Not Because of Our Righteousness

“Therefore understand that the Lord your God is not giving you this good land to possess because of your righteousness, for you are a stiff-necked people.” Deuteronomy 9:6

Chapter 9 was a tough one. Moses went back over all the times the people had rebelled and provoked the Lord to wrath.

Thank You, Lord, that though I’m not good enough to deserve anything from You, You are good enough and give it. And here’s a simple poem . . .

He’s That Good

I’m sinful, rebellious
my righteousness just rags

satan rubs his hands together
thinks he’s got me in the bag

but then I come to Jesus
with my filthy life

and He carries me to the Father
washed in His sacrifice.

14 Comments

  1. I superlike the imagery in here Deb! And made me smile when I saw the devil with grrrr face when I stuck my tongue out and said, “I told you I’m safe here with my Lord!” ๐Ÿ™‚

    Can’t thank God enough for His great love for us — even when we don’t deserve it. He’s that good! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Thank you, Deb.

    Beautiful poem and a very beautiful (read transparent and honest) prayer.

    Loving the picture of Him washing me in His sacrifice. Makes me feel loved and worthwhile. I shudder to think what might have happened if God gave me only what I deserved …

    Praying alongside you.

    Redeemed,
    ann

  3. “You are good enough to give it.”

    Great line. And that just about wraps it all up! ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. W
    hat a great poem! God truly is good!

    Love,
    Theresa

  5. Deb, This made me think of all the times I’ve been stiff-necked, and I bet Satan was rubbing his hands together gloating that he’d won every time. I’m so glad God is good enough to give me grace and wash me in His sacrifice. I love the poem! Awesome, just like our God! Peace, Linda

  6. I love you sticking out your tongue . . .good imagery there too! ๐Ÿ™‚ He is sooo good. Love Him and love you, sweet Rea!

  7. I’m so glad that you feel loved and worthwhile because of Jesus. I know He wants that for you and for all of us. That, and so much more.
    God bless you and your prayers for more of Him.

  8. I like your big smile and how you wrap this up! God bless you Nor, and all He is in you!

  9. He is, dear Theresa! Need to keep my thoughts and eyes there, on Him and His goodness. God bless you as you think on His goodness today!

  10. God bless you, Linda, for your awesome comments and encouragement. I loved your post today. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thankful with you that He is good enough for us all.

  11. Those last four lines…Deb, you really have a way with describing things in terms of His love for us. He carries us…and we are washed in His sacrifice. Those lines are profoundly beautiful to me. I love the image that leaves in my mind and on my heart, especially. Thank you!!

  12. You are extra gracious, dear Angel. But I’m glad that He does things in the simple words that can bless you. Thank you for blessing us with your comments and your words that heal and teach and comfort.

  13. It seems that God never gives anybody anything because of their righteousness, but because of His grace.

    Thanks, Deb, for reminding us that everything He has given us is because He is good, not because we are ๐Ÿ™‚

    To God goes all glory,

    Loren

  14. Reminders are good! Humbling but good for me! ha!God bless you and all the good ways He is glorified in your life!


Comments are closed.

Jesus-Network.com (God'sBlog)

Bringing Hope to a world that sometimes seems hopeless!

Lillie-Put

The place where you can find out what Lillie thinks

Another Red Letter Day

The words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life. - Jesus

STELLA CAROUSEL

POETRY HEART/โ€˜Religionโ€™sโ€™ but cold stones ~ Relationship with Jesus lights soulโ€™s inferno.

Wings of the Dawn

even there Your hand will lead me ~ poems and reflections by Heidi Viars

Godsfruitful

Encouraging others in Christ

Another Fearless Year

Linda Kruschke's Blog about life, faith, and poetry

InSpirited

pearls~poetry~musings

Making disciples for Christ

We are disciples of Christ, making disciples for Him in every nation (Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV)

psykia

its about how i see this colourful world as!!!!

