eye…. Part of it is taking loving care of a widow, who has no other source for living…. We are not to abandon those who have faced great losses, but care for them with the same love that God cares for us…. That widow had had the hopes of raising children in her beloved’s name.

    If we would all be loving and caring the way we should be, there shouldn’t be a problem…. But, it could be scary if the living brother is a scoundrel…. That possibility has puzzled me and I should take time to research it some more…. Maybe you can manage that for us? πŸ™‚

    Love,
    Margaret

  3. Thank you, Deb

    “the right thing to do wasn’t usually the easiest thing.”
    Don’t I know it!
    Thanks for sharing this, Deb. Thanks for the reminder that “He sees (me) in this moment”. Some moments seem harder than others but there’s comfort in knowing that none of our moments take Him by surprise. He sees them all and He has provided a way for us to overcome.

    “Oh Lord, we desire to do what is right in Your sight above what is right in ours. ”
    I so pray…

    Blessings,
    ann

  4. Down below that passage, it talks about what happens if the brother refuses to raise up a name for his dead brother. It was shameful to refuse and he would bear a new name so everyone would know. You’re right though . . .awkward! ha!
    God bless you as you make choices for Him each day . . .and everyone sees it Jesus!
    love you!

  5. Margaret, I never thought of that! I know from the scripture following it, that the living brother could refuse. . .to his shame. Guess I am thinking there was more cohesiveness at that time, to do the right thing, to care for the widow.
    Maybe we can ask Loren? πŸ™‚
    God bless you!

  6. God bless you Ann, in those moments. I know in my own moments, there’s always pressure from someone or somewhere to not do what’s right. Sometimes no one else would even know. But God does.
    love you and your prayers!

  7. Deb, this is so very good and timely. Because it is the right thing though not necessarily the easy thing. Thank you for this encouragement.

  8. Thank you, Angel, for doing the right thing so many times, when it’s hard. YOU are an encouragement to us all! God bless you and send you help and blessings today!

  9. I love what you see in that verse Deb. Made me realize that most of my hardest moments were doing what is right in His eyes…Hard but the peace within is all worth it πŸ™‚

  10. “…maybe a difficult forgiveness…”
    One of the hardest things I ever did was forgive my ex-husband. I wanted to carry anger and revenge in my heart, but our Lord dug deep and found the real me. I love what “bendedspoon” said…”Hard but the peace within is all worth it.” That says it all! Love you πŸ™‚

  11. I’m so thankful you were able to do the hard things, that He is watching over you and giving you peace! Love you!

  12. I can so understand that. When we are hurt so badly, to just forgive seems . . .crazy. I love that the Lord dug deep and got you through that difficult moment(s). You are a precious treasure to Him and to us! love you!


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

