Fifty Shekel Wives

“. . .then the man who lay with her shall give to the young woman’s father fifty shekels of silver, and she shall be his wife because he has humbled her; he shall not be permitted to divorce her all his days.” Deuteronomy 22:29

This doesn’t sound exactly like the fairy tale weddings we’ve come to expect.

Lord, thank You for the many lessons on humility that you teach us through marriage. And here’s simple poem . . .

Together For Him

I hear of someone getting married
and wish them the best

many years of joy
of love and tenderness

knowing God has something
even more profound in mind

providing yet another way
for us to be refined.

13 Comments

  1. Thank you, Deb

    Lessons in humility can really bite. I`m thankful that the lessons are not punishment but

    knowing God has something
    even more profound in mind

    providing yet another way
    for us to be refined.

    Thank you for sharing, Delightful Deb πŸ™‚

    God bless you,
    ann

  2. I really liked this poem. The Lord teaches us so much in all of our relationships. I know I have learned a lot in my marriage over the years.

    Love,
    Theresa

  3. Thankful with you too. πŸ™‚ He does so much in marriages and they are beautiful things . . .just sometimes humbling and refining too! But beautiful! ha!
    God bless you dear Ann full of grace and love!

  4. Deb, I think you wrote this one just for me. πŸ˜‰ Here’s to being refined and made new in Christ! Peace, Linda

  5. I think this is the part of being older and looking back maybe? ha! So thankful that He teaches us, wherever we are and uses whatever works. He is always teaching me in my marriage. I have to listen really close!!
    God bless you my friend and woman of the Word!

  6. Did I do that? ha! If this one works for you, we know it was Jesus, because I was pretty sure He meant it for me. πŸ™‚
    God bless you Linda . . .I love the way you make me smile and laugh!

  7. And perhaps that just illustrates why He brought us together here in blogland, because we do have not only Him in common but so much more, including that you make me smile, too! πŸ™‚ Peace, Linda

  8. I hear the statistics for unhappy marriages are high, the reason why divorce rates are so high. Not everyone understands its a partnership, somewhat like a business but more fun and full of love. I am lucky to have met someone that gives me the affection I crave, which God knows helps me through difficult times (of course I have him too!).

    I too wish for others to find this peace he has given Robert and I. My son seems to understand it takes him, her, and God to make things work like a well oiled machine!

    Peace Sister πŸ™‚

  9. I’m so happy for you, Elizabeth. πŸ™‚ Truly, truly. Believing God was watching over you and all that you went through, knowing there was something better up ahead. πŸ™‚
    God bless you and yours, sweet E!

  10. Maybe if my marriage had been arranged as in the Scripture verse, it would have worked out better. Ha!
    I can, however, admit that my marriage (and its’ failure) was the conduit for me being “refined” by God. At my lowest point, our good Lord got a hold of me and refined me from the inside out. Praise be His holy name!! And, who knows…maybe I’ll have another chance at marriage someday…

  11. haha! Bee, you are at it again. Got me laughing and smiling. Oh yes, I have learned things in my marriage that I know I couldn’t have any other way. I didn’t know Him when I got married, but came to Him when I was expecting our first child. Perfect timing, eh?
    And you are so right . . .you just never know! I would so love for God to hook you up with someone that He’s picked out for you, who would love you and cherish you. More smiles . . .:)
    God bless you and all His plans for you!

  12. Amen to that! I always find myself saying a prayer for the newly weds (even those I don’t personally know)for I know the challenges they will be going through and I pray that they will see too the much needed refinement — of one’s self, especially πŸ™‚

  13. It is a journey too! Really need Him to help me be the wife He wants me to be.
    God bless you and your marriage!


Comments are closed.

Faith Worked Out

Searching for the heart of the matter.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/β€˜Religion’s’ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soul’s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda L. Kruschke's Blog

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

