God’s Economy

“When you reap your harvest in your field, and forget a sheaf in the field, you shall not go back to get it; it shall be for the stranger, the fatherless, and the widow, that the Lord your God may bless you in all the work of your hands.” Deuteronomy 24:19
“When you beat your olive trees, you shall not go over the boughs again; it shall be for the stranger, the fatherless, and the widow.” Deuteronomy 24:20

None of the above makes good business sense.

Oh Lord, please school me deep in the economy of You. And here’s a simple poem . . .

Leave It

Could I leave a sheaf
without going back

or forget a few olives
and be okay with that?

Oh may I trust You
to keep and cover me

whether I be blindly blessing
or gathering for free.

16 Comments

  1. This had a nice feel to it.

    Simple and effective.

  2. Very Nice!! Lovely sentiment.

    Take care Alan

  3. Deb, I love this poem, and the verse is one of my favorites from Deuteronomy. It reminds me of a conversation my son and I had the other day about bakeries (which he thinks he might want to own someday) and how they always have leftovers at the end of the day. We discussed how some bakeries just throw the leftovers out to have a tax write-off as a loss, but that it would be better to find a homeless shelter or food bank to give each day’s leftovers to. Peace, Linda

  4. Hi Debbie,

    God has shared so much with us in this world…. If He did not give to us daily and richly, we would have nothing…. We do have things we can share, that we probably don’t even consider…. As God considers our needs, He wants us to consider the needs of those around us.

    Love,
    Margaret

  5. Thank you, Deb πŸ™‚

    Oh may I trust You
    to keep and cover me

    whether I be blindly blessing
    or gathering for free.

    All I can add is ” God bless you!!!” πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    ann

  6. Thanks so much! I really enjoyed your poetry. God bless you as you write!

  7. Thanks Alan. God bless you and your sweet family . . .and the work of your hands! πŸ™‚

  8. I love that your son thinks about things like this. πŸ™‚ Isn’t that just the best?
    God bless you, dear Linda, and all the ways you encourage us!

  9. Well said, Margaret . . .thank you! πŸ™‚ I think it’s a way Christians could really show the heart of God, especially in this economy, where no sheaf is left behind.
    God bless you and your hallelujahs!

  10. Oh sweet Ann full of grace . . .He is blessing me! πŸ™‚ I made it through a kind of rough day, and only He can do things like that. Don’t you just love Him? I know you do!! ha!
    God bless you too and give you a hug for me!

  11. I agree with Ann! (My computer keeps going in and out of a coma so I am only sporatically getting to read here and I miss it! Can’t wait til the tech stuff is taken care of.)

  12. I’m so sorry about your computer, A! That is so frustrating. Can we ask God to heal computers too? πŸ™‚ God bless you, Angel, and all that you do today!

  13. Applying God’s business sense is profitable in so many ways. My parents who own a fishpond harvest more than what is in it just because they think about those who are outside of it πŸ™‚

  14. Thank you for sharing the wonderful gift of poetry that our Lord has blessed you with! Love, Bee

  15. I love what you shared, sweet Rea! God bless you and all the ways He blesses others through you! πŸ™‚

  16. You are so welcome, Bee! I remember when He asked me to start this . . .because they weren’t doing much good just sitting in a notebook. ha! And He’s been so faithful to help me each day with it ever since. God bless you and keep you today!


Comments are closed.

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/β€˜Religion’s’ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soul’s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

